The Annunciation, Workshop Of Carlo Maratta (ancona 1625 - Rome 1713) flag

The Annunciation, Workshop Of Carlo Maratta (ancona 1625 - Rome 1713)
Click to enlarge the 12 pictures.

Object description :

"The Annunciation, Workshop Of Carlo Maratta (ancona 1625 - Rome 1713)"
Roman painter of the early 18th century
Disciple of Carlo Maratta (Ancona 1625 - Rome 1713)

The Annunciation

oil on canvas, cm. 95 x 74, framed cm. 114 x 91

Full details of the artwork:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/l-annunciazione-bottega-maratta

This superb painting, characterized by an ethereal halo of sacredness, immortalizes the episode of the Annunciation in the foreground, capable of involving the viewer thanks to its direct and engaging devotional intensity.

The work shows a rather consolidated iconographic and stylistic scheme, where the Archangel Gabriel, on the right, offers the supreme announcement to the Virgin girl absorbed in her reading, while with one hand he points to the dove radiated with divine light, emblem of the Spirit Holy.

Certainly deserving of a more in-depth study, which specifically identifies its authorship, the canvas is to be assigned to the hand of a talented painter of Roman origin, and active in the early eighteenth century. Observing the stylistic characteristics and the definition of the details, as well as the compositional structure itself, we are inclined to bring its execution closer to the entourage of Carlo Maratta (Ancona 1625 - Rome 1713), one of the most illustrious exponents of seventeenth-century classicism, and presumably to a talented student of his thriving workshop.

The painting presents itself with a refined style, managing to calibrate the taste of classicism with a baroque without excesses, two contrasting trends but which thanks to Maratta began to reconcile with surprising results. His creations constituted an absolute reference model, a paradigm of a balanced but surprising pictorial style in every component (design, color, composition, iconography), making it an undisputed reference point of the Roman art scene, as well as a source of inspiration for the European classicism.

The work in question, while presenting a very independent illustrative character, recalls the emotional and pictorial qualities of the master, who conceived specific Marian iconographies distinguished by an ideal of idealized beauty: the face of the Virgin, for example, with her blissful smile on the face, and again the particular pose in which the angel is immortalized.

Finally, it is worth mentioning the preciousness of the pigments used, enlivened by the intense blue of lapis lazuli used to paint the Virgin's mantle, a typical pigment used by the Marattesca workshop to evoke her transcendence and, therefore, her divine nature.

The painting, whose excellent conditions offer us an optimal reading, denotes a precise brushstroke and of undoubted quality.


For more information, please contact us.
Painting accompanied by a certificate of photographic authenticity in accordance with the law (FIMA)
Price : 9200 €
Artist : Peintre Romain Du Début Du Xviiie Siècle Disciple De Carlo Maratta (ancône 1625 - Rome 1713)
Period:18th century
Style:Renaissance, Louis 13th
Condition : Très bon état

Material : Huile sur toile
Width : encadré 91 cm.
Height : encadré 114 cm.

Reference : 751541
Contact Dealer

"Antichità Castelbarco" see more objects from this dealer

"Religious Paintings, Renaissance, Louis 13th"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter

L'Annonciation, Atelier De Carlo Maratta (Ancône 1625 - Rome 1713) flag

L'Annonciation, Atelier De Carlo Maratta (Ancône 1625 - Rome 1713)
Agrandir les 12 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"L'Annonciation, Atelier De Carlo Maratta (Ancône 1625 - Rome 1713)"
Peintre romain du début du XVIIIe siècle
Atelier de Carlo Maratta (Ancône 1625 - Rome 1713)

L'Annonciation

huile sur toile, cm. 95 x 74, encadré cm. 114 x 91

Détails complets de l'œuvre:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/l-annunciazione-bottega-maratta

Ce superbe tableau, caractérisé par un halo éthéré de sacré, immortalise l'épisode de l'Annonciation au premier plan, capable d'impliquer le spectateur grâce à son intensité dévotionnelle directe et engageante.

L'œuvre se présente avec un schéma iconographique et stylistique plutôt consolidé, où l'archange Gabriel, à droite, offre l'annonce suprême à la Vierge absorbée dans sa lecture, tandis que d'une main il pointe la colombe rayonnée de lumière divine, emblème de l'Esprit Saint.

Méritant certainement une étude plus approfondie, qui identifie spécifiquement sa paternité, la toile doit être confiée à un peintre talentueux d'origine romaine, et actif au début du XVIIIe siècle. En observant les caractéristiques stylistiques et la définition des détails, ainsi que la structure compositionnelle elle-même, nous sommes enclins à rapprocher son exécution de l'entourage de Carlo Maratta (Ancône 1625 - Rome 1713), l'un des plus illustres représentants du dix-septième- classicisme du siècle, et vraisemblablement à un étudiant talentueux de son atelier florissant.

La peinture se présente avec un style raffiné, réussissant à calibrer le goût du classicisme avec un baroque sans excès, deux tendances contrastées mais qui grâce à Maratta ont commencé à se concilier avec des résultats surprenants. Ses créations constituent un modèle de référence absolu, un paradigme d'un style pictural équilibré mais surprenant dans chaque composant (design, couleur, composition, iconographie), en faisant un point de référence incontesté de la scène de l'art romain, ainsi qu'une source d'inspiration pour le classicisme européen.

L'œuvre en question, tout en présentant un caractère illustratif très indépendant, rappelle les qualités émotionnelles et picturales du maître, qui a conçu des iconographies mariales spécifiques distinguées par un idéal de beauté idéalisée: le visage de la Vierge, par exemple, avec son sourire bienheureux sur le visage, et encore la pose particulière dans laquelle l'ange est immortalisé.

Enfin, il convient de mentionner la préciosité des pigments utilisés, animés par le bleu intense du lapis-lazuli utilisé pour peindre le manteau de la Vierge, un pigment typique utilisé par l'atelier Marattesca pour évoquer la transcendance et, par conséquent, sa nature divine.

La peinture, dont les excellentes conditions nous offrent une lecture optimale, dénote un coup de pinceau précis et d'une qualité incontestable.


Pour plus d'informations, contactez nous.
Peinture accompagnée d'un certificat d'authenticité photographique conformément à la loi (FIMA)
Prix : 9200 €
Artiste : Peintre Romain Du Début Du Xviiie Siècle Disciple De Carlo Maratta (ancône 1625 - Rome 1713)
Epoque : 18ème siècle
Style : Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Huile sur toile
Largeur : encadré 91 cm.
Hauteur : encadré 114 cm.

Référence (ID) : 751541
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE

"Antichità Castelbarco" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Tableaux Religieux, Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter