18th Century, Italian Neoclassical Half-moon Chest Of Drawers By Ignazio And Luigi Ravelli flag

18th Century, Italian Neoclassical Half-moon Chest Of Drawers By Ignazio And Luigi Ravelli
Click to enlarge the 12 pictures.

Object description :

"18th Century, Italian Neoclassical Half-moon Chest Of Drawers By Ignazio And Luigi Ravelli "
18th Century, Italian Neoclassical half-moon chest of drawers byIgnazio and Luigi Ravelli (Italy - Vercelli 1756-1836 / 1776-1858)

This elegant inlaid wooden commode, representative of the Italian neoclassical style, is the result of the joint work of two famous Italian cabinet makers: Ignazio Ravelli (1756-1836) and his son Luigi (1776-1858) active in Vercelli (Piedmont) between the second half of the eighteenth century and the beginning of the following century.Cabinet-making at the time was strongly influenced by the French style of Louis XVI and by the recovery of those values of beauty, simplicity and order typical of classical antiquity.In this climate is placed the work of Ignazio Ravelli, who reworks the work of Maggiolini preferring scenes with imaginative architectural views, whims of ruins, inspired by the engravings of Giambattista Piranesi, Ferdinando Galli Bibbiena and Vincenzo Mazzi.
Luigi Ravelli was born in 1756 in Vercelli and already in 1789 he worked for the Savoy Court, obtaining from 1791 the Royal pension and the consent to exhibit the Royal Coat of Arms in his workshop.He soon reached a high fame and skill and his works were exhibited in the most popular salons in Vienna, Paris and Madrid.
The unmistakable chiaroscuro style of Ravelli is also evident in this half-moon chest of drawers, made with the interior in walnut, paved in walnut and finely inlaid in boxwood, green wood and bois de rose on the pilasters on which the legs are inserted.The inlays are also expertly pyrographed in order to give greater three-dimensionality and precision to the drawings.
The compositional scheme used includes a front small drawer under the floor and then two large drawers with handles and mouthpieces of chiselled and gilded bronze locks.Laterally the cabinet has two doors that conceal compartments divided with shelves.The inlays play with the chromatic effect of the woods, drawing geometric frames of classical taste.The side doors feature inlaid architectural buildings reminiscent of castles and fortresses, characteristic of the work of Ravelli.Unusual in its inlays is the central element between the two drawers: inside a rhomboidal space you can see the head of an African woman placed in profile and the head covered by a turban in fabric.The eye and the earring are in mother-of-pearl.
The small and delightful dresser rests on four truncated legs of inverted cone that give additional lightness and elegance to the whole.
This is a piece of furniture that testifies to a high quality cabinet-making widespread in Piedmont in the neoclassical era adding to the corpus of works assigned to Ravelli to further confirm their well-known ability in the production of fine, refined and elegant artifacts.
Price : 18500 €
Artist : Ignazio Et Luigi Ravelli (italie, Vercelli 1756-1836 / 1776-1858)
Period:18th century
Style:Louis 16th, Directory
Condition : Bon état

Material : Bois
Width : 124
Height : 92,5
Depth : 55

Reference : 629919
Contact Dealer
wait...
Go to the dealer's gallery
Print

"Brozzetti Antichità" see more objects from this dealer

"Dressers, Louis 16th, Directory"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
Brozzetti Antichità
18th Century, Italian Neoclassical Half-moon Chest Of Drawers By Ignazio And Luigi Ravelli
0039 348 493 5001


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Commode Demilune Néoclassique, Bois Marqueté, Ignazio Et Luigi Ravelli, Piémont XVIIIe Siècle flag

Commode Demilune Néoclassique, Bois  Marqueté, Ignazio Et Luigi Ravelli, Piémont XVIIIe Siècle
Agrandir les 12 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Commode Demilune Néoclassique, Bois Marqueté, Ignazio Et Luigi Ravelli, Piémont XVIIIe Siècle"
Commode demi-lune néoclassique en en bois de noyer marqueté
Ignazio et Luigi Ravelli (Italie Vercelli 1756-1836 / 1776-1858)

Piémont fin XVIIIe siècle

Cette élégante commode en bois marqueté, représentative du style néo-classique italien, est le fruit du travail conjoint de deux célèbres ébénistes Italien piémontais Ignazio Ravelli (1756-1836) et son fils Luigi (1776-1858)actifs à Vercelli entre la seconde moitié du XVIIIe siècle et le début du siècle suivant.L’ébénisterie de l’époque est fortement influencée par le style français de Louis XVI et par la récupération de ces valeurs de beauté, simplicité et ordre typiques de l’antiquité classique.C’est dans ce climat que se situe le travail d’Ignazio Ravelli, qui réélabore l’œuvre de Maggiolini en privilégiant des scènes avec des vues architecturales fantaisistes, des caprices de ruines, en s’inspirant des gravures de Giambattista Piranesi, Ferdinando Galli di Bibbiena et Vincenzo Mazzi.
Luigi Ravelli naît en 1756 à Vercelli et travaille déjà en 1789 pour la Corte Sabauda, obtenant à partir de 1791 la pension Regia et le consentement pour exposer le Blason Royal à l’intérieur de son atelier.Il obtient rapidement une grande renommée et un grand talent et ses œuvres sont exposées dans les salons les plus en vogue de Vienne, Paris et Madrid.
Le style clair-obscur incomparable de Ravelli est évident aussi dans cette commode en croissant, réalisée avec les intérieurs en noyer, dallé en noyer et finement marqueté en buis, bois vert et bois de rose sur les pilastres sur lesquels s’insèrent les jambes.Les marqueteries sont en outre savamment pyrographiées afin de conférer plus de tridimensionnalité et de précision aux dessins.
Le schéma de composition employé prévoit frontalement un petit tiroir sous plan et puis deux grands tiroirs avec poignées et bouches des serrures en bronze ciselé et doré.Latéralement le meuble a deux portes qui cachent des compartiments divisés avec des étagères.Les marqueteries jouent avec l’effet chromatique des bois, en dessinant des cadres géométriques de goût classique.Les portes latérales présentent des bâtiments architecturaux marquetés qui rappellent des châteaux et des forteresses, caractéristiques du travail de Ravelli.Insolite dans ses tarses est l’élément central entre les deux tiroirs: à l’intérieur d’un espace rhomboïdal on observe la tête d’une femme africaine placée de profil et la tête couverte d’un turban en tissu.L’œil et la boucle d’oreille sont en nacre.
La petite et délicieuse commode repose sur quatre pieds à tronc de cône renversé qui confèrent une légèreté et une élégance supplémentaires à l’ensemble.
C’est un meuble qui témoigne d’une ébénisterie de grande qualité répandue dans le Piémont à l’époque néoclassique en ajoutant au corpus des œuvres assignées aux Ravelli pour ultérieure confirmation de leur connue capacité dans la production d’objets précieux, raffinés et élégants.
Prix : 18500 €
Artiste : Ignazio Et Luigi Ravelli (italie, Vercelli 1756-1836 / 1776-1858)
Epoque : 18ème siècle
Style : Louis XVI - Directoire
Etat : Bon état

Matière : Bois
Largeur : 124
Hauteur : 92,5
Profondeur : 55

Référence (ID) : 629919
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"Brozzetti Antichità" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Commodes, Louis XVI - Directoire"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
Brozzetti Antichità
Commode Demilune Néoclassique, Bois Marqueté, Ignazio Et Luigi Ravelli, Piémont XVIIIe Siècle
0039 348 493 5001


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form