Dish, Sterling Silver By Jean-antoine Bourguet, Paris, 1760-1761 flag


Object description :

"Dish, Sterling Silver By Jean-antoine Bourguet, Paris, 1760-1761"
  • Hammered and melted silver
  • Paris, 1760-1761
  • Jean-Antoine Bourget, received master silversmith in 1758 to 1785 (recorded)
  • Good condition, trace of a letters
  • Dim: 24.8 cm side; 3 cm high; weight: 584g
  • Square silver dish, with a polylobed outline with eight ribs and molded thread edges.
  • Often grouped in pairs, these bowls, shallow, square or rectangular, were intended, according to inventories, for serving fruit (compote or dry) and salads. The interior traces of blades show that they were not used only for this purpose, but according to the circumstances of the meal. These bowls are classic elements of the great service, known as "service à la française", which knew how to impose themselves on aristocratic and middle class tables. A similar dish of thissilversmith is in the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of New York (Inv. 48.187.190) from the Wentworth collection.
  • Hallmarks (under the molding): Charge; Crowned, for Paris, 1756-1762 [1, n ° 427]; Warden's mark: V crowned, for Paris, from July 12, 1760 to July 15, 1761, Master silversmith: I, a dove, A, B surmounted by a crown, for Jean-Antoine Bourguet; on the molding: discharge: a peasant's head for large silver works, Paris, 1752-1762; Master silversmith: I, a dove, A, B surmounted by a crown, for Jean-Antoine Bourguet
  • Jean-Antoine Bourguet: brother of Simon Bourguet,was received master silversmith by Letters Patent from the king Louis XV on October 14, 1758, and deposits his mark on October 16 with the guarantee of his brother Simon, after the realization of his masterpiece, a mustard pot. He lived in Lamoignon street, then rue de l'Arbre Sec at the “Tabatière d'Or” according to the almanac described as specialist of dishes. It is referenced until 1785. The various pieces listed concern dishes(Metropolitan Museum, Tajan sale April 2005 n ° 137,Qilzilbash sale, Christies of December 19, 2007, n ° 514…)
  • Ref. : [1] Bimbenet-Privat & de Fontaines: "La datation de l'orfèvrerie parisienne de l'ancien régime", Paris Musées, 1995; [2] Kugel: "La collection Jourdan-Barry", Kugel Ed. 2005. [3] Nocq, Henri: "Le Poinçon de Paris, répertoire des maitres-orfèvres de Paris du Moyen-âge au XVIIIe siècle”, 1926
  • Price : 1480 €
    Artist : Bourguet
    Period:18th century
    Style:Louis 15th, Transition
    Condition : Bon état

    Material : Argent massif
    Length: 24.8 cm
    Width : 24.8 cm
    Height : 3 cm

    Reference : 763396
    Contact Dealer
    line

    "Galerie Verrier" see more objects from this dealer

    159022-1.jpg
    778355-main-60a68eccd04d3.jpg
    132345-1.jpg
    617554-main-5eecea0466d90.jpg
    739422-main-6046508a9aa7b.jpg
    line

    "Table Services, Louis 15th, Transition"

    more objects on Proantic.com
    Subscribe to newsletter
    line
    facebook
    pinterest
    instagram
    Galerie Verrier
    Orfèvrerie, Objets d'Art et de Curiosités
    Dish, Sterling Silver By Jean-antoine Bourguet, Paris, 1760-1761
    763396-main-607ff65c6896a.jpg
    06 61 34 71 40


    *We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

    Thank you! Your submission has been received!

    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Jatte Carrée, Argent Par Jean-antoine Bourguet, Paris, 1760-1761 flag

Jatte Carrée, Argent Par Jean-antoine Bourguet, Paris, 1760-1761
Agrandir les 8 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Jatte Carrée, Argent Par Jean-antoine Bourguet, Paris, 1760-1761"
  • Argent martelé et fondu
  • Paris, 1760-1761
  • Par Jean-Antoine Bourget, reçu maître-orfèvre en 1758 à 1785
  • Bon état, usures d’usage et trace d’un chiffre
  • Dim : 24.8 cm de côté ; 3 cm de haut ; poids : 584g
  • Jatte carrée en argent, à contour polylobé à huit nervures et bordures à filets moulurées.
  • Souvent groupé par paire(s), ces jattes, peu profondes, carrées ou rectangulaires, étaient destinées, selon les inventaires, au service du fruit (compote ou sec) et des salades. Les traces intérieures de lames montrent qu'elles n'étaient pas utilisées seulement à cet usage, mais selon les circonstances du repas. Ces jattes sont des éléments classiques du grand service, dit à la française qui surent s’imposer sur les tables aristocratiques et bourgeoises. Une jatte de ce modèle de l’orfèvre de 1766 est conservée dans les collections du Metropolitan Museum of New York (Inv. 48.187.190)
  • Poinçons (sous la moulure) : Charge ; A couronné, pour Paris, 1756-1762 [1, n°427] ; Jurande : V couronné, pour Paris, du 12 juillet 1760 au 15 juillet 1761, Maître-orfèvre : I, une colombe, A, B surmonté d’une couronne, pour Jean-Antoine Bourguet ; sur la moulure : décharge : une tête de paysanne pour les gros ouvrages d'argent, Paris, 1752-1762 ;Maître-orfèvre : I, une colombe, A, B surmonté d’une couronne, pour Jean-Antoine Bourguet
  • Jean-Antoine Bourguet: frère de Simon Bourguet , il est reçu maître-orfèvre par Lettres Patentes du roi le 14 octobre 1758, et dépose son poinçon le 16 octobre avec la caution de son frère Simon, après la réalisation de son chef d’œuvre, un moutardier. Il demeure rue Lamoignon, puis rue de l’Arbre Sec à la «Tabatière d’Or» selon l’almanach pour la vaiselle. Il est référencé jusqu’en 1785. Les différentes pièces répertoriées concernent des jattes (Metropolitan Museum, Vente Tajan avril 2005 n°137) et des plats (Vente Qilzilbash, Christies du 19 décembre 2007,n°514…)
  • Réf. : [1] Bimbenet-Privat & de Fontaines : "La datation de l'orfèvrerie parisienne sous l'ancien régime", 1995 ; [2] Kugel : "La collection Jourdan-Barry", Kugel Ed. 2005. [3] Nocq, Henri: «Le Poinçon de Paris, répertoire des maîtres-orfèvres de la juridiction de Paris depuis le moyen âge jusqu'à la fin du dix-huitième siècle», 1926
  • Prix : 1480 €
    Artiste : Bourguet
    Epoque : 18ème siècle
    Style : Louis XV - Transition
    Etat : Bon état

    Matière : Argent massif
    Longueur : 24.8 cm
    Largeur : 24.8 cm
    Hauteur : 3 cm

    Référence (ID) : 763396
    CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE

    "Galerie Verrier" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

    "Services De Table, Louis XV - Transition"

    Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
    Recevez notre newsletter