This object was sold
line

Italian School Circa 1730 - Portrait Of A Gentleman

Italian School Circa 1730 - Portrait Of A Gentleman sold
pictures.

Object description :

"Italian School Circa 1730 - Portrait Of A Gentleman"
Italian school circa 1730
Portrait of a gentleman
Oil on canvas
H. 114 cm; L. 89 cm

This large oval format is a particularly interesting portrait that can be compared to the works of Nicolas de Largillierre by its pomp and its posture. But it is more prudent to attribute this piece to a painter from Northern Italy, around the 1730s, having obviously known the compositions of French artists.

This orange-embroidered suit is a large frock coat, whose widely open collar lets out a lace tie, freeing this man's chest. Leaning on the base of a pillar, he holds in his hand a document from which unfortunately no text escapes to give us any identifying information. The French frame seems to be the original one and could justify this idea of an Italian artist working in France.

Note the old restorations, and a distortion of time on the frame where the woods have taken a certain curvature in depth, bringing the upper part and the lower part forward, in a completely symmetrical manner. This detail is absolutely not disturbing, but to be noted.

View more from this dealer

View more - Portrait

Contact Dealer
Subscribe to newsletter
line
facebook
pinterest
instagram

Galerie de Frise
Specialist in ancient paintings

Italian School Circa 1730 - Portrait Of A Gentleman
327587-1.jpg
06 77 36 95 10


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

objet vendu

Ecole italienne vers 1730 - Portrait de gentilhomme

Ecole italienne vers 1730 - Portrait de gentilhomme
photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Ecole italienne vers 1730 - Portrait de gentilhomme"
Ecole italienne vers 1730
Portrait de gentilhomme
Huile sur toile
H.114 cm ; L.89 cm

C’est un portrait particulièrement intéressant que ce grand format ovale que l’on peut rapprocher des travaux de Nicolas de Largillierre par son faste et sa posture. Mais il est plus prudent d’attribuer cette pièce à un peintre d’Italie du Nord, autour des années 1730, ayant bien évidemment connu les compositions des artistes français.

Ce costume brodé orangé est une grande redingote, dont le col largement ouvert laisse échapper une cravate de dentelle, dégageant le torse de cet homme. Accoudé à la base d’un pilier, il tient dans sa main un document dont malheureusement aucun texte ne s’échappe pour nous donner une information d’identification. Le cadre français semble être celui d’origine et pourrait justifier cette idée d’un artiste italien travaillant en France.

A noter des restaurations anciennes, et une déformation du temps sur le cadre où les bois ont pris une certaine courbure dans la profondeur, ramenant la partie haute et la partie basse vers l'avant, de manière totalement symétrique. Ce détail n'est absolument pas dérangeant, mais à signaler.

Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

Antiquités - Tableaux portraits

CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
Recevez notre newsletter