St. Louis (louis IX King Of France), Pietro Sorri (siena 1556-1622) flag


Object description :

"St. Louis (louis IX King Of France), Pietro Sorri (siena 1556-1622)"
Pietro Sorri (San Gusmè, Siena, 1556-Siena, 1622)
Saint Louis, or Louis IX King of France

Oil painting on canvas
cm. 110 x 91, framed cm. 123 x 105

LINK:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/san-ludovico--ovvero-luigi-ix-re-di-francia

The figure portrayed in this fascinating portrait is St. Louis, or Louis IX, king of France, born in Poissy in 1215 as the son of Louis VIII and Queen Bianca of Castile.

Crowned reigning in 1226, Louis was a sovereign of considerable intelligence of government, as well as of a high moral profile, devoted and virtuous. We see it depicted according to traditional iconography, the gaze turned upward as a sign of devotion, the royal armor with the plumed helmet, the crown with the scepter placed on a red cushion.

To the left of him, the work depicts two episodes concerning his life; above at the head of the army for the liberation of the Holy Land, and precisely during the battle against the Saracens in Damietta, Egypt, in the year 1244.

He is then immortalized at the moment of his death, which took place in Tunis while he was organizing one new crusade, struck by the plague that forced him to bed, where he died pronouncing the famous phrase: "I will enter your house, O Lord, I will worship you in your holy temple and glorify your name", which we find inscribed in Latin on the church (Introíbo in domum tuam, adorábo ad templum sanctum tuum, et confitébor nómini tuo).

The characters that distinguish the drafting of this magnificent portrait suggest a dating of the work to the early seventeenth century, while the aspects of style easily lead us back to the catalog of the Sienese Pietro Sorri (San Gusmè, 1556-Siena, 1622), trained in the workshop of Arcangelo Salimbeni (c.1536–1579) in Siena, and then in that of his brother-in-law Domenico Cresti known as the Passignano, with whom he shared a trip to Venice around 1580, later becoming a close collaborator in Florence.

As can be seen from the canvas, Sorri's artistic language has a very distinct autonomous identity, which differs from that of his fellow countrymen, and is instead influenced by the Venetian painting of Veronese and Tintoretto, assimilating in particular the chromatic fluency and the luminism of the Venetian painting.

We can relate our painting, which is set on the same stylistic and compositional register, with the painting by Sorri now in Spain, the result of the donation that Cosimo II of Tuscany made to the Monastery of the Descalzas Reales in Valladolid, and precisely the '' Santa Margherita '' of 1610 c. (https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/97/Pietro_Sorri_Santa_Margarita_Descalzas_Reales.jpg)

The painting is completed by a pleasant gilded wooden frame and sold together with a certificate of authenticity (FIMA).

We take care of and organize the transport of the purchased works, both for Italy and abroad, through professional and insured carriers. For any information, do not hesitate to contact us.

Follow us on:
https://www.instagram.com/galleriacastelbarco/?hl=it
https://www.facebook.com/galleriacastelbarco/
Price : 8500 €
credit
Artist : Pietro Sorri (san Gusmè, Siena, 1556 - Siena, 1622)
Period:16th century
Style:Renaissance, Louis 13th
Condition : Très bon état

Material : Huile sur toile
Width : encadré 105 cm.
Height : encadré 123 cm.

Reference : 833861
Contact Dealer
line

"Antichità Castelbarco" see more objects from this dealer

line

"Religious Paintings, Renaissance, Louis 13th"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
line
facebook
pinterest
instagram
Antichità Castelbarco
Old paintings, furniture and works of art
St. Louis (louis IX King Of France), Pietro Sorri (siena 1556-1622)
833861-main-61572a5052f89.jpg
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Saint Louis (Louis IX Roi de France), Pietro Sorri (Siena 1556-1622) flag


Description de l'antiquité :

"Saint Louis (Louis IX Roi de France), Pietro Sorri (Siena 1556-1622)"
Pietro Sorri (San Gusmè, Sienne, 1556-Sienne, 1622)
Saint Louis ou Louis IX roi de France

huile sur toile
cm. 110 x 91, encadré cm. 123x105

LIEN:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/san-ludovico--ovvero-luigi-ix-re-di-francia

La figure représentée dans ce portrait fascinant est Saint Louis, ou Louis IX, roi de France, né à Poissy en 1215 en tant que fils de Louis VIII et de la reine Blanche de Castille.

Couronné régnant en 1226, Louis était un souverain d'une grande intelligence de gouvernement, ainsi que d'une haute moralité, dévoué et vertueux. On la voit représentée selon l'iconographie traditionnelle, le regard tourné vers le haut en signe de dévotion, l'armure royale avec le casque à plumes, la couronne avec le sceptre posée sur un coussin rouge.

À sa gauche, l'œuvre dépeint deux épisodes concernant sa vie; ci-dessus à la tête de l'armée pour la libération de la Terre Sainte, et précisément pendant la bataille contre les Sarrasins à Damiette, en Égypte, en l'an 1244.

Elle est ensuite immortalisée au moment de sa mort, survenue à Tunis alors qu'il organisait une nouvelle croisade, frappée par la peste qui l'obligeait à se coucher, où il mourut en prononçant la célèbre phrase : « J'entrerai dans ta maison, ô Seigneur, je t'adorerai dans ton saint temple et je glorifierai ton nom », que nous trouvons inscrite dans Latin sur l'église (Introíbo in domum tuam, adorábo ad templum sanctum tuum, et confitébor nómini tuo).

Les caractères qui caractérisent la rédaction de ce magnifique portrait suggèrent une datation de l'œuvre au début du XVIIe siècle, tandis que les aspects de style nous ramènent facilement au catalogue du siennois Pietro Sorri (San Gusmè, 1556-Sienne, 1622), formé dans l'atelier d'Arcangelo Salimbeni (vers 1536-1579) à Sienne, puis dans celui de son beau-frère Domenico Cresti dit le Passignano, avec qui il partage un voyage à Venise vers 1580, devenant plus tard un proche collaborateur à Florence.

Comme on peut le voir sur la toile, le langage artistique de Sorri possède une identité autonome bien distincte, qui diffère de celle de ses compatriotes, et est plutôt influencé par la peinture vénitienne de Véronèse et du Tintoret, assimilant notamment la fluidité chromatique et le luminisme de la peinture vénitienne.

On peut relier notre tableau, qui se situe sur le même registre stylistique et compositionnel, avec le tableau de Sorri actuellement en Espagne, résultat de la donation que Cosme II de Toscane fit au Monastère des Descalzas Reales de Valladolid, et précisément le '' Santa Margherita '' de 1610 c. (https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/97/Pietro_Sorri_Santa_Margarita_Descalzas_Reales.jpg)

Le tableau est complété par un agréable cadre en bois doré et vendu accompagné d'un certificat d'authenticité (FIMA).

Nous prenons en charge et organisons le transport des œuvres achetées, tant pour l'Italie qu'à l'étranger, par l'intermédiaire de transporteurs professionnels et assurés. Pour toute information, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Suivez-nous sur:
https://www.instagram.com/galleriacastelbarco/?hl=it
https://www.facebook.com/galleriacastelbarco/
Prix : 8500 €
credit
Artiste : Pietro Sorri (san Gusmè, Siena, 1556 - Siena, 1622)
Epoque : 16ème siècle
Style : Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Huile sur toile
Largeur : encadré 105 cm.
Hauteur : encadré 123 cm.

Référence (ID) : 833861
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
line

"Antichità Castelbarco" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

645902-main-5f57a76e325b9.jpg
659877-main-5f818155a1903.jpg
629172-main-5f1355d4661da.jpg
769325-main-608ec97e30785.jpg
777338-main-60a3d3aa8754b.jpg
line

"Tableaux Religieux, Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
line
facebook
pinterest
instagram
Antichità Castelbarco
Tableaux anciens, meubles et objets d'art
Saint Louis (Louis IX Roi de France), Pietro Sorri (Siena 1556-1622)
833861-main-61572a5052f89.jpg
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form