Venus Reclining In A Landscape, Pauwels Franck Dit Paolo Fiammingo (antwerp 1540 - Venice 1596) flag


Object description :

"Venus Reclining In A Landscape, Pauwels Franck Dit Paolo Fiammingo (antwerp 1540 - Venice 1596)"
Pauwels Franck, known as Paolo Fiammingo
(Antwerp, 1540 - Venice, 1596)

Venus lying in a landscape

Oil on canvas 116 x 150 cm.
In antique frame 136 x 170 cm.

The work is accompanied by a critical card by Dr. Federica Spadotto

LIEN:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/pauwels-franck-detto-paolo-fiammingo--venere-distesa

The splendid painting proposed sees portrayed, bare and stretched out on a red brocade cloth in gold sprinkled with roses, a refined and sensual Venus, in a composition with a profound symbolic value, and arriving at the perfect representation of the Renaissance woman who, like Venus, becomes an allegory love, eros, beauty and fertility.

The canvas is part of the prestigious Venetian artistic and cultural environment of the second half of the sixteenth century, whose distinctive distinctive trait can be traced back to its cosmopolitan vocation. This characteristic, as Dr. Spadotto noted in her in-depth study, belongs to the same physiology of the Venetian capital, that is, being a distinctly commercial city located in a strategic point with respect to trade. Representing one of the liveliest ports in the Mediterranean also meant witnessing the continuous passage not only of goods, but of men, ideas, suggestions from distant countries, which influenced not only the taste of their people, but above all art.

This happened thanks to the circulation of prints, as well as pictorial specimens, to which are added the stays of great foreign artists and, above all, the permanence in the capital of a non-negligible number of Dutch, Flemish and German masters.

An emblematic case in this regard comes from Pauwels Franck (Antwerp, 1540 - Venice, 1596), better known as Paolo Fiammingo, who established himself in his native city at a young age - in 1561 a figure enrolled in the Guild of San Luca - and arrived in Venice in 1573. .

He resided in Venice from 1584 until his death, although the stylistic and formal references of some of his works have led critics to believe that in previous years he had undertaken a journey to central Italy, or to Florence and Rome, where he would have metabolized the lively cultural debate that permeated these cities and which, on the other hand, seemed completely absent in Venice.

Here Paolo will be fascinated by the sense of color and by the atmospheric component fixed on the canvas by Jacopo Tintoretto (Venice 1518 - 1594), of which he becomes a collaborator, to undergo, around 1590, the suggestion of Paolo Caliari known as Veronese (Verona 1528 - Venice 1588), both from a coloristic point of view and with respect to precise guiding characters.

The painting in question stands as an illuminating figurative example of what has just been referred to, since it revisits the Venetian pictorial tradition through the Nordic filter, which is grafted onto a typical subject of the Renaissance repertoire. In the Venus in the foreground, with a typically Veronesian physiognomy, the reference to Venus with organist, cupid and dog performed by Titian (Pieve di Cadore, 1488-90-Venice, 1576) and now at the Staatlische Museum in Berlin appears a real homage to the great teacher. With the latter it shares the compositional layout, with the red curtain overlooking the goddess and the landscape in the background, although revisited in a strictly Nordic key, according to a modality that can be traced in the Venus with a dog of Ca 'Rezzonico, in Venice.

In this version of the theme, however, the author is still tied to the Flemish dictates, which in the large canvas under study are the complete synthesis of aesthetics between Northern Europe and the sensitivity of the lagoon. In the small flowers in the foreground and in the very enjoyable landscape backdrop that evokes the great Flemish masters, the very peculiar Venetian light is clearly perceptible: a real seal, together with the sky taken from Caliari, of the pictorial recipe developed by Pauwels. He creates a smooth cameo imbued with elegance, refinement and expressive happiness at the same time, in which the composed feminine beauty and the landscape reproduced with care in detail coexist with a quick, lively brushstroke imbued with light.

The painting is in excellent condition, with a beautiful antique frame.

The work is accompanied by a certificate of photographic authenticity in accordance with the law.


We take care and organize the transport of the purchased works, both for Italy and abroad, through professional and insured carriers. For any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Follow us also on:
https://www.instagram.com/galleriacastelbarco/?hl=it
https://www.facebook.com/galleriacastelbarco/
Price: 28000 €
credit
Artist: Pauwels Franck, Dit Paolo Fiammingo (anvers 1540 - Venise 1596)
Period: 16th century
Style: Louis 15th - Transition
Condition: Excellent condition

Material: Oil painting
Width: encadré 170 cm.
Height: encadré 136 cm.

Reference: 869906
Contact Dealer
line

"Antichità Castelbarco" See more objects from this dealer

line

"Painting Of Other Style, Louis 15th - Transition"

More objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
line
facebook
pinterest
instagram
Antichità Castelbarco
Old paintings, furniture and works of art
Venus Reclining In A Landscape, Pauwels Franck Dit Paolo Fiammingo (antwerp 1540 - Venice 1596)
869906-main-61b623ada290c.jpg
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Vénus Couchée Dans Un Paysage, Pauwels Franck Dit Paolo Fiammingo (Anvers 1540 - Venise 1596) flag


Description de l’antiquite :

"Vénus Couchée Dans Un Paysage, Pauwels Franck Dit Paolo Fiammingo (Anvers 1540 - Venise 1596)"
Pauwels Franck dit Paolo Fiammingo
(Anvers, 1540 - Venise, 1596)

Vénus allongée dans un paysage

Huile sur toile 116 x 150 cm.
Dans cadre ancien 136 x 170 cm.

L'ouvrage est accompagné d'une carte critique du Dr. Federica Spadotto

LIEN:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/pauwels-franck-detto-paolo-fiammingo--venere-distesa

Le splendide tableau proposé voit dépeint, nu et étendu sur un tissu de brocart rouge en or parsemé de roses, une Vénus raffinée et sensuelle, dans une composition d'une profonde valeur symbolique, et aboutissant à la représentation parfaite de la femme de la Renaissance qui, comme Vénus, devient une allégorie de l'amour, de l'éros, de la beauté et de la fertilité.

La toile fait partie du prestigieux environnement artistique et culturel vénitien de la seconde moitié du XVIe siècle, dont le trait distinctif tient à sa vocation cosmopolite. Cette caractéristique, comme l'a noté le Dr Spadotto dans son étude approfondie, appartient à la même physiologie de la capitale vénitienne, à savoir être une ville distinctement commerciale située dans un point stratégique par rapport au commerce. Représenter l'un des ports les plus animés de la Méditerranée, c'était aussi assister au passage continu non seulement des marchandises, mais des hommes, des idées, des suggestions de pays lointains, qui influençaient non seulement le goût de leurs habitants, mais surtout l'art.

Cela s'est fait grâce à la circulation d'estampes, ainsi que d'exemplaires picturaux, auxquels s'ajoutent les séjours de grands artistes étrangers et, surtout, la permanence dans la capitale d'un nombre non négligeable de maîtres hollandais, flamands et allemands.

Un cas emblématique à cet égard nous vient de Pauwels Franck (Anvers, 1540 - Venise, 1596), plus connu sous le nom de Paolo Fiammingo, qui s'est établi très jeune dans sa ville natale - en 1561 un personnage inscrit à la Guilde de San Luca - et arriva à Venise en 1573. .

Il résida à Venise de 1584 jusqu'à sa mort, bien que les références stylistiques et formelles de certaines de ses œuvres aient amené les critiques à croire que les années précédentes il avait entrepris un voyage en Italie centrale, ou à Florence et à Rome, où il aurait métabolisé le vif débat culturel qui imprégnait ces villes et qui, en revanche, semblait totalement absent à Venise.

Ici Paolo sera fasciné par le sens de la couleur et par la composante atmosphérique fixée sur la toile de Jacopo Tintoretto (Venise 1518 - 1594), dont il devient collaborateur, pour subir, vers 1590, la suggestion de Paolo Caliari dit Véronèse (Vérone 1528 - Venise 1588), à la fois d'un point de vue coloristique et par rapport à des personnages guides précis.

Le tableau en question se présente comme un exemple figuratif éclairant de ce qui vient d'être évoqué, puisqu'il revisite la tradition picturale vénitienne à travers le filtre nordique, qui se greffe sur un sujet typique du répertoire de la Renaissance. Dans la Vénus au premier plan, à la physionomie typiquement véronésienne, la référence à Vénus avec organiste, cupidon et chien interprétée par Titien (Pieve di Cadore, 1488-90-Venise, 1576) et maintenant au Staatlische Museum de Berlin apparaît comme un véritable hommage au grand maître. Avec ce dernier il partage la disposition compositionnelle, avec le rideau rouge surplombant la déesse et le paysage en arrière-plan, bien que revisité dans une clé strictement nordique, selon une modalité que l'on peut retracer dans la Vénus avec un chien de Ca' Rezzonico, à Venise.

Dans cette version du thème, cependant, l'auteur est toujours lié aux diktats flamands, qui dans la grande toile à l'étude sont la synthèse complète de l'esthétique entre l'Europe du Nord et la sensibilité de la lagune. Dans les petites fleurs du premier plan et dans le décor paysager très agréable qui évoque les grands maîtres flamands, la lumière vénitienne très particulière est clairement perceptible : un véritable sceau, avec le ciel de Caliari, de la recette picturale élaborée par Pauwels. Il crée un camée lisse empreint d'élégance, de raffinement et de bonheur expressif à la fois, dans lequel la beauté féminine composée et le paysage reproduit avec soin dans le détail coexistent avec un coup de pinceau vif et vif empreint de lumière.

Le tableau est en excellent état, avec un beau cadre ancien.

L'œuvre est accompagnée d'un certificat d'authenticité photographique conformément à la loi.


Nous prenons en charge et organisons le transport des œuvres achetées, tant pour l'Italie qu'à l'étranger, par l'intermédiaire de transporteurs professionnels et assurés. Pour toute information complémentaire, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Suivez-nous également sur :
https://www.instagram.com/galleriacastelbarco/?hl=it
https://www.facebook.com/galleriacastelbarco/
Prix: 28000 €
credit
Artiste: Pauwels Franck, Dit Paolo Fiammingo (anvers 1540 - Venise 1596)
Epoque: 16ème siècle
Style: Louis XV - Transition
Etat: Très bon état

Matière: Huile sur toile
Largeur: encadré 170 cm.
Hauteur: encadré 136 cm.

Référence (ID): 869906
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
line

"Antichità Castelbarco" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

line

"Tableaux Autre Genre, Louis XV - Transition"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
line
facebook
pinterest
instagram
Antichità Castelbarco
Tableaux anciens, meubles et objets d'art
Vénus Couchée Dans Un Paysage, Pauwels Franck Dit Paolo Fiammingo (Anvers 1540 - Venise 1596)
869906-main-61b623ada290c.jpg
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form