This object was sold

Léopold Bernhard Bernstamm (1859-1939). Bust Of French Actor​​​​​​​ Benoît Constant Coquelin.

Léopold Bernhard Bernstamm (1859-1939). Bust Of French Actor​​​​​​​ Benoît Constant Coquelin.
pictures.

Object description :

"Léopold Bernhard Bernstamm (1859-1939). Bust Of French Actor​​​​​​​ Benoît Constant Coquelin."
Bust portrait of the theater actor Benoît Constant Coquelin, known as elder Coquelin. Ocher-glazed sandstone shaded with green. Signed Manufacture Emile Muller. Presence of different stamps and edition numbers. Around 1880. Height: 11 inches.

Benoît Constant Coquelin was born in Boulogne-sur-Mer on January 23, 1841. He entered the Comédie Française in 1860 after receiving the first prize in comedy from the Paris Conservatory. Having become a member of the Théatre Français, he created more than 40 roles during his 25 years spent in the French institution. In 1897 he created the role of Cyrano de Bergerac at the Porte-Saint-Martin theater. He then became one of the most popular actors of his time. He died on January 27, 1909 from a heart attack at the age of 68.

Léopold Bernhard Bernstamm is a German-born sculptor born in Riga on April 20, 1859. He studied at the Imperial Academy of Fine Arts in Saint Petersburg. From the early 1880s he became famous for his busts of personalities from the world of the arts and literature. He moved to Paris in 1885 where he collaborated with sculptor Antonin Mercié. His ability to capture the phisionomy in clay, opened the doors to the Musée Grévin where he became sculptor in chef. He died on January 22, 1939 in Paris.

View more from this dealer

View more - sculpture terracotta

Contact Dealer
Subscribe to newsletter

Palladium Collection
Sculptures - Busts & Statuettes

Léopold Bernhard Bernstamm (1859-1939). Bust Of French Actor​​​​​​​ Benoît Constant Coquelin.
+33 (0)6 86 40 50 11


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

objet vendu

Léopold Bernhard Bernstamm (1859-1939). Buste de l'acteur de la Comédie Française Coquelin aîné.

Léopold Bernhard Bernstamm (1859-1939). Buste de l'acteur de la Comédie Française Coquelin aîné.
photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Léopold Bernhard Bernstamm (1859-1939). Buste de l'acteur de la Comédie Française Coquelin aîné."
Portrait en buste de l'acteur de théâtre Benoît Constant Coquelin, dit Coquelin aîné. Grès émaillé ocre nuancé de vert. Signé Manufacture Emile Muller. Présence de différents cachets et numéros d'édition. Vers 1880. Hauteur : 28 cm.
Benoît Constant Coquelin nait à Boulogne-sur-Mer le 23 janvier 1841. Il entre à la Comédie Française en 1860 après avoir reçu le premier prix de comédie du Conservatoire de Paris. Devenu sociétaire il crée plus de 40 rôles pendant les 25 années passées au Français. En 1897, après avoir quitté l'institution, il crée le rôle de Cyrano de Bergerac au théâtre de la Porte-Saint-Martin, lui ouvrant les portes de la postérité. Il devient alors l'un des comédiens les plus populaire de son temps. Il meurt le 27 janvier 1909 d'une crise cardiaque à l'age de 68 ans.

Léopold Bernhard Bernstamm est un sculpteur d'origine allemande né à Riga (Lettonie) le 20 avril 1859. Il fait ses études à Académie impériale des beaux-arts de Saint-Pétersbourg. Dès le débuts des années 1880 il devient célèbre pour ses bustes de personnalités du monde des arts et de la littérature. Il s'installe à Paris dès 1885 ou il collabore avec le sculpteur Antonin Mercié. Sa capacité à capturer les physionomies lui ouvre les portes du Musée Grévin ou il devient sculpteur en chef. Il meurt le 22 janvier 1939 à Paris.

Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

Antiquités - sculptures terre cuite

CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
Recevez notre newsletter

Palladium Collection
Sculptures - Bustes & Statuettes

Léopold Bernhard Bernstamm (1859-1939). Buste de l'acteur de la Comédie Française Coquelin aîné.
+33 (0)6 86 40 50 11


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form