Pair Of Candlesticks, Sterling Silver, Jean Delane, Bayonne, 1743-1744 flag


Object description :

"Pair Of Candlesticks, Sterling Silver, Jean Delane, Bayonne, 1743-1744"
- Hammered, melted and chiseled silver
- By Jean Delane, master silversmith from 1693 (?) To 1754
- Bayonne (France), 1743-1744
- Dim: 24.8 cm in height, 14.6 cm in diameter of the base; Weight: 1247g (626g & 621g)
- Very good condition, very nice patina, small cracks at the base of the barrels

- Each candlestick rests on a double oval contoured base bordered by a mesh molding. The navel is decorated with two nets. The triangular knot of hexagonal section with nets is extended by a triangular slightly convex shank with cut sides, decorated with shells in relief at its base. The hexagonal binet with the swollen base is adorned with nets on the border. The umbilicus is engraved with the alliance coat of arms surmounted by a knight's helm from two Basque families.

- Hallmarks (under the base): Master silversmith: D, I, a point, L, surmounted by a crown, for Jean Delane ([1], n ° 193d); Warden's mark: O under a crown, Bayonne, 1743-1744 ([1], n ° 194a); Recognition of Bayonne: AB with a point surmounted by a crown with three points, Bayonne, circa 1726 (?) - 1756 (?) ([1], n ° 192b)

- Jean Delane, from Bayonne, worked in Toulouse with the goldsmith Louis Masse from 1693 to 1697. On his return to Bayonne in 1697, he opened a workshop until 1754. He was one of the the most talented goldsmiths in Bayonne, some of the pieces listed were of high quality, showing talent which does not envy the finest Parisian creations: in the Jourdan-Barry collection, an ewer with its basin decorated (See Jourdan-Barry Sale, Sotheby's of April 18, 2012, Paris, n ° 175 ) and a pair of scissors with its tray ([2] n ° 151 & 158), a powder sugar bowl and a coffee maker (Ex. Galerie Verrier collection) and a dish from the Pierre Bergé collection are listed. As for the candlesticks, an identical pair of our silversmith was sold at Sotheby's on April 18, 2012 in Paris.

- Ref. : [1] Helft, Jacques: "The punches of the French provinces", 1968; [2] Bimbenet, Michèle & Fuhring, Peter: "The Jourdan-Barry collection", J. Kugel, 2005; Sale Sotheby's, Collection Jourdan-Barry, Paris, 18 avril 2012
Price: 5200 €
Artist: Très Bon état
Period: 18th century
Style: Louis 15th - Transition
Condition: Excellent condition

Material: Sterling silver
Diameter: 14.6 cm (base)
Height: 24.8 cm

Reference: 833278
Contact Dealer
line

"Galerie Verrier" See more objects from this dealer

line

"Silver Objects, Louis 15th - Transition"

More objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
line
facebook
pinterest
instagram
Galerie Verrier
Orfèvrerie, Objets d'Art et de Curiosités
Pair Of Candlesticks, Sterling Silver, Jean Delane, Bayonne, 1743-1744
833278-main-6155be954e269.jpg
06 61 34 71 40


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Paire De Flambeaux, Argent, Jean Delane, Bayonne, 1743-1744 flag


Description de l'antiquité :

"Paire De Flambeaux, Argent, Jean Delane, Bayonne, 1743-1744"
- Argent martelé, fondu et ciselé
-Par Jean Delane, maître-orfèvre de 1693 (?) à 1754
-Bayonne, 1743-1744
-Dim : 24.8 cm de hauteur, 14.6 cm de diamètre de la base ; Poids : 1247g (626g & 621g)
-Très bon état, très belle patine, petites fentes à la base des fûts

- Chaque flambeau repose sur une base à contours à double doucine bordée d’une moulure à filets. L’ombilic est orné de deux filets. Le nœud triangulaire de section hexagonale à filets est prolongé par un fût triangulaire légèrement convexe à pans coupés, décoré de coquilles en relief à sa base. Le binet hexagonal à la base renflée est orné de filets en bordure. Sur l’ombilic sont gravées les armoiries d’alliance surmontées d’un heaume de chevalier de deux familles basques.

-Poinçons (sous la base) : Maître-orfèvre : D, I, un point, L, surmonté d’une couronne, pour Jean Delane ([1], n°193d) ; Maison commune : O sous une couronne, Bayonne, 1743-1744 ([1], n°194a) ; Reconnaissance de Bayonne : AB avec un point surmonté d’une couronne à trois pointes, Bayonne, vers 1726 (?)- 1756 (?) ([1], n°192b)

-Jean Delane est un orfèvre d’une longue lignée d’orfèvres bayonnais des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles. Il travaille à Toulouse auprès de l’orfèvre Louis Masse de 1693 à 1697. À son retour à Bayonne en 1697, il ouvre un atelier jusqu’en 1754. Il est un des orfèvres les plus talentueux de Bayonne, certaines pièces référencées de grande qualité montrent un talent certain qui n’envient en rien les plus belles réalisations parisiennes : dans la collection Jourdan-Barry, une aiguière avec son bassin à décor d’appliques (Voir Vente Jourdan-Barry, Sotheby’s du 18 avril 2012, Paris, n°175) et une paire de mouchettes avec son plateau ([2] n°151 & 158), un sucrier à poudre et une cafetière (ex. coll Galerie Verrier) et un plat de la collection Pierre Bergé sont répertoriées. Quant aux flambeaux, une paire identique de l’orfèvre fut vendue chez Sotheby’s le 18 avril 2012 à Paris.

-Réf. :[1] Helft, Jacques : "Les poinçons des provinces françaises", 1968 ; [2] Bimbenet, Michèle & Fuhring, Peter : "La collection Jourdan-Barry", J. Kugel, 2005
Prix : 5200 €
Artiste : Très Bon état
Epoque : 18ème siècle
Style : Louis XV - Transition
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Argent massif
Diamètre : 14.6 cm (base)
Hauteur : 24.8 cm

Référence (ID) : 833278
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
line

"Galerie Verrier" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

line

"Pièces De Forme, Louis XV - Transition"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
line
facebook
pinterest
instagram
Galerie Verrier
Orfèvrerie, Objets d'Art et de Curiosités
Paire De Flambeaux, Argent, Jean Delane, Bayonne, 1743-1744
833278-main-6155be954e269.jpg
06 61 34 71 40


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form