Portrait Of Catherine, Countess Of Rockington (1658-1695) C.1677 Studio Of Sir Peter Lely flag

Portrait Of Catherine, Countess Of Rockington (1658-1695) C.1677 Studio Of Sir Peter Lely
Click to enlarge the 11 pictures.

Object description :

"Portrait Of Catherine, Countess Of Rockington (1658-1695) C.1677 Studio Of Sir Peter Lely"
Portrait of Catherine Watson, Countess of Rockington (1658-1695) c.1677
Studio of Sir Peter Lely (1618-1680)

This work formed part of a collection of family pictures and heirlooms of the Smyth Baronets at their magnificent one-thousand-year-old stately home Ashton Court, where they resided for over 400 years. The sitter in this magnificent portrait descended from one of the best and most ancient families in England. From the studio of the most technically proficient painter in England after the death of Van Dyck, and the dominant court painter to Charles II and James, Duke of York, Sir Peter Lely.

This elegant and beautiful painting is a classic example of English Baroque portraiture. Meticulously rendered, the sitter is three quarter length, holding a cluster of flowers. The painting abounds with ingenious flourishes and demonstrations of the painter's skill and superior pictorial technique. It was painted circa 1677 when Lely was at the height of his artistic powers and most likely on the occasion of the sitter’s marriage. Sir Peter Lely’s character and talent dominated the art world in the second half of the seventeenth century in England and everyone of significance sat to him.

This elegant portrait of Catherine Watson, Countess of Rockington (1657-1695) portrays her in the finest dress and seated in a rocky outcrop with romantic autumnal landscape beyond. It was a popular pose that Lely used throughout the 1670’s and one which would have been chosen from a selection by the sitter. In line with tradition at the time the portrait was likely painted on the occasion of her marriage in 1677. It was common for more than one portrait to be produced to adorn the walls of the sitter’s various estates or to give to friends and family as gifts. One other version of this portrait is known to exist.

Born Lady Catherine Sondes in 1658 to Sir George Sondes, 1st Earl of Feversham KB (1599-1677) and Mary Villiers (d.1688), daughter of Sir William Villiers, of Brooksby. The family of Sondes is found in Throwley, in Kent, as early as the fourteenth century. Catherine, who was the heiress of her father, married Lewis Watson, 3rd Baron Rockingham, later 1st Earl of Rockingham (1655-1724) on 17th July 1677. The Watson family had been settled at Rockingham, Northamptonshire, since the reign of Henry VIII. The family seat still remains - Rockingham Castle. Lewis was the grandson of the infamous Thomas Wentworth, 1st Earl of Strafford (1593-1641) - a major figure in the period leading up to the Civil War). Her father had died three months earlier and there followed an acrimonious court case over the Feversham inheritance, which led to a ruling by the House of Lords in July 1678 that his brother-in-law Louis de Duras, the 2nd Earl (widower of the elder daughter, Lady Mary Sondes d.v.p. in 1676), who had succeeded to the Feversham title by special remainder, should receive £3,000 p.a. for life out of the estates. The 2nd Earl therefore retained these Kentish estates.

Lewis Watson succeeded to the Rockingham barony in 1689 and upon the death of the 2nd Earl Feversham in 1709 he finally inherited the remainder of the Feversham estates. By this time, however, Rockingham was already a power in his own right in Kent, having been appointed lord lieutenant of the county in 1705. Even so, the acquisition of the Feversham lands made the Watsons the largest landholders in the county. In 1714, Lewis was created Earl of Rockingham and on his death in 1724, his titles passed to their grandson, Lewis (2nd Earl of Rockingham). Lewis and Catherine’s great-nephew, the second Marquess, was twice Prime Minister under George III.

Catherine died in March 1695 and is interred by her husband’s side in Rockingham Church with an elaborate monument to their memory - he as a Roman soldier, she as a Roman matron.

The couple had nine children but five survived:
  • Edward, Viscount Sondes (c.1687-1721/22)
  • Lady Margaret (1695–1751)
  • Hon. George (1689-1735/9)
  • Lady Mary (d. 1737)
  • Lady Arabella (d.1727)
  • A portrait of Catherine, represented in the character of Diana by Sir Peter Lely is in the Gallery at Rockingham Castle.
    Our portrait was in the Smyth family collection at their manor house Ashton Court. During the early period of their history the family name was spelt in a variety of ways - Smith, Smithe, Smyth, Smythe; later members of the family preferred 'Smyth'. It is not known how the portrait came into the Smyth collection at Ashton Court but the Smyths were connected by marriage with several other leading county families. The Smyth family wealth came not only from enterprise and the purchase of land, in this country and abroad; but also from careful marriage arrangements.

    An inscription on a collection label on the reverse states: 2 March 1885. No 55 Sir Upton Greville Smythe Bt (1836-1901). For four centuries the Smyth family of Ashton Court was a major force in the economic and social life of Bristol and north Somerset. From their fine house, set in its impressive, walled deer park overlooking Bristol, the family dominated the surrounding area. As landowners, members of Parliament, justices of the peace, distributors of charity and as major employers of labour, they were recognised leaders of local society, Ashton Court was a fitting symbol of their power and influence.

    The original manor house of Ashton Courtcan be traced to the sixth century; the current Great Hall is said to match the exact dimensions of the Saxon Hall. The manor may be even older than this however, for in one doorway is part of a Roman mosaic, presumably from a villa that stood on this very site. Long Ashton Estate and the manor are mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086. By the 13th century the manor had been acquired by Thomas de Lyon, who rebuilt the property in 1290. In 1392 the Lyons were granted a royal licence to enclose their lands and create a deer park, which still exists to this day.

    Ashton Court passed through successive owners and at the end of the 14th century it was considerably expanded when Thomas De Lions, a nobleman originally from France, obtained a permit to enclose a park for his manor. The house was owned by the Choke family for some time. In 1506 it was sold to Sir Giles Daubeney, a knight and a Chamberlain of Henry VII. Henry VIII gave the estate to Sir Thomas Arundel in 1541 and four years later in 1545 Sir Thomas sold it to John Smyth. The Smyth family owned the property for the next 400 years through marriages and manoeuvring, despite the direct bloodline running out three times. A useful caveat to the estate deeds was that the heir must take on the name Smyth if he didn’t already have the name.

    The family's rise to great wealth began in the sixteenth century and their power lasted until the end of the nineteenth century. During the twentieth century the twin problems of heavy death duties and lack of male heirs gradually brought the Smyth empire to an end. The last male head of the family to live at Ashton Court was Sir Greville Smyth, who died in 1901. By the time he was 27, the estate provided him £27,087 per year (over £1.5million today). He maintained all the style and lavish expenditure of the past, and his wife Dame Emily Smyth, who died in 1914, is still remembered locally as the gracious lady of the manor. Her daughter by a former marriage subsequently took the name Smyth and was known as the Hon. Esme; she lived at Ashton Court until her death in 1946, a benevolent person, much loved in the neighbourhood. When she died the content of the house was sold by her heir and grandson Greville Adrian to sell the contents in June 1947 (by John E. Pritchard & Co) and the house itself in 1959.

    As with many great houses, Ashton Court was no exception to visits by royalty over the centuries. In the early 17th century the Smyths entertained Queen Anne of Denmark on her visit to the city and in 1663 a gift by Sir Hugh (1632-1680) to King Charles II and his queen, who were partaking of the waters in nearby Bath, led to the king riding over to the estate to thank him in person. In the 1840s the Prince of Wales, future King Edward VII, would visit Ashton Court for the shooting.
    There are still rumours that treasure is buried upon the Ashton Court Estate. Apparently, at the beginning of the English Civil War, Thomas Smyth (1609-1642) requested his steward to bury the family silver on the estate. Both Thomas and the steward died before the location of this treasure could be disclosed and no silver has ever been found. The hunt for family wealth continued in the early 20th century when Esme Smyth (1863-1946) desecrated the family vault at Ashton Church, prising open her ancestors’ coffins in the hope of finding a valuable bejewelled gold ring.
    One of the most scandalous court cases that rocked Victorian England, and was said to have been the inspiration for Charles Dickens’ Jarndyce v Jarndyce court case in his novel Bleak House (1852-3), was that of Smyth vs Smyth (1853).

    When the estate passed to Greville Upton (later Smyth) Greville was a minor so the estate was put under stewardship. In 1852 two men arrived at Ashton Court, one a solicitor and the other a man who claimed he was the rightful heir, Sir Richard Smyth – an illegitimate son of Sir Hugh. This impertinent imposter greeted the steward, Arthur Way, with the words: “I wish you to discharge the household… and I request you will hand me the keys to the mansion. But you need not hurry sir, I will allow you two hours to take your departure.” The two men found themselves promptly manhandled out of the house by the servants, but ‘Sir Richard’ was not deterred. He set up home not far from Ashton Court at St Vincent’s Priory in Clifton and proceeded to approach tenants of the estate, instructing them to pay him the rates and not Greville. In August 1853 the case of Smyth vs Smyth came to Gloucester Assizes. The courtroom was packed and under cross-questioning, Sir Richard’s case crumbled as he was revealed to be none other than a horse thief called Thomas Provis. Even after his unmasking, Provis still insisted he was a Smyth, declaring that he had the family trait of a pigtail to prove it. This wig was unceremoniously plucked from his head as he was taken away.

    Today Ashton Court is a Grade I listed property of national importance, within a Grade II listed historic park and gardens. At the time of writing an interesting aerial view of Ashton Court can be viewed here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1TNpNnTz00

    Held in a good quality and condition period gilded frame.

    Peter Lely, the son of a Dutch military officer, was born in Germany at Soest in Westphalia in 1618. He studied in Haarlem before moving to London in 1641, and in 1647 he became a freeman of the Painter-Stainers’ Company. Initially, Lely painted landscapes, religious, and mythological scenes, however, he quickly recognised the strength of the English market for portraiture and this is where he turned his attention. He was employed by the Duke of Northumberland, who had the royal children in his care, and he was able to study the Northumberland Collection of works by Van Dyke and Dobson. By the end of the Commonwealth he had become the best-known portraitist in England. In 1661 he was appointed Principle Painter to the King and from then on he maintained a busy and successful practise painting the most elite and influential members of the court and of everyone of importance. His studio was prolific and employed many assistants, as was the common studio method. His success thus meant that he established the basic English portrait style for decades.

    Lely was a connoisseur and was known for his own fine art collection. By the end of his life he had assembled one the finest non-princely collections in Europe including more than 25 of Van Dyke’s major English works of Old Masters including Veronese, Titian, Claude Lorrain and Rubens, and a fabulous collection of drawings, was broken up and sold after his death, raising the immense sum of £26,000. Some items in it which had been acquired by Lely from the Commonwealth dispersal of Charles I's art collections, such as the Lely Venus, were re-acquired by the Royal Collection.
    We are grateful to Diana Dethloff for endorsing the attribution and for dating the work to the 1670s.

    Provenance: By descent within the Smyth family at Ashton Court, Bristol until June 1947, upon the death of Mrs Esme Smyth, when sold through John E. Pritchard & Co.

    Measurements: Height 144cm, Width 120cm, Depth 9cm framed (Height 56.75”, Width 47.25”, Depth 3.5” framed)
    Price : 24500 €
    Artist : Atelier De Sir Peter Lely (1618-1680)
    Period:17th century
    Style:Louis 14th, Regency
    Condition : Très bon état

    Material : Huile sur toile
    Length: 9
    Width : 120
    Height : 144

    Reference : 620075
    Contact Dealer
    wait...
    Go to the dealer's gallery
    Print

    "Titan Fine Art" see more objects from this dealer

    "Portrait, Louis 14th, Regency"

    more objects on Proantic.com
    Subscribe to newsletter
    Titan Fine Art
    Quality British and European Fine Art, 17th to 20th century
    Portrait Of Catherine, Countess Of Rockington (1658-1695) C.1677 Studio Of Sir Peter Lely
    +44 (0) 208 653 9582
    +44 (0) 7875 412 111


    *We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

    Thank you! Your submission has been received!

    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Portrait De Catherine Watson, Comtesse De Rockington (1658-1695) Vers 1677 flag

Portrait De Catherine Watson, Comtesse De Rockington (1658-1695) Vers 1677
Agrandir les 11 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Portrait De Catherine Watson, Comtesse De Rockington (1658-1695) Vers 1677"
Cette œuvre faisait partie d'une collection de photos de famille et d'héritages des baronnets Smyth dans leur magnifique demeure seigneuriale millénaire d'Ashton Court, où ils ont résidé pendant plus de 400 ans. La gardienne de ce magnifique portrait est issue d'une des meilleures et des plus anciennes familles d'Angleterre. De l'atelier du peintre le plus compétent en Angleterre après la mort de Van Dyck, et du peintre de cour dominant à Charles II et James, duc d'York, Sir Peter Lely.

Cette peinture élégante et belle est un exemple classique de portrait baroque anglais. Méticuleusement rendue, la gardienne mesure trois quarts de longueur et tient un bouquet de fleurs. La peinture regorge de fioritures ingénieuses et de démonstrations de l'habileté du peintre et de sa technique picturale supérieure. Il a été peint vers 1677 lorsque Lely était au sommet de ses pouvoirs artistiques et probablement à l'occasion du mariage de la gardienne. Le caractère et le talent de Sir Peter Lely ont dominé le monde de l’art dans la seconde moitié du XVIIe siècle en Angleterre et toutes les personnes importantes étaient à ses côtés.

Cet élégant portrait de Catherine Watson, comtesse de Rockington (1657-1695) la représente dans la plus belle robe et assise dans un éperon rocheux avec un paysage automnal romantique au-delà. C'était une pose populaire que Lely a utilisée tout au long des années 1670 et qui aurait été choisie parmi une sélection du modèle. Conformément à la tradition à l'époque, le portrait a probablement été peint à l'occasion de son mariage en 1677. Il était courant que plus d'un portrait soit produit pour orner les murs des différents domaines de la gardienne ou pour offrir à des amis et à la famille en cadeau. . Il existe une autre version de ce portrait.

Née Lady Catherine Sondes en 1658 de Sir George Sondes, 1er comte de Feversham KB (1599-1677) et Mary Villiers (décédée en 1968), fille de Sir William Villiers, de Brooksby. La famille des Sondes se trouve à Throwley, dans le Kent, dès le XIVe siècle. Catherine, qui était l'héritière de son père, épousa Lewis Watson, 3e baron Rockingham, plus tard 1er comte de Rockingham (1655-1724) le 17 juillet 1677. La famille Watson était installée à Rockingham, Northamptonshire, depuis le règne d'Henri VIII . Le siège familial reste toujours - Rockingham Castle. Lewis était le petit-fils du tristement célèbre Thomas Wentworth, 1er comte de Strafford (1593-1641) - une figure majeure de la période précédant la guerre de Sécession). Son père était décédé trois mois plus tôt et il y avait eu un procès acrimonieux sur l'héritage de Feversham, qui avait conduit à une décision de la Chambre des Lords en juillet 1678 selon laquelle son beau-frère Louis de Duras, le 2e comte (veuf de la fille aînée, Lady Mary Sondes dvp en 1676), qui avait réussi le titre de Feversham par un reste spécial, devrait recevoir 3 000 £ par an pour la vie hors des domaines. Le 2e comte conserva donc ces domaines du Kent.

Lewis Watson a succédé à la baronnie de Rockingham en 1689 et à la mort du 2e comte Feversham en 1709, il a finalement hérité du reste des domaines de Feversham. À cette époque, cependant, Rockingham était déjà une puissance à part entière dans le Kent, ayant été nommé lord-lieutenant du comté en 1705. Malgré cela, l'acquisition des terres de Feversham fit des Watsons les plus grands propriétaires fonciers du comté. En 1714, Lewis fut créé comte de Rockingham et à sa mort en 1724, ses titres passèrent à leur petit-fils, Lewis (2e comte de Rockingham). Le petit-neveu de Lewis et Catherine, le deuxième marquis, a été deux fois Premier ministre sous George III.

Catherine est décédée en mars 1695 et est enterrée à côté de son mari dans l'église de Rockingham avec un monument élaboré à leur mémoire - lui en tant que soldat romain, elle en tant que matrone romaine.

Le couple a eu neuf enfants mais cinq ont survécu:

• Edward, vicomte Sondes (c.1687-1721 / 22)
• Lady Margaret (1695-1751)
• L'hon. George (1689-1735 / 9)
• Lady Mary (décédée en 1737)
• Lady Arabella (décédée en 1727)

Un portrait de Catherine, représentée dans le personnage de Diane par Sir Peter Lely est dans la galerie du château de Rockingham.

Notre portrait était dans la collection de la famille Smyth dans leur manoir Ashton Court. Au début de leur histoire, le nom de famille a été orthographié de différentes manières: Smith, Smithe, Smyth, Smythe; plus tard, les membres de la famille ont préféré «Smyth». On ne sait pas comment le portrait est entré dans la collection Smyth à Ashton Court, mais les Smyth étaient liés par mariage avec plusieurs autres familles de comté de premier plan. La richesse de la famille Smyth ne provenait pas seulement de l'entreprise et de l'achat de terres, dans ce pays et à l'étranger; mais aussi des arrangements de mariage soigneux.

Une inscription sur une étiquette de collection au verso indique: 2 mars 1885. No 55 Sir Upton Greville Smythe Bt (1836-1901). Pendant quatre siècles, la famille Smyth d'Ashton Court a été une force majeure dans la vie économique et sociale de Bristol et du nord du Somerset. De leur belle maison, située dans son impressionnant parc de cerfs fortifié surplombant Bristol, la famille dominait les environs. En tant que propriétaires fonciers, députés, juges de paix, distributeurs d'organismes de bienfaisance et principaux employeurs de main-d'œuvre, ils étaient des chefs de file reconnus de la société locale, Ashton Court était un symbole approprié de leur pouvoir et de leur influence.

Le manoir d'origine d'Ashton Court remonte au sixième siècle; On dit que la grande salle actuelle correspond aux dimensions exactes de la salle saxonne. Le manoir peut être encore plus ancien que cela, car dans une porte fait partie d'une mosaïque romaine, vraisemblablement d'une villa qui se trouvait sur ce même site. Long Ashton Estate et le manoir sont mentionnés dans le Domesday Book de 1086. Au 13ème siècle, le manoir avait été acquis par Thomas de Lyon, qui a reconstruit la propriété en 1290. En 1392, les Lyons ont obtenu une licence royale pour enfermer leurs terres et créer un parc aux cerfs, qui existe encore à ce jour.

Ashton Court est passé par des propriétaires successifs et à la fin du 14ème siècle il s'est considérablement agrandi lorsque Thomas De Lions, un noble originaire de France, a obtenu un permis pour enfermer un parc pour son manoir. La maison appartenait à la famille Choke depuis un certain temps. En 1506, il fut vendu à Sir Giles Daubeney, chevalier et chambellan d'Henri VII. Henry VIII a donné la succession à Sir Thomas Arundel en 1541 et quatre ans plus tard en 1545, Sir Thomas l'a vendu à John Smyth. La famille Smyth a possédé la propriété pendant les 400 prochaines années par le biais de mariages et de manœuvres, malgré la lignée directe trois fois. Une mise en garde utile aux actes de succession était que l'héritier doit prendre le nom de Smyth s'il ne l'avait pas déjà.

L'ascension de la famille à une grande richesse a commencé au XVIe siècle et son pouvoir a duré jusqu'à la fin du XIXe siècle. Au cours du XXe siècle, le double problème des lourdes charges de mort et du manque d'héritiers mâles mit progressivement fin à l'empire Smyth. Le dernier chef masculin de la famille à vivre à Ashton Court était Sir Greville Smyth, décédé en 1901. Au moment où il avait 27 ans, la succession lui a fourni 27 087 £ par an (plus de 1,5 million de £ aujourd'hui). Il a conservé tout le style et les dépenses somptueuses du passé, et son épouse Dame Emily Smyth, décédée en 1914, est encore connue localement comme la gracieuse dame du manoir. Sa fille par un ancien mariage a ensuite pris le nom de Smyth et était connue sous le nom de Hon. Esme; elle a vécu à Ashton Court jusqu'à sa mort en 1946, une personne bienveillante, très aimée dans le quartier. À sa mort, le contenu de la maison a été vendu par son héritier et petit-fils Greville Adrian pour vendre le contenu en juin 1947 (par John E. Pritchard & Co) et la maison elle-même en 1959.

Comme pour de nombreuses grandes maisons, Ashton Court n'a pas fait exception aux visites de la royauté au cours des siècles. Au début du 17e siècle, les Smyths ont diverti la reine Anne de Danemark lors de sa visite à la ville et en 1663, un cadeau de Sir Hugh (1632-1680) au roi Charles II et à sa reine, qui participaient aux eaux de Bath à proximité, a conduit au roi à cheval sur la succession pour le remercier en personne. Dans les années 1840, le prince de Galles, futur roi Edward VII, se rendait à Ashton Court pour le tournage.

Il y a encore des rumeurs selon lesquelles un trésor est enterré sur le domaine d'Ashton Court. Apparemment, au début de la guerre civile anglaise, Thomas Smyth (1609-1642) a demandé à son intendant d'enterrer l'argent de la famille sur le domaine. Thomas et le steward sont morts avant que l'emplacement de ce trésor ne puisse être divulgué et aucun argent n'a jamais été trouvé. La chasse aux richesses familiales s'est poursuivie au début du XXe siècle, lorsqu'Esmée Smyth (1863-1946) a profané le caveau familial à Ashton Church, en cherchant à ouvrir les cercueils de ses ancêtres dans l'espoir de trouver une précieuse bague en or sertie de bijoux.

L'une des affaires judiciaires les plus scandaleuses qui a secoué l'Angleterre victorienne et qui aurait été l'inspiration pour l'affaire Jarndyce contre Jarndyce de Charles Dickens dans son roman Bleak House (1852-3), était celle de Smyth vs Smyth (1853).

Lorsque le domaine est passé à Greville Upton (plus tard Smyth), Greville était un mineur, de sorte que le domaine a été placé sous l'intendance. En 1852, deux hommes sont arrivés à Ashton Court, l'un un avocat et l'autre un homme qui a prétendu qu'il était l'héritier légitime, Sir Richard Smyth - un fils illégitime de Sir Hugh. Cet imposteur impertinent a salué le régisseur, Arthur Way, avec les mots: «Je souhaite que vous quittiez la maison… et je vous demande de me remettre les clés du manoir. Mais ne vous dépêchez pas monsieur, je vous laisse deux heures pour prendre votre départ. » Les deux hommes se sont rapidement retrouvés malmenés hors de la maison par les domestiques, mais «Sir Richard» n’a pas été dissuadé. Il s’est installé non loin de Ashton Court, au prieuré Saint-Vincent de Clifton, et a approché les locataires de la succession, leur demandant de lui payer les tarifs et non Greville. En août 1853, l'affaire Smyth vs Smyth est arrivée aux Assises de Gloucester. La salle d’audience était pleine à craquer et soumise à un contre-interrogatoire, le cas de Sir Richard s’est effondré car il s’est avéré qu’il n’était rien d’autre qu’un voleur de chevaux appelé Thomas Provis. Même après son démasquage, Provis a toujours insisté sur le fait qu'il était un Smyth, déclarant qu'il avait le trait de famille d'une queue de cochon pour le prouver. Cette perruque a été arrachée sans cérémonie de sa tête alors qu'il était emmené.

Aujourd'hui, Ashton Court est une propriété d'importance nationale inscrite au grade I, au sein d'un parc et de jardins historiques classés au grade II. Au moment d'écrire ces lignes, une vue aérienne intéressante d'Ashton Court peut être consultée ici https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1TNpNnTz00

Tenue dans un cadre doré d'époque de bonne qualité et état.

Peter Lely, le fils d'un officier militaire néerlandais, est né en Allemagne à Soest en Westphalie en 1618. Il a étudié à Haarlem avant de déménager à Londres en 1641, et en 1647 il est devenu un homme libre de la Painter-Stainers 'Company. Initialement, Lely a peint des paysages, des scènes religieuses et mythologiques, mais il a rapidement reconnu la force du marché anglais du portrait et c'est là qu'il a tourné son attention. Il était employé par le duc de Northumberland, qui avait les enfants royaux à sa charge, et il a pu étudier la collection Northumberland d'œuvres de Van Dyke et Dobson. À la fin du Commonwealth, il était devenu le portraitiste le plus connu d'Angleterre. En 1661, il a été nommé peintre principal du roi et à partir de ce moment, il a maintenu une pratique occupée et réussie de peindre les membres les plus élitistes et les plus influents de la cour et de tous ceux qui sont importants. Son studio était prolifique et employait de nombreux assistants, tout comme la méthode courante en studio. Son succès signifie donc qu'il a établi le style de base du portrait anglais pendant des décennies.

Lely était un connaisseur et était connu pour sa propre collection de beaux-arts. À la fin de sa vie, il avait rassemblé l'une des plus belles collections non princières d'Europe, y compris plus de 25 des principales œuvres anglaises de vieux maîtres de Van Dyke, y compris Veronese, Titian, Claude Lorrain et Rubens, et une fabuleuse collection de dessins, était cassée et vendu après sa mort, soulevant l'immense somme de 26 000 £. Certains objets qui avaient été acquis par Lely de la dispersion des collections d'art de Charles Ier par le Commonwealth, comme la Lely Venus, ont été rachetés par la Collection Royale.

Nous remercions Diana Dethloff d'avoir approuvé l'attribution et d'avoir daté l'œuvre des années 1670.

Provenance: Par descendance au sein de la famille Smyth à Ashton Court, Bristol jusqu'en juin 1947, à la mort de Mme Esme Smyth, lorsqu'elle a été vendue par John E. Pritchard & Co.

Dimensions: hauteur 144 cm, largeur 120 cm, profondeur 9 cm encadrée (hauteur 56,75 po, largeur 47,25 po, profondeur 3,5 po encadrée)
Prix : 24500 €
Artiste : Atelier De Sir Peter Lely (1618-1680)
Epoque : 17ème siècle
Style : Louis XIV - Régence
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Huile sur toile
Longueur : 9
Largeur : 120
Hauteur : 144

Référence (ID) : 620075
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"Titan Fine Art" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Tableaux Portraits, Louis XIV - Régence"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
Titan Fine Art
Tableaux Européenes et Britanniques 17ème au 20ème siècle
Portrait De Catherine Watson, Comtesse De Rockington (1658-1695) Vers 1677
+44 (0) 208 653 9582
+44 (0) 7875 412 111


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form