Portrait Of A Lady In A Green Dress C.1710 Antique Painting; Circle Of Michael Dahl (1657-1743) flag

Portrait Of A Lady In A Green Dress C.1710 Antique Painting; Circle Of Michael Dahl (1657-1743)
Click to enlarge the 6 pictures.

Object description :

"Portrait Of A Lady In A Green Dress C.1710 Antique Painting; Circle Of Michael Dahl (1657-1743)"
The portrait genre was valued particularly highly in English society. Neither landscapes nor allegorical pictures were ever priced so highly at exhibitions and in the trade as depictions of people, from the highest aristocracy to scholars, writers, poets and statesmen. Michael Dahl was a famous and fashionable portraitist who by 1700 became the most successful painter in England, second only to Godfrey Kneller.

By the late 1600s, England was actively trading with Asia, as this portrait reveals. In this striking portrait the sitter wears a loose-fitting dress called an open robe that was introduced from Asia in the 1670s during the reign of King Charles II. The style became the fashion choice for informal portraiture for more than a hundred years.
Characteristic of Dahl, especially in the 1690s and early 1700s, is his interesting use of colour, sometimes in unexpected shades. Here, the fresh, pale emerald green of the gown provides a strong decorative contrast with her crimson wrap. The lively handling of the drapery and the colour combination are used with great effect. There are many examples of green drapery in Dahl’s work.

Michael Dahl (1659-1743) was born in Stockholm and was a painter of exceptional talent. He studied with David Ehrenstrahl, the leading Swedish portrait painter of his day, before embarking on a tour of Europe in 1682 that included London, Paris and Rome. He first visited London and it is thought that he spent some time in Kneller's studio. A number of Dahl’s compatriots saw England as being relatively stable and prosperous compared to many European countries, and more welcoming than France, for example, of the Lutheran faith then prevalent in Sweden. In 1698 he was offered the position of painter to the court of the Swedish King, Charles XII, but preferred to stay and settle permanently in London. There, he established an independent studio and by 1700 became the most successful painter in England, second only to Godfrey Kneller. His Scandinavian origins ensured patronage from Prince George of Denmark, and Queen Anne and members of the English court and he worked for the Duke of Somerset painting the Petworth 'Beauties' in the late 1690s. in 1712 he charged £50 for a full length. He died in London in 1743 leaving two daughters (his only son, also a painter, died about three years earlier).

Provenance: Private collection in Germany for the last 30 years (originally purchased in France)

Measurements: Height 102cm, Width 89cm framed (Height 40”, Width 35” framed
Price : 7850 €
Artist : Entourage De Michael Dahl (1657-1743)
Period:18th century
Style:Louis 14th, Regency
Condition : Très bon état

Material : Huile sur toile
Length: 5
Width : 89
Height : 102

Reference : 656445
Contact Dealer
wait...
Go to the dealer's gallery
Print

"Titan Fine Art" see more objects from this dealer

"Portrait, Louis 14th, Regency"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
Titan Fine Art
Quality British and European Fine Art, 17th to 20th century
Portrait Of A Lady In A Green Dress C.1710 Antique Painting; Circle Of Michael Dahl (1657-1743)
+44 (0) 208 653 9582
+44 (0) 7875 412 111


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Portrait d'Une Dame En Robe Verte Vers 1710, Peinture à l'Huile Ancienne Sur Toile flag

Portrait d'Une Dame En Robe Verte Vers 1710, Peinture à l'Huile Ancienne Sur Toile
Agrandir les 6 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Portrait d'Une Dame En Robe Verte Vers 1710, Peinture à l'Huile Ancienne Sur Toile"
Le genre du portrait était particulièrement apprécié dans la société anglaise. Ni les paysages ni les images allégoriques n'ont jamais été aussi chers dans les expositions et dans le commerce que les représentations de personnes, de la plus haute aristocratie aux savants, écrivains, poètes et hommes d'État. Michael Dahl était un portraitiste célèbre et à la mode qui, en 1700, devint le peintre le plus titré d'Angleterre, juste derrière Godfrey Kneller.

À la fin des années 1600, l'Angleterre faisait activement du commerce avec l'Asie, comme le révèle ce portrait. Dans ce portrait saisissant, le modèle porte une robe ample appelée robe ouverte qui a été introduite d'Asie dans les années 1670 sous le règne du roi Charles II. Le style est devenu le choix de mode pour le portrait informel pendant plus de cent ans.

La caractéristique de Dahl, en particulier dans les années 1690 et au début des années 1700, est son utilisation intéressante de la couleur, parfois dans des nuances inattendues. Ici, le vert émeraude frais et pâle de la robe offre un contraste décoratif fort avec son écharpe cramoisie. La manipulation vivante de la draperie et la combinaison de couleurs sont utilisées avec grand effet. Il existe de nombreux exemples de draperies vertes dans le travail de Dahl.

Michael Dahl (1659-1743) est né à Stockholm et était un peintre d'un talent exceptionnel. Il a étudié avec David Ehrenstrahl, le principal portraitiste suédois de son époque, avant de se lancer dans une tournée européenne en 1682 qui comprenait Londres, Paris et Rome. Il a d'abord visité Londres et on pense qu'il a passé quelque temps dans l'atelier de Kneller. Un certain nombre de compatriotes de Dahl considéraient l’Angleterre comme étant relativement stable et prospère par rapport à de nombreux pays européens, et plus accueillante que la France, par exemple, de confession luthérienne alors répandue en Suède. En 1698, il se voit offrir le poste de peintre à la cour du roi de Suède Charles XII, mais préfère rester et s'installer définitivement à Londres. Là, il créa un studio indépendant et devint en 1700 le peintre le plus titré d'Angleterre, juste derrière Godfrey Kneller. Ses origines scandinaves ont assuré le patronage du prince George du Danemark, de la reine Anne et des membres de la cour anglaise et il a travaillé pour le duc de Somerset peignant les `` beautés '' de Petworth à la fin des années 1690. en 1712, il factura 50 £ pour une longueur totale. Il mourut à Londres en 1743 en laissant deux filles (son fils unique, également peintre, décéda environ trois ans plus tôt).

Provenance: Collection privée en Allemagne depuis 30 ans (initialement achetée en France)

Mesures: hauteur 102 cm, largeur 89 cm encadrée (hauteur 40 ", largeur 35" encadrée)
Prix : 7850 €
Artiste : Entourage De Michael Dahl (1657-1743)
Epoque : 18ème siècle
Style : Louis XIV - Régence
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Huile sur toile
Longueur : 5
Largeur : 89
Hauteur : 102

Référence (ID) : 656445
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"Titan Fine Art" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Tableaux Portraits, Louis XIV - Régence"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
Titan Fine Art
Tableaux Européenes et Britanniques 17ème au 20ème siècle
Portrait d'Une Dame En Robe Verte Vers 1710, Peinture à l'Huile Ancienne Sur Toile
+44 (0) 208 653 9582
+44 (0) 7875 412 111


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form