Portrait Of A Lady In An Interior C.1692; Attributed To Jan Van Der Vaart (1647-1727) flag

Portrait Of A Lady In An Interior C.1692; Attributed To Jan Van Der Vaart (1647-1727)
Click to enlarge the 8 pictures.

Object description :

"Portrait Of A Lady In An Interior C.1692; Attributed To Jan Van Der Vaart (1647-1727)"
In this magnificent three quarter-length portrait the artist has set the figure before a rich crimson draped curtain and a colonnade visible immediately behind. The sitter is wearing a russet silk dress and an elaborate azure wrap with silver lining which swirls around and encapsulates her body. The treatment of the needle lace is exemplary and the artist has achieved a high degree of realism. The technique of which relates to portraits by Jan van der Vaart who was notable for his drapery painting and also in that he took over the studio of William Wissing after the latter’s death in 1687.

She strikes a dramatic pose with one hand lightly grasping the blue wrap whilst the other gently tussles her long hair; she has been depicted as both confident and alluring. At first sight it appears to be a straightforward portrait of a woman dressed in fashionable clothing, however, there are several messages conveyed. The direct gaze and the way in which she caresses her long hair is a gesture linked with Renaissance depictions of Venus (and virgins and brides) as she is engaged in her private toilette. In the seventeenth century (and still today) paintings by Titian and his followers of Italian ‘belle’ (beauties) were believed to be portraits of Venetian courtesans thinly disguised as images of Venus. The image borders on the erotic (at least by 17th century standards) portraying the sitter as available and vulnerable and its sexual provocation would have been instantly recognised by contemporary viewers. Samuel Pepys (1633-1703) recorded in his diary that he saw Barbara Villiers at Whitehall “in her haire”, that is hanging loose, “I glutted myself with looking on her”.

This painting offered different layers of meaning to viewers depending on their knowledge of the conventions of art and the reputation of the sitter. Above all, however, the image would have conjured a vision of femininity, intimacy, and beauty. It is a superb example of late 17th century portraiture and is presented in an exquisite good quality carved and gilded antique frame.

Jan van der Vaart (1647-1721) was a Dutch painter and art restorer and collector born in Haarlem, Netherlands. He moved to London in 1674 and painted portraits, landscapes, history painting, religious works, and still life’s. Apart from collaborating with the artist Johann Kerseboom he also worked with William Wissing, who was a pupil and former collaborator of the court portrait painter Sir Peter Lely, in the 1680’s before taking over Wissing’s own studio after that artist’s death in 1687. He retired from painting around 1713, allegedly from poor eyesight, to concentrate on restoration. His graceful style and his modelling and poses were very beautiful. He died in 1727 and was buried in St Pauls Church, London, on 30th March of that year. His nephew, Arnold, continued his restoration business.

Provenance: Private UK collection

Measurements: Height 131cm, Width 106cm framed (Height 51.5”, Width 41.75” framed
Price : 17150 €
Artist : Attribué à Jan Van Der Vaart (1647-1727)
Period:17th century
Style:Louis 14th, Regency
Condition : Très bon état

Material : Huile sur toile
Length: 7
Width : 106
Height : 131

Reference : 753036
Contact Dealer

"Titan Fine Art" see more objects from this dealer

"Portrait, Louis 14th, Regency"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter

Portrait d'Une Dame Dans Un Intérieur Vers 1692, Peinture à l'Huile Ancienne flag

Portrait d'Une Dame Dans Un Intérieur Vers 1692, Peinture à l'Huile Ancienne
Agrandir les 8 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Portrait d'Une Dame Dans Un Intérieur Vers 1692, Peinture à l'Huile Ancienne"
Dans ce magnifique portrait de trois quarts, l'artiste a placé la figure devant un riche rideau drapé cramoisi et une colonnade visible immédiatement derrière. La gardienne porte une robe en soie rousse et une enveloppe azur élaborée avec une doublure argentée qui tourbillonne et encapsule son corps. Le traitement de la dentelle à l'aiguille est exemplaire et l'artiste a atteint un haut degré de réalisme. Dont la technique se rapporte aux portraits de Jan van der Vaart qui se distinguait par sa peinture de draperie et aussi en ce qu’il a repris l’atelier de William Wissing après la mort de ce dernier en 1687.

Elle prend une pose dramatique avec une main agrippant légèrement l'écharpe bleue tandis que l'autre agite doucement ses longs cheveux; elle a été décrite comme à la fois confiante et séduisante. À première vue, il semble être un portrait simple d'une femme vêtue de vêtements à la mode, cependant, plusieurs messages sont véhiculés. Le regard direct et la façon dont elle caresse ses longs cheveux sont un geste lié aux représentations de la Renaissance de Vénus (et des vierges et mariées) alors qu'elle est engagée dans sa toilette privée. Au XVIIe siècle (et encore aujourd'hui), les peintures de Titien et de ses adeptes de la «belle» italienne (beautés) étaient considérées comme des portraits de courtisanes vénitiennes à peine déguisées en images de Vénus. L'image frise l'érotique (au moins selon les normes du 17ème siècle) dépeignant le modèle comme disponible et vulnérable et sa provocation sexuelle aurait été instantanément reconnue par les téléspectateurs contemporains. Samuel Pepys (1633-1703) a noté dans son journal qu'il a vu Barbara Villiers à Whitehall «dans ses cheveux», c'est-à-dire en train de se détacher, «je me suis gâté de la regarder».

Cette peinture offrait différentes couches de sens aux spectateurs en fonction de leur connaissance des conventions de l'art et de la réputation du modèle. Mais surtout, l'image aurait évoqué une vision de la féminité, de l'intimité et de la beauté. C'est un superbe exemple de portrait de la fin du 17ème siècle et est présenté dans un cadre ancien sculpté et doré de bonne qualité.

Jan van der Vaart (1647-1721) était un peintre et restaurateur d'art et collectionneur néerlandais né à Haarlem, aux Pays-Bas. Il s'installe à Londres en 1674 et peint des portraits, des paysages, des peintures d'histoire, des œuvres religieuses et des natures mortes. En plus de collaborer avec l'artiste Johann Kerseboom, il a également travaillé avec William Wissing, qui était un élève et ancien collaborateur du portraitiste de la cour Sir Peter Lely, dans les années 1680 avant de reprendre l'atelier de Wissing après la mort de cet artiste en 1687. peinture vers 1713, prétendument de mauvaise vue, pour se concentrer sur la restauration. Son style gracieux, son modelage et ses poses étaient très beaux. Il mourut en 1727 et fut inhumé à l'église St Paul, à Londres, le 30 mars de cette année. Son neveu, Arnold, a poursuivi son entreprise de restauration.

Provenance: Collection privée britannique

Mesures: Hauteur 131 cm, Largeur 106 cm encadrée (Hauteur 51,5 ", Largeur 41,75" encadrée)
Prix : 17150 €
Artiste : Attribué à Jan Van Der Vaart (1647-1727)
Epoque : 17ème siècle
Style : Louis XIV - Régence
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Huile sur toile
Longueur : 7
Largeur : 106
Hauteur : 131

Référence (ID) : 753036
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE

"Titan Fine Art" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Tableaux Portraits, Louis XIV - Régence"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter