Portrait Of Elizabeth Spencer C.1665; Follower Of Sir Peter Lely (1618-1680) flag


Object description :

"Portrait Of Elizabeth Spencer C.1665; Follower Of Sir Peter Lely (1618-1680)"
This work formed part of the collection of family pictures and heirlooms of the ancient Gresley Baronets at their family seat, Drakelow Hall, Burton-on-Trent. The Gresley’s held Drakelow for almost 1,000 years and 28 generations, a record of continuity scarcely matched by any other family in England. The last Gresley of Drakelow, Sir Robert, sold the contents of the mansion in a seven-day 2200-lot sale in July 1931 and thus dismantling a collection that was accumulated over many centuries

This charming portrait was painted around 1665 - it is characteristic of the type of portrait painted by Sir Peter Lely and his contemporaries at this time. The brown silk ‘dress’ with billowing sleeves was often employed by Lely as was the gauzy scarf, probably a studio prop, held at the shoulder by a jewelled clasp. Lely often draped his sitters in swathes of fabric referred to as ‘undress’ – this attire was not actually worn on the street but gave a sense of elegance and timelessness to portraits.

The sitter is Lady Elizabeth Spencer, by tradition, and the portrait is known to have been at Drakelow as early as 1899 by an inventory of pictures taken that year (listed as “Lady E Spencer”). It may have come to Drakelow through the marriage of Sir Robert Gresley (1866–1936) to Lady Frances Spencer Churchill (1870-1954), eldest daughter of George, Duke of Marlborough.

The Gresleys were an ancient Norman family, descended from Nigel de Stafford, the son of Robert de Stafford, scion of one of the most powerful families in England. A suggestion based mainly upon the Stafford surname, descendants of Raoul of Tosny, his descendants can claim a pedigree unmatched in Europe for antiquity (origins in the myth-history of the Norseman). Nigel's son, also named Nigel, took the name Gresley after he acquired Castle Gresley in Derbyshire.

Though mainly Elizabethan in character, Drakelow Hall had been altered and restored at different periods but never actually rebuilt. The Domesday Book recorded Nigel de Stafford holding the Manor of “Drachelawe” near the conclusion of the 11th century, and his descendants represented 28 generations of this house. Centuries have past, three dozen monarchs have been entombed, yet up to 1931, the children of Nigel de Stafford have still held Drakelow - over nine hundred years and as long as any family in England is said to have owned the same manor. The Gresley Baronetcy was the sixth oldest baronetcy in Britain until it became extinct on the death of the 13th and last Baronet in 1976.

At the time the contents were sold in 1931 there were many panelled rooms with antique furniture, china, etc., and also a tapestry room. Five oaken beds dated from the reigns of Queen Elizabeth I and James I, while two early 17th century ebony beds were probably brought back from Spain by Walsingham Gresley (1585-1633) who was attached to the British Embassy in Madrid. A valued heirloom was the Gresley Jewel, a fine specimen of the 16th century work in the form of a pendant, presented by Elizabeth I to Catherine Sutton, daughter of Lord Dudley, on the occasion of her marriage to Sir George Gresley, K.B.

Held in a very fine quality antique carved and gilded frame.

Sir Peter Lely’s character and art dominated the art world of the second half of the seventeenth century in England. Everyone of consequence in his age sat to him, and it is in his portraits that we form our conception of English portraiture during the Protectorate and years following the Restoration.

He was the son of a Dutch military officer, and was born in at Soest in Westphalia in 1618. He studied in Haarlem before moving to London in 1641, and in 1647 he became a freeman of the Painter-Stainers’ Company. Initially, Lely painted landscapes, religious, and mythological scenes, however, he quickly recognised the strength of the English market for portraiture and this is where he turned his attention. He was employed by the Duke of Northumberland, who had the royal children in his care, and he was able to study the Northumberland Collection of works by Van Dyke and Dobson. By the end of the Commonwealth, he had become the best-known portraitist in England. In 1661 he was appointed Principal Painter to the King and from then on he maintained a busy and successful practice painting the most elite and influential members of the court and of everyone of importance. His studio was prolific and employed many assistants, as was the common studio method. His success thus meant that he established the basic English portrait style for decades.

Lely was a connoisseur and was known for his own fine art collection. By the end of his life he had assembled one the finest non-princely collections in Europe including more than 25 of Van Dyke’s major English works, Old Masters including Veronese, Titian, Claude Lorrain and Rubens, and a fabulous collection of drawings.

Provenance: Sir Robert Gresley, 11th Baronet (1866–1936), Drakelow Hall, his sale July 1931;
Sotheby's London November 19, 1992, Lot 174, The collection of the Late Dudley Snelgrove, F.S.A. (1906-92). Dudley Snelgrove was an expert on watercolours

Literature: ‘The Gresleys of Drakelow’, F.C. Madan, 1899

Measurements: Height 64cm, Width 52cm framed (Height 25”, Width 20.5” framed)
Price : 5750 €
credit
Artist : Suiveur De Sir Peter Lely (1618-1680)
Period:17th century
Style:Louis 14th, Regency
Condition : Très bon état

Material : Huile sur toile
Length: 4
Width : 52
Height : 64

Reference : 727120
Contact Dealer
line

"Titan Fine Art" see more objects from this dealer

566422-main-5e565ccfa6feb.jpg
859538-main-619e49fc9481e.jpg
733229-main-603790f3abc37.jpg
714419-main-6009f77599ae1.jpg
803978-main-60ef084fd19e4.jpg
line

"Portrait, Louis 14th, Regency"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
line
facebook
pinterest
instagram
Titan Fine Art
Quality British and European Fine Art, 17th to 20th century
Portrait Of Elizabeth Spencer C.1665; Follower Of Sir Peter Lely (1618-1680)
727120-main-6026c57d4d0fe.jpg
+44 (0) 208 653 9582
+44 (0) 7875 412 111


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Portrait d'Elizabeth Spencer Vers 1665; Peinture à l'Huile Antique flag


Description de l'antiquité :

"Portrait d'Elizabeth Spencer Vers 1665; Peinture à l'Huile Antique"
Cette œuvre faisait partie de la collection de photos de famille et d'objets de famille des anciens baronnets Gresley au siège de leur famille, Drakelow Hall, Burton-on-Trent. Les Gresley ont tenu Drakelow pendant près de 1000 ans et 28 générations, un record de continuité à peine égalé par aucune autre famille en Angleterre. Le dernier Gresley de Drakelow, Sir Robert, a vendu le contenu du manoir lors d'une vente de 2200 lots de sept jours en juillet 1931 et a ainsi démantelé une collection accumulée pendant de nombreux siècles.

Ce charmant portrait a été peint vers 1665 - il est caractéristique du type de portrait peint par Sir Peter Lely et ses contemporains à cette époque. La «robe» en soie marron aux manches bouffantes était souvent employée par Lely, tout comme l'écharpe vaporeuse, probablement un accessoire de studio, tenue à l'épaule par un fermoir bijou. Lely drapait souvent ses modèles dans des bandes de tissu appelées «déshabillées» - cette tenue n’était pas réellement portée dans la rue mais donnait une impression d’élégance et d’intemporalité aux portraits.

La gardienne est Lady Elizabeth Spencer, par tradition, et le portrait est connu pour avoir été à Drakelow dès 1899 par un inventaire de photos prises cette année-là (répertorié comme «Lady E Spencer»). Il est peut-être arrivé à Drakelow par le mariage de Sir Robert Gresley (1866–1936) avec Lady Frances Spencer Churchill (1870-1954), fille aînée de George, duc de Marlborough.

Les Gresley étaient une ancienne famille normande, descendant de Nigel de Stafford, le fils de Robert de Stafford, descendant d'une des familles les plus puissantes d'Angleterre. Une suggestion basée principalement sur le patronyme Stafford, descendants de Raoul de Tosny, ses descendants peuvent revendiquer un pedigree inégalé en Europe pour l'antiquité (origines dans l'histoire du mythe du Norseman). Le fils de Nigel, également nommé Nigel, a pris le nom de Gresley après avoir acquis Castle Gresley dans le Derbyshire.

Bien que de caractère principalement élisabéthain, Drakelow Hall avait été modifié et restauré à différentes périodes mais jamais reconstruit. Le Domesday Book a enregistré Nigel de Stafford tenant le manoir de «Drachelawe» vers la fin du 11ème siècle, et ses descendants représentaient 28 générations de cette maison. Des siècles ont passé, trois douzaines de monarques ont été ensevelis, mais jusqu'en 1931, les enfants de Nigel de Stafford détiennent toujours Drakelow - plus de neuf cents ans et aussi longtemps qu'une famille en Angleterre aurait possédé le même manoir. Le Gresley Baronetcy était la sixième plus ancienne baronnette de Grande-Bretagne jusqu'à ce qu'il disparaisse à la mort du 13e et dernier baronnet en 1976.

Au moment de la vente du contenu en 1931, il y avait de nombreuses pièces lambrissées avec des meubles anciens, de la porcelaine, etc., ainsi qu'une salle de tapisserie. Cinq lits de chêne datent des règnes de la reine Elizabeth I et de James I, tandis que deux lits d'ébène du début du XVIIe siècle ont probablement été ramenés d'Espagne par Walsingham Gresley (1585-1633) qui était attaché à l'ambassade britannique à Madrid. Un héritage précieux était le Gresley Jewel, un beau spécimen de l'œuvre du XVIe siècle sous la forme d'un pendentif, présenté par Elizabeth I à Catherine Sutton, fille de Lord Dudley, à l'occasion de son mariage avec Sir George Gresley, K.B.

Tenu dans un cadre antique sculpté et doré de très belle qualité.

Le caractère et l’art de Sir Peter Lely ont dominé le monde de l’art de la seconde moitié du XVIIe siècle en Angleterre. Tout le monde important de son âge s'assit à ses côtés, et c'est dans ses portraits que nous formons notre conception du portrait anglais pendant le Protectorat et les années suivant la Restauration.

Il était le fils d'un officier militaire néerlandais et est né à Soest en Westphalie en 1618. Il a étudié à Haarlem avant de déménager à Londres en 1641, et en 1647 il est devenu un homme libre de la Painter-Stainers ’Company. Au départ, Lely a peint des paysages, des scènes religieuses et mythologiques, mais il a rapidement reconnu la force du marché anglais du portrait et c'est là qu'il a tourné son attention. Il était employé par le duc de Northumberland, qui avait les enfants royaux à sa charge, et il a pu étudier la collection Northumberland d'œuvres de Van Dyke et Dobson. À la fin du Commonwealth, il était devenu le portraitiste le plus connu d'Angleterre. En 1661, il fut nommé peintre principal du roi et depuis lors, il entretint une pratique active et réussie en peignant les membres les plus élitistes et les plus influents de la cour et de tous ceux qui étaient importants. Son atelier était prolifique et employait de nombreux assistants, tout comme la méthode de studio courante. Son succès signifie donc qu'il établit le style de portrait anglais de base pendant des décennies.

Lely était un connaisseur et était connu pour sa propre collection de beaux-arts. À la fin de sa vie, il avait rassemblé l’une des plus belles collections non princières d’Europe comprenant plus de 25 des principales œuvres anglaises de Van Dyke, des maîtres anciens dont Véronèse, Titien, Claude Lorrain et Rubens, et une fabuleuse collection de dessins.

Provenance:
Sir Robert Gresley, 11e baronnet (1866–1936), Drakelow Hall, sa vente en juillet 1931;
Sotheby's Londres 19 novembre 1992, Lot 174, La collection de feu Dudley Snelgrove, F.S.A. (1906-92). Dudley Snelgrove était un expert des aquarelles

Littérature:
«The Gresleys of Drakelow», F.C. Madan, 1899

Mesures:
hauteur 64 cm, largeur 52 cm encadrée (hauteur 25 ", largeur 20,5" encadrée)
Prix : 5750 €
credit
Artiste : Suiveur De Sir Peter Lely (1618-1680)
Epoque : 17ème siècle
Style : Louis XIV - Régence
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Huile sur toile
Longueur : 4
Largeur : 52
Hauteur : 64

Référence (ID) : 727120
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
line

"Titan Fine Art" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

803978-main-60ef084fd19e4.jpg
736217-main-603e9a3072aa6.jpg
817883-main-6123f8981d5ea.jpg
658379-main-5f7db9047a95b.jpg
802859-main-60ec1f7f9ea50.jpg
line

"Tableaux Portraits, Louis XIV - Régence"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
line
facebook
pinterest
instagram
Titan Fine Art
Tableaux Européenes et Britanniques 17ème au 20ème siècle
Portrait d'Elizabeth Spencer Vers 1665; Peinture à l'Huile Antique
727120-main-6026c57d4d0fe.jpg
+44 (0) 208 653 9582
+44 (0) 7875 412 111


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form