Portrait Of Pope Clement XIV, Roman Painter From The 18th Century (attr. Giovanni Domenico Porta) flag

Portrait Of Pope Clement XIV, Roman Painter From The 18th Century (attr. Giovanni Domenico Porta)
Click to enlarge the 12 pictures.

Object description :

"Portrait Of Pope Clement XIV, Roman Painter From The 18th Century (attr. Giovanni Domenico Porta)"
Portrait of Pope Clement XIV Ganganelli
Roman painter of the eighteenth century (around 1769 - 1774)
Probable attribution: Giovanni Domenico Porta (Bonetto di San Maurizio d'Opaglio 1722 - Rome 1780)

Oil painting on canvas
Dimensions: canvas cm. 98 x 73, frame cm. 110 x 85

Full details:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/ritratto-di-papa-clemente-xiv-ganganelli

The work in question depicts the effigy of Pope Clement XIV (Santarcangelo di Romagna 1705 - Rome 1774), who ascended the papal throne in 1769, and remembered for his meritorious attempts to reduce the tax burden of his subjects and to reform the public administration of the Papal States, as well as its favorable attitude towards the development of the liberal arts and the spread of culture, of which the Pio-Clementino museum is still witness today.

Magnificent the flashes of light of the golds, made with skill, which, highlighting sharp details from the red velvet dress, act as a counterpoint to the physiognomy of the pontiff, rendered with great technical skill and intensity.

He is depicted in light three-quarters on a neutral background with a blessing gesture, as in the canonical iconography institutionalized by his will by Giovanni Domenico Porta, also an official portrait painter of popes Clement XIII and Pius VI.

The work reproduces the characters of his portraits: the image proposes a scenic module repeatedly used by the painter, for example the version kept in Urbino at the convent of the conventual Franciscans, or that of the Galleria Apolloni in Rome, works that compared to this in examination they present slight variations in the pose of the hands and the scenic backdrop.

He was a refined portraitist, as well as a sensitive interpreter of religious themes: the attention to chiaroscuro variations and the accuracy and refinement in the rendering of the material details of the clothes and the drapery, whose laces and gilding were made with neglected skill in clear contrast with the fineness of the portrait, investigated psychologically. All elements that differentiate it from the plethora of portraitists who worked by copying from a single model, "parade", intended to embellish the ecclesiastical environments and public buildings of the Papal States.

The painting is in excellent condition, perfectly restored, accompanied by a pleasant golden frame.

The work, like all our objects, is sold accompanied by a certificate of photographic authenticity in accordance with the law.

For any information, do not hesitate to contact us.
Price : 6600 €
Artist : Giovanni Domenico Porta (roma 1722 - 1780)
Period:18th century
Style:Renaissance, Louis 13th
Condition : Très bon état

Material : Huile sur toile
Width : toile 73 cm.
Height : toile 98 cm.

Reference : 632583
Contact Dealer
wait...
Go to the dealer's gallery
Print

"Antichità Castelbarco" see more objects from this dealer

"Portrait, Renaissance, Louis 13th"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
Antichità Castelbarco
Old paintings, furniture and works of art
Portrait Of Pope Clement XIV, Roman Painter From The 18th Century (attr. Giovanni Domenico Porta)
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Portrait Du Pape Clément XIV, Peintre Romain Du XVIIIe Siècle (attr. Giovanni Domenico Porta) flag

Portrait Du Pape Clément XIV, Peintre Romain Du XVIIIe Siècle (attr. Giovanni Domenico Porta)
Agrandir les 12 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Portrait Du Pape Clément XIV, Peintre Romain Du XVIIIe Siècle (attr. Giovanni Domenico Porta)"
Portrait du Pape Clément XIV Ganganelli
Peintre romain du XVIIIe siècle (vers 1769 - 1774)
Attribution probable: Giovanni Domenico Porta (Bonetto di San Maurizio d'Opaglio 1722 - Rome 1780)

Peinture à l'huile sur toile
Dimensions: toile cm. 98 x 73, cadre cm. 110 x 85

Tous les détails:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/ritratto-di-papa-clemente-xiv-ganganelli

L'œuvre en question représente l'effigie du pape Clément XIV (Santarcangelo di Romagna 1705 - Rome 1774), qui monta sur le trône papal en 1769, et se souvint pour ses tentatives méritoires de réduire la charge fiscale de ses sujets et de réformer l'administration publique des États pontificaux, ainsi que son attitude favorable au développement des arts libéraux et à la diffusion de la culture, dont le musée Pio-Clementino est encore aujourd'hui témoin.

Magnifiques les éclairs de lumière des ors, réalisés avec habileté, qui, mettant en valeur les détails nets de la robe de velours rouge, agissent en contrepoint à la physionomie du pontife, rendue avec une grande habileté technique et intensité.

Il est représenté en lumière aux trois quarts sur fond neutre avec un geste de bénédiction, comme dans l'iconographie canonique institutionnalisée par sa volonté par Giovanni Domenico Porta, également portraitiste officiel des papes Clément XIII et Pie VI.

L'œuvre reproduit les personnages de ses portraits: l'image propose un module scénique utilisé à plusieurs reprises par le peintre, par exemple la version conservée à Urbino au couvent des franciscains conventuels, ou celle de la Galleria Apolloni à Rome, œuvres qui se comparent à celle-ci. à l'examen, ils présentent de légères variations dans la pose des mains et le décor scénique.

Il était un portraitiste raffiné, ainsi qu'un interprète sensible de thèmes religieux: l'attention portée aux variations de clair-obscur et la précision et le raffinement dans le rendu des détails matériels des vêtements et de la draperie, dont les dentelles et les dorures ont été faites avec une compétence négligée dans contraste clair avec la finesse du portrait, enquêté psychologiquement. Tous les éléments qui la différencient de la pléthore de portraitistes qui travaillaient en copiant à partir d'un seul modèle, «parade», destiné à embellir les milieux ecclésiastiques et les édifices publics des États pontificaux.

Le tableau est en excellent état, parfaitement restauré, accompagné d'un agréable cadre doré.

L'œuvre, comme tous nos objets, est vendue accompagnée d'un certificat d'authenticité photographique conforme à la loi.
Pour toute information, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.
Prix : 6600 €
Artiste : Giovanni Domenico Porta (roma 1722 - 1780)
Epoque : 18ème siècle
Style : Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Huile sur toile
Largeur : toile 73 cm.
Hauteur : toile 98 cm.

Référence (ID) : 632583
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"Antichità Castelbarco" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Tableaux Portraits, Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
Antichità Castelbarco
Tableaux anciens, meubles et objets d'art
Portrait Du Pape Clément XIV, Peintre Romain Du XVIIIe Siècle (attr. Giovanni Domenico Porta)
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form