20th Century, Pair Of Lacquered Giltwood Armchairs In Egyptian Revival Style flag

20th Century, Pair Of Lacquered Giltwood Armchairs In Egyptian Revival Style
Click to enlarge the 12 pictures.

Object description :

"20th Century, Pair Of Lacquered Giltwood Armchairs In Egyptian Revival Style"
20th Century, Pair of Lacquered Giltwood Armchairs in Egyptian revival style

This particular pair of armchairs, made of carved wood, lacquered and golden, is very bright and decorative.The armchairs can be placed in any furnishing context as they are very special objects that are suitable to be combined with both antique and contemporary.
They are in Egyptian style and are inspired by the famous golden throne of Pharaoh Tutankhamun, whose tomb was discovered in the Valley of the Kings, Egypt, in 1922 by the archaeologist Howard Carter.The discovery of certain objects in Egypt, including this throne, greatly influenced artistic taste, from fashion to architecture, to applied art, in the era of Art Deco throughout Europe.
Not many replicas of the throne are known and therefore this pair of armchairs is to be considered rare and valuable, as well as very decorative and curious.
King Tutankhamun’s Golden Throne is a masterpiece of art, not only in Ancient Egyptian times, but also in the art history of mankind in general. Symbol of authority and prestige, the throne was built at the beginning of the reign of Pharaoh Tutankhamun in the Amarna style.
The main scene on the back of the golden throne depicts Tutankhamun sitting on a throne in front of his wife Ankhesenamen, represented as he bows and touches the shoulder massaging the king’s body with particular types of fragrant ointments. The scene is full of signs of love and affection between the royal couple, enhanced by some decorations around: flowers and fruit are considered symbols of love and affection in ancient Egyptian art.
The king is represented with a crown composite with snakes, a solar disk and feathers. He wears a broad collar that covers much of his shoulder and chest and the very long and pleated royal kilt. He rests his feet on a stool. In front of the king, there is his queen and wife Ankhesenamen who wears a composite crown with two feathers, a solar disk and two horns. He has a wig and his dress is made of silver.
The decorations on the rest of the throne are part of a precise iconographic program that the pharaoh wanted to emphasize his control of Upper Egypt (represented by the lotus plant) and Lower Egypt (its symbol is the papyrus plant). The wings that decorate the armrests personify the union of territories.
The heads of lions, present next to the sitting, and the legs of a lion with which the four legs of the throne end, want to remember the ferocity and power of the king. Since the lions were believed to have lived on the edge of the desert, are also considered as the guardians of the eastern and western horizons, the places of sunrise and sunset, symbols of the past and future, bridge between the earthly life and the eternal life of the afterlife.
Price : 34000 €
Period:20th Century
Style:Other Style
Condition : Bon état

Material : Bois peint
Width : 70
Height : 100
Depth : 55

Reference : 664718
Contact Dealer
wait...
Go to the dealer's gallery
Print

"Brozzetti Antichità" see more objects from this dealer

"Design Seats, Other Style"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
Brozzetti Antichità
20th Century, Pair Of Lacquered Giltwood Armchairs In Egyptian Revival Style
0039 348 493 5001


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Paire De Fauteuils En Bois Sculpté, Laqué Et Doré De Goût égyptien, XXe Siècle flag

Paire De Fauteuils En Bois Sculpté, Laqué Et Doré De Goût égyptien, XXe Siècle
Agrandir les 12 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Paire De Fauteuils En Bois Sculpté, Laqué Et Doré De Goût égyptien, XXe Siècle"
Paire de fauteuils en bois sculpté, laqué et doré de goût égyptien, XXe siècle

Cette paire particulière de fauteuils, réalisée en bois sculpté, laqué et doré, est très lumineuse et décorative.Les fauteuils peuvent être insérés dans n’importe quel contexte d’ameublement car ce sont des objets très particuliers qui se prêtent à être rapprochés à la fois de l’ancien et du contemporain.
Ils sont de style égyptien et s’inspirent du célèbre trône d’or du pharaon Toutankhamon, dont le tombeau a été découvert dans la Vallée des Rois, en Égypte, en 1922 par l’archéologue Howard Carter.La découverte de certains objets en Égypte, dont ce trône, influença grandement le goût artistique, de la mode à l’architecture, à l’art appliqué, à l’époque de l’art déco dans toute l’Europe.Il n’y a pas beaucoup de répliques connues du trône et donc ce couple de fauteuils doit être considéré comme rare et précieux, ainsi que très décoratif et curieux.
Le Trône d’or du roi Toutankhamon est un chef-d’œuvre d’art, non seulement dans les temps de l’Egypte ancienne, mais aussi dans l’histoire de l’art de l’humanité en général. Symbole d’autorité et de prestige, le trône a été construit au début du règne du pharaon Toutankhamon dans le style Amarna.
La scène principale sur le dossier du trône d’or représente Toutankhamon assis sur un trône devant sa femme Ankhesenamen, représenté en s’inclinant et en touchant l’épaule en massant le corps du roi avec des pommades parfumées. La scène est pleine de signes d’amour et d’affection entre le couple royal, exaltée par certains décors présents autour: les fleurs et les fruits sont considérés comme des symboles d’amour et d’affection dans l’ancien art égyptien.
Le roi est représenté avec une couronne composite avec des serpents, un disque solaire et des plumes. Il porte un large collier qui couvre une grande partie de son épaule et sa poitrine et le kilt royal très long et plissé. Il repose ses pieds sur un tabouret. En face du roi, il y a sa reine et épouse Ankhesenamen qui porte une couronne composite avec deux plumes, un disque solaire et deux cornes. Il a une perruque et sa robe est en argent.
Les décorations présentes sur le reste du trône font partie d’un programme iconographique bien précis que Pharaon voulut pour souligner son contrôle de la Haute-Égypte (représenté par la plante de lotus) et la Basse-Égypte (son symbole est la plante de papyrus). Les ailes qui décorent les brassards personnifient l’union des territoires.
Les têtes de lions, présents à côté de l’assise, et les pattes de lion avec lesquelles se terminent les quatre jambes du trône, veulent se rappeler la férocité et la puissance du roi. Puisque les lions étaient censés vivre aux marges du désert, sont également considérés comme les gardiens des horizons orientaux et occidentaux, les lieux de lever et de coucher du soleil, symboles du passé et de l’avenir, pont entre la vie terrestre et la vie éternelle de l’au-delà.
Les fauteuils sont lumineuses et très décoratives et peuvent être insérées dans n’importe quel contexte d’ameublement car ce sont des objets très particuliers qui se prêtent à être rapprochés à la fois de l’ancien et du contemporain.
Prix : 34000 €
Epoque : 20ème siècle
Style : Autre style
Etat : Bon état

Matière : Bois peint
Largeur : 70
Hauteur : 100
Profondeur : 55

Référence (ID) : 664718
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"Brozzetti Antichità" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Sièges Design, Autre style"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
Brozzetti Antichità
Paire De Fauteuils En Bois Sculpté, Laqué Et Doré De Goût égyptien, XXe Siècle
0039 348 493 5001


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form