THIS OBJECT WAS SOLD

Enameled Cast Iron Planter, Emaillerie Du Bourget, France, Circa 1875/1880

Sold
Enameled Cast Iron Planter, Emaillerie Du Bourget, France, Circa 1875/1880
Sold
Enameled Cast Iron Planter, Emaillerie Du Bourget, France, Circa 1875/1880-photo-2
Sold
Enameled Cast Iron Planter, Emaillerie Du Bourget, France, Circa 1875/1880-photo-3
Sold
Enameled Cast Iron Planter, Emaillerie Du Bourget, France, Circa 1875/1880-photo-4
Sold
Enameled Cast Iron Planter, Emaillerie Du Bourget, France, Circa 1875/1880-photo-1
Sold
Enameled Cast Iron Planter, Emaillerie Du Bourget, France, Circa 1875/1880-photo-2
More pictures
Rare and important enameled cast-iron planter decorated with stylized blue and coral foliage on a white background, inspired by the earthenware of the Manufacture Royale de Rouen.
Emaillerie du Bourget signature: E. PARIS & CIE 47 RUE DE PARADIS POISSONIERE PARIS.

Height: 19.3 inches
Overall diameter: 23.6 inches
Opening diameter: 13.8 inches

Story

The Cristallerie-Émaillerie Saint-Joseph was founded in Le Bourget (Seine) by Charles Émile Pâris, an Arts et Manufactures engineer and member of an industrial family renowned from the early 19th century for its dynamism and innovation in glassmaking and enameling.
His father, Jean-Alexandre Pâris, jeweler to the king at the Place du
Palais Royal, had founded a crystal and enamel factory in Bercy in 1827 or 1829.
In 1867, Charles-Émile Pâris left the rue de Bercy site in Paris to comply with a new law prohibiting the emission of industrial fumes into the capital; no doubt also to avoid the octroi duty levied at the gates of Paris at the time.
He set up his factory on a property in Le Bourget that had once been a hunting lodge for Louis XV. But the new factory was destroyed during the 1870 war, and Charles-Émile Pâris, ruined, had to sell the land, then rent it out to rebuild his business with the proceeds.
The company prospered, growing from 170 workers in 1867, to 200 in 1878, and up to 350. An orphanage for apprentices was created in 1868.

A sales outlet was set up on rue de Paradis in Paris’s 10th arrondissement in 1876.
Charles-Émile Pâris moved with his family to rue de Flandre in Le Bourget, where he became a prominent figure, serving as mayor from 1880 to 1888. After him, his son Charles ran the company. The factory closed in 1930 for lack of modernization, and the company was finally liquidated in 1935. In 1945, the property was sold to the commune of Le Bourget, which created a public garden (now Square Charles-de-Gaulle) with a dispensary and social services.
Extract from the Fond de la Cristallerie Émaillerie Saint-Joseph du Bourget – Société Pâris et Cie. Archives départementales de la Seine-Saint-Denis.

Explore similar pieces and discover your ideal find:

fountains, garden antiques

Medici Basin In Cast Iron, With Gadroon. Antique
Pediment Project In Painted White Terracotta
China Late Ming Dynasty, Pair Of Ridge Tiles Decorated With Fantastic Animals
3 19th Century Sandstone Troughs From Haute Saone
Florist Shelf
Garden Decoration, "heron"

Member of appraisal chamber(s): CNE

21 rue des Saints Pères
Paris 75006, France

09 50 75 60 25

06 08 41 29 80

Follow the dealer

CONTACT

SIGN UP TO OUR NEWSLETTER

facebook
instagram

Galerie Canavèse
Garden Decoration, "heron"
1327646-main-662e617099a77.jpg

09 50 75 60 25

06 08 41 29 80



*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com .
Please check your messages, including the spam folder.