The Pietà With The Two Cherubs, Rome XVIth Century flag


Object description :

"The Pietà With The Two Cherubs, Rome XVIth Century"
Painter active in Rome in the 16th century, workshop of Scipione Pulzone (Gaeta 1550 - Rome 1598)
The pity (Dead Christ supported by the Madonna)

oil on canvas, cm. 78 x 94
framed cm. 86 x 102

Link:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/la-pieta-con-due-cherubini-roma-500

Observing the valuable quality as well as the elegance of the design of this intense 16th century Pietà, we can compare its execution to the most refined works of late Roman Mannerism. In particular, there are many points of contact with the mature style of Scipione Pulzone, known as Gaetano (Gaeta 1550 - Rome 1598), whose flourishing workshop took up this subject in numerous variations.

The artist is considered one of the most original exponents of painting in the Counter-Reformation age and one of the most esteemed artists active in the Roman territory in the second half of the sixteenth century.

In the canvas proposed here, our author was able to render the moment of the lamentation of Christ in an extraordinary way, demonstrating precision, realism and emotional depth in the interpretation of the sacred union between the Madonna and Christ, through a masterful game of contrasts of colors and of lights and shadows.

The pietistic and devotional cut of the counter-reformed painting is evident in the canvas: the representation, of great dramatic effect, shows Christ, after being taken down from the cross, welcomed into the arms of the Virgin.

There is a strong physical and psychological characterization of the characters rendered by the marked chiaroscuro effects and by the thick contour lines as a function of a plastic and sculptural construction of the silhouettes; the intense maternal compassion is revealed by the expression on her face which, aware of her child's destiny, exudes suffering, but also calm resignation. Christ, abandoned in his mother's embrace, shows a sorrowful but at the same time serene face, made even more exciting by the smile that seems to hint at the Virgin.

The painter preferred cold shades, with a purplish background, creating an intense and surreal effect, not without Iberian and Flemish influences. The detail of the chroma with which our author wanted to define the background is also incredibly full of charm and spiritual meaning: purple is linked to repentance, atonement and sacrifice.

The painting, like all our objects, is sold with a certificate of photographic authenticity in accordance with the law (FIMA - CINOA)
For more details please contact us: we are at your complete disposal for any information.
Price: 8600 €
credit
Artist: Peintre Actif à Rome Au Xvie Siècle, Entourage De Scipione Pulzone (gaeta 1550 - Rome 1598)
Period: 16th century
Style: Renaissance, Louis 13th
Condition: Excellent condition

Material: Oil painting
Width: encadré cm. 102
Height: encadré cm. 86

Reference: 636619
Contact Dealer
line

"Antichità Castelbarco" See more objects from this dealer

line

"Religious Paintings, Renaissance, Louis 13th"

More objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
line
facebook
pinterest
instagram
Antichità Castelbarco
Old paintings, furniture and works of art
The Pietà With The Two Cherubs, Rome XVIth Century
636619-main-5f3014237ab30.jpg
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

La Pietà Aux Deux Chérubins, Maître Actif à Rome Au XVIe Siècle flag

La Pietà Aux Deux Chérubins, Maître Actif à Rome Au XVIe Siècle
Agrandir les 12 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"La Pietà Aux Deux Chérubins, Maître Actif à Rome Au XVIe Siècle"
Peintre actif à Rome au XVIe siècle - entourage de Scipione Pulzone (Gaeta 1550 - Rome 1598)
La Pietà (Christ mort soutenu par la Madone)

huile sur toile, cm. 78 x 94
encadré cm. 86 x 102

Lien:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/la-pieta-con-due-cherubini-roma-500

En observant la qualité précieuse ainsi que l'élégance du design de cette intense Pietà du XVIe siècle, nous pouvons comparer son exécution aux œuvres les plus raffinées du maniérisme romain tardif. En particulier, il existe de nombreux points de contact avec le style mature de Scipione Pulzone, dit Gaetano (Gaeta 1550 - Rome 1598), dont l'atelier florissant a repris ce sujet dans de nombreuses variantes.

L'artiste est considéré comme l'un des représentants les plus originaux de la peinture à l'époque de la contre-réforme et l'un des artistes les plus estimés actifs sur le territoire romain dans la seconde moitié du XVIe siècle.

Dans la toile proposée ici, notre auteur a pu rendre le moment de la lamentation du Christ d'une manière extraordinaire, faisant preuve de précision, de réalisme et de profondeur émotionnelle dans l'interprétation de l'union sacrée entre la Vierge et le Christ, à travers un jeu magistral de contrastes de couleurs et de lumières et d'ombres.

La coupe piétiste et dévotionnelle du tableau contre-réformé est évidente dans la toile: la représentation, d'un grand effet dramatique, montre le Christ, après avoir été descendu de croix, accueilli dans les bras de la Vierge.

Il y a une forte caractérisation physique et psychologique des personnages rendus par les effets de clair-obscur marqués et par les lignes de contour épaisses en fonction d'une construction plastique et sculpturale des silhouettes; l'intense compassion maternelle se révèle par l'expression de son visage qui, consciente du destin de son enfant, respire la souffrance, mais aussi la résignation calme. Le Christ, abandonné dans l'étreinte de sa mère, montre un visage triste mais en même temps serein, rendu encore plus excitant par le sourire qui semble faire allusion à la Vierge.

Le peintre a préféré les nuances froides, avec un fond violacé, créant un effet intense et surréaliste, non sans influences ibériques et flamandes. Le détail de la chrominance avec laquelle notre auteur a voulu définir l'arrière-plan est également incroyablement plein de charme et de signification spirituelle: le violet est lié à la repentance, à l'expiation et au sacrifice.

Le tableau, comme tous nos objets, est vendu avec un certificat d'authenticité photographique conforme à la loi (FIMA - CINOA)
Pour plus de détails veuillez nous contacter: nous sommes à votre entière disposition pour toute information.
Prix : 8600 €
Artiste : Peintre Actif à Rome Au Xvie Siècle, Entourage De Scipione Pulzone (gaeta 1550 - Rome 1598)
Epoque : 16ème siècle
Style : Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Huile sur toile
Largeur : encadré cm. 102
Hauteur : encadré cm. 86

Référence (ID) : 636619
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"Antichità Castelbarco" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Tableaux Religieux, Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
Antichità Castelbarco
Tableaux anciens, meubles et objets d'art
La Pietà Aux Deux Chérubins, Maître Actif à Rome Au XVIe Siècle
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form