Antique Japanese Buddhist Shrine Zuchi Myōken Bosatsu Edo flag


Object description :

"Antique Japanese Buddhist Shrine Zuchi Myōken Bosatsu Edo"

Period - 18th - 19th century

Condition - Numerous faults, see photos

Measurement - Height 24 cm. Width 20cm.

Myōken Bosatsu also known as Sonjō-Ō (尊星王, "Venerable Star King", also Sonsei-Ō or Sonshō-Ō), is a Buddhist deification of the North Star worshiped mainly in the Shingon, Tendai and Nichiren schools of Japanese Buddhism.

Despite the alleged Sanskrit origin of his name and his bodhisattva status, Myōken is conspicuously absent from early Buddhist literature, with his name first appearing in apocryphal sutras of Chinese origin. He is thus thought to have originated from Taoist and folk beliefs regarding the northern pole star and/or the Big Dipper that had syncretized with Buddhism during the Tang dynasty. Indeed, despite being called 'bodhisattva' (bosatsu), the deity is actually more often classified as a deva.

The cult of Myōken is believed to have been introduced to Japan around the 7th century by the toraijin, immigrants from the Korean kingdoms of Goguryeo and Baekje, and flourished during the Heian period (794–1185). The eastern half of the country (the modern Kantō and Tōhoku regions), where these immigrants were settled, became a notable stronghold of Myōken worship; the Chiba clan, based on what is now Chiba Prefecture, and its offshoots adopted Myōken as their patron deity and spread his cult through their domains across Japan. Myōken also became an important deity within certain branches of Nichiren Buddhism (such as Nichiren-shū) due to the school's connections with the Chiba.

SOLD WITH A CERTIFICATE OF AUTHENTICITY

On parle français. Wij spreken Nederlands
If you have any questions do not hesitate to call me 0678679716 or email tdixonfrance@yahoo.co.uk

Frais de port inclus pour la France. Shipping included in the price for FRANCE.
Price does not include international shipping. Please contact me for a shipping quote. I am happy to combine shipping costs if you buy more than one item to save you money.

Please note that I ship all items insured priority mail with tracking.

I am an Englishman living down in the beautiful rural South of France and spend my days searching the little brocantes, flea markets, and shops for treasures. Any questions will be answered promptly. MONEY BACK WITHOUT QUESTION IF I MISREPRESENT SOMETHING IN ANY WAY.

I want YOU to be happy at the end of the day, so buy with confidence. I take a great deal of care packing - I have a proven track record of selling high value, fragile items that arrive safely worldwide.

Payment- Credit Cards via PayPal. Cheque or Bank transfer. Other payment methods are available please ask.

Price: 585 €
credit
Period: 19th century
Style: Asian art
Condition: Prévoir restauration

Material: Mixte
Width: 20 cm
Height: 24 cm

Reference: 890899
Contact Dealer
line

"Académy Antiques" See more objects from this dealer

line

"Objects Of Religious Art, Asian art"

More objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
line
facebook
pinterest
instagram
Académy Antiques
Asian Art and more
Antique Japanese Buddhist Shrine Zuchi Myōken Bosatsu Edo
890899-main-61f152ff69331.jpg
06 78 67 97 16


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Ancien Sanctuaire Bouddhiste Japonais Zuchi Myōken Bosatsu Edo flag


Description de l’antiquite :

"Ancien Sanctuaire Bouddhiste Japonais Zuchi Myōken Bosatsu Edo"


Epoque - XVII - XIXe siècle

Etat - Nombreux défauts voir photos

Mesure - Hauteur 24 cm. Largeur 20 cm.

Myōken Bosatsu également connu sous le nom de Sonjō-Ō (尊星王, "Venerable Star King", également Sonsei-Ō ou Sonshō-Ō), est une déification bouddhiste de l'étoile polaire vénérée principalement dans les écoles Shingon, Tendai et Nichiren du bouddhisme japonais. .

Malgré l'origine sanskrite présumée de son nom et son statut de bodhisattva, Myōken est manifestement absent de la littérature bouddhiste primitive, son nom apparaissant pour la première fois dans des sutras apocryphes d'origine chinoise. On pense donc qu'il est issu des croyances taoïstes et folkloriques concernant l'étoile du pôle nord et / ou la Grande Ourse qui s'étaient syncrétisées avec le bouddhisme sous la dynastie Tang. En effet, bien qu'appelée « bodhisattva » (bosatsu), la divinité est en fait plus souvent classée comme deva.

On pense que le culte de Myōken a été introduit au Japon vers le 7ème siècle par les toraijin , des immigrants des royaumes coréens de Goguryeo et Baekje , et a prospéré pendant la période Heian (794-1185). La moitié orientale du pays (les régions modernes de Kantō et Tōhoku), où ces immigrants étaient installés, est devenue un bastion notable du culte Myōken ; le clan Chiba, basé sur ce qui est maintenant la préfecture de Chiba, et ses ramifications ont adopté Myōken comme divinité patronne et ont répandu son culte dans leurs domaines à travers le Japon. Myōken est également devenu une divinité importante au sein de certaines branches du bouddhisme de Nichiren (comme Nichiren-shū) en raison des liens de l'école avec les Chiba.

VENDU AVEC UN CERTIFICAT D'AUTHENTICITÉ

Si vous avez des questions n'hésitez pas à m'appeler au 0678679716 ou à envoyer un mail à tdixonfrance@yahoo.co.uk

On parle français.

Wij spreken Nederlands

We speak English

FRAIS DE PORT INCLUS POUR LA FRANCE
Le prix n'inclut pas l'expédition internationale.Je vous en prie de me contacter pour un devis d’expédition. Au cas où que vous achetez plusieurs articles, je serai ravi de vous les envoyer ensemble pour économiser les frais de port.

Je suis un Anglais vivant dans le magnifique Sud rural de la France et passe mes jours à chercher les petits brocantes, les marchés aux puces et les magasins pour les trésors. Je n’achète pas de reproductions ou de copies.

Je suis à votre écoute pour chaque question.

REMBOURSEMENT EST FAIT SANS QUESTION SI JE REPRÉSENTE MAL QUELQUE CHOSE DE QUELQUE FAÇON QUE CE SOIT.

A la fin c’est votre bonheur que je vise alors vous pouvez acheter en toute confiance.

J’effectue l’emballage avec beaucoup de soin. Je peux faire preuve des envoies fragiles et de grande valeur qui sont arrivés en toute sécurité dans le monde entier.

Les paiements PayPal, virement et par chèque sont acceptés.






Prix: 585 €
credit
Epoque: 19ème siècle
Style: Art d'Asie
Etat: Prévoir restauration

Matière: Mixte
Largeur: 20 cm
Hauteur: 24 cm

Référence (ID): 890899
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
line

"Académy Antiques" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

line

"Objets D'art Religieux, Art d'Asie"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
line
facebook
pinterest
instagram
Académy Antiques
Extreme Orient et plus
Ancien Sanctuaire Bouddhiste Japonais Zuchi Myōken Bosatsu Edo
890899-main-61f152ff69331.jpg
06 78 67 97 16


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form