Portrait Of Bishop Romolo Valenti Di Trevi (trevi 1522-1579), Scipione Pulzone (gaeta, 1544 - Rome, 1598) Atelier De flag

Portrait Of Bishop Romolo Valenti Di Trevi (trevi 1522-1579), Scipione Pulzone (gaeta, 1544 - Rome, 1598) Atelier De
Click to enlarge the 12 pictures.

Object description :

"Portrait Of Bishop Romolo Valenti Di Trevi (trevi 1522-1579), Scipione Pulzone (gaeta, 1544 - Rome, 1598) Atelier De"
Scipione Pulzone, known as Il Gaetano (Gaeta, 1544 - Rome, 1598), workshop of
Portrait of the bishop Romolo Valenti of Trevi (Trevi 1522 - 1579)

Second half of the 16th century
oil on canvas, cm. 100 x 74
in frame cm. 117 x 93

Link:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/ritratto-del-vescovo-romolo-valenti-di-trevi-pulzone

The portrayed portrayed in the painting is the bishop Romolo Valenti di Trevi (Trevi 1522 - 1579), a member of one of the most important noble families of Trevi, whose expressive power is wisely highlighted by the compositional cut of three quarters, with the head and the gaze that scrutinizes the observer. The beam of light that reaches the figure laterally makes the volumes of the face stand out.

It is a painting of excellent quality that can be confined to the workshop of the painter Scipione Pulzone known as Gaetano, representing at best a pictorial genre, that of portraiture, in which the master and his pupils excelled.

This attribution is confirmed by the comparison of our painting with a portrait cataloged in the Zeri Photo Library (Link: http://catalogo.fondazionezeri.unibo.it/scheda/opera/31816/Pulzone%20Scipione%2C%20Ritratto%20di%20cardinale%20%28Camillo%20Borghese%3F%29), attributed precisely to Pulzone and which portrays the portrayed (the note would propose Camillo Borghese) with the same characteristics.

The characters drawn by Pulzone are icons of incomparable strength and elegance: noblemen and high ecclesiastical offices lent their features to the eye of the Gaetano artist who was able to capture every meticulous detail with his superb technique. A wealth of photographs, a surprising material attention that follows a certain Flemish-inspired pictorial prototype, in particular by Antonis Mor (Utrecht 1520 - Antwerp 1578), who also worked in Rome.

His portraits are capable of highlighting the characteristic signs of the exercise of power, both in clothing and attributes, and in the expression of the face and pose. Popes, bishops and aristocrats appear to us as figures fully aware of their social status and, although in their static and hieratic nature they may seem cold or impersonal at first glance, they emanate the subtle charm of a "timeless" art.

Documented for the first time in Rome in 1562, Pulzone soon came into contact with the most important aristocratic families in the second half of the sixteenth century, becoming the official portraitist of the nobility and the ecclesiastical leadership of the city. The first to appreciate his skills as a portraitist was Marcantonio II Colonna, the winner of the battle of Lepanto against the Turks (1571). It was he who opened the doors to the great Roman families, which was followed by positions at the Medici in Florence.

The work, like all our objects, is sold with a certificate of photographic authenticity in accordance with the law.
For any information, do not hesitate to contact us.
Price : 8900 €
Artist : Scipione Pulzone, Dit Il Gaetano (gaeta, 1544 - Rome, 1598), Atelier De
Period:16th century
Style:Renaissance, Louis 13th
Condition : Très bon état

Material : Huile sur toile
Width : encadré 93 cm.
Height : encadré 117 cm.

Reference : 644897
Contact Dealer
wait...
Go to the dealer's gallery
Print

"Antichità Castelbarco" see more objects from this dealer

"Portrait, Renaissance, Louis 13th"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
Antichità Castelbarco
Old paintings, furniture and works of art
Portrait Of Bishop Romolo Valenti Di Trevi (trevi 1522-1579), Scipione Pulzone (gaeta, 1544 - Rome, 1598) Atelier De
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Portrait De l'évêque Romolo Valenti Di Trevi (Trevi 1522-1579), Scipione Pulzone (Gaeta, 1544 - Rome, 1598) atelier de flag

Portrait De l'évêque Romolo Valenti Di Trevi (Trevi 1522-1579), Scipione Pulzone (Gaeta, 1544 - Rome, 1598) atelier de
Agrandir les 12 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Portrait De l'évêque Romolo Valenti Di Trevi (Trevi 1522-1579), Scipione Pulzone (Gaeta, 1544 - Rome, 1598) atelier de"
Scipione Pulzone, dit Il Gaetano (Gaeta, 1544 - Rome, 1598), atelier de
Portrait de l'évêque Romolo Valenti de Trevi (Trevi 1522-1579)

Seconde moitié du XVIe siècle
huile sur toile, cm. 100 x 74
dans le cadre cm. 117 x 93

Lien:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/ritratto-del-vescovo-romolo-valenti-di-trevi-pulzone

Le dépeint dans le tableau est l'évêque Romolo Valenti di Trevi (Trevi 1522-1579), membre de l'une des familles nobles les plus importantes de Trevi, dont le pouvoir expressif est sagement mis en évidence par la coupe de composition des trois quarts, avec la tête et le regard qui scrute l'observateur. Le faisceau de lumière qui atteint la figure latéralement fait ressortir les volumes du visage.

C'est une peinture d'excellente qualité qui peut être confinée à l'atelier du peintre Scipione Pulzone dit Gaetano, représentant au mieux un genre pictural, celui du portrait, dans lequel le maître et ses élèves excellaient.

Cette attribution est confirmée par la comparaison de notre peinture avec un portrait catalogué dans la photothèque Zeri (Lien: http://catalogo.fondazionezeri.unibo.it/scheda/opera/31816/Pulzone%20Scipione%2C%20Ritratto%20di%20cardinale%20%28Camillo%20Borghese%3F%29), attribué précisément à Pulzone et qui dépeint le dépeint (la note proposerait Camillo Borghese) avec les mêmes caractéristiques.

Les personnages dessinés par Pulzone sont des icônes d'une force et d'une élégance incomparables: les nobles et les hautes fonctions ecclésiastiques ont prêté leurs traits à l'œil de l'artiste Gaetano qui a su capturer chaque détail minutieux avec sa superbe technique. Une richesse photographique, une attention matérielle surprenante qui fait suite à un certain prototype pictural d'inspiration flamande, notamment d'Antonis Mor (Utrecht 1520 - Anvers 1578), qui a également travaillé à Rome.

Ses portraits sont capables de mettre en évidence les signes caractéristiques de l'exercice du pouvoir, tant dans les vêtements et les attributs, que dans l'expression du visage et de la pose. Papes, évêques et aristocrates nous apparaissent comme des personnages pleinement conscients de leur statut social et, bien que dans leur nature statique et hiératique ils puissent paraître froids ou impersonnels à première vue, ils dégagent le charme subtil d'un art «intemporel».

Documenté pour la première fois à Rome en 1562, Pulzone entra rapidement en contact avec les familles aristocratiques les plus importantes dans la seconde moitié du XVIe siècle, devenant le portraitiste officiel de la noblesse et de la direction ecclésiastique de la ville. Le premier à apprécier ses talents de portraitiste fut Marcantonio II Colonna, vainqueur de la bataille de Lépante contre les Turcs (1571). C'est lui qui a ouvert les portes aux grandes familles romaines, qui ont été suivies par des postes chez les Médicis à Florence.

L'œuvre, comme tous nos objets, est vendue avec un certificat d'authenticité photographique conforme à la loi.
Pour toute information, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.
Prix : 8900 €
Artiste : Scipione Pulzone, Dit Il Gaetano (gaeta, 1544 - Rome, 1598), Atelier De
Epoque : 16ème siècle
Style : Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Huile sur toile
Largeur : encadré 93 cm.
Hauteur : encadré 117 cm.

Référence (ID) : 644897
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"Antichità Castelbarco" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Tableaux Portraits, Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
Antichità Castelbarco
Tableaux anciens, meubles et objets d'art
Portrait De l'évêque Romolo Valenti Di Trevi (Trevi 1522-1579), Scipione Pulzone (Gaeta, 1544 - Rome, 1598) atelier de
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form