This object was sold

Wooded Landscape With The Myth Of Callisto, Gaspard Dughet (rome 1615-1675) Attributable

Wooded Landscape With The Myth Of Callisto, Gaspard Dughet (rome 1615-1675) Attributable
pictures.

Object description :

"Wooded Landscape With The Myth Of Callisto, Gaspard Dughet (rome 1615-1675) Attributable"
Wooded landscape of the Roman countryside with the myth of Jupiter, Callisto and Diana
Gaspard Dughet, called Gaspard Poussin (Rome 1615 - 1675)
attributable to

oil painting on canvas
second half of the 17th century

(cm.) 114 x 138
with frame 131 x 156

Additional details of the work:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/paesaggio-boschivo-con-mito-callisto-dughet

The painting clearly presents elements related to the 17th century Roman culture and, in particular, to the works of Gaspard Dughet, an author who was able to achieve surprising results in describing the Lazio countryside with a unique grace and sensitivity.

Brother-in-law of Nicolas Poussin, of whom he was a pupil, Dughet is to be considered the most important landscape painter of the Roman Baroque, highly sought after and celebrated by the aristocracy, a reference model for the artists of the following generation, such as Crescenzo Onofri, Jan Frans van Bloemen, Andrea Locatelli. His independent activity began in the fourth decade, when the artist, following Claude Lorrain and Nicolas Poussin, sought his inspiration by exploring the Roman countryside (he lived for a long time between Tivoli and Grottaferrata), studying the most suggestive views, the effects of light and the lush vegetation.

The painting in question, of great scenic impact, is a fascinating example of his art: a real but idealized view of the Roman countryside, interpreted with Arcadian sensitivity, where the gaze can penetrate deeply following a rigorous perspective sequence and the cadence of the scenes tree.

The landscape also acts as a stage for the Myth of Callisto (Ovid's Metamorphosis), with the episode in which Callisto, one of the nymphs most devoted to Diana, while resting alone in the woods is seen by Jupiter, who was struck by the beauty . He therefore decided to seduce her, taking on the appearance of the Goddess Diana, the only one to whom the nymph would have granted herself. From the cloud to their right, to clarify its true identity, the eagle appears, a bird sacred to Jupiter.

The tree-like spots made with a free and fast brush stroke, the warm and burnished colors, the atmospheric rendering of the rising clouds, all in a well balanced composition of his pastoral arcadic landscapes, constitute the most significant elements of his painting. , all well reproduced also in our canvas.

Some of his works are exhibited at the London National Gallery (link: https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/artists/gaspard-dughet) and at the Mudeo del Prado (link: https: //www.museodelprado.es/aprende / encyclopedia / voz / Dughet-gaspard-Pussino / b142fd98-8d95-4a93-876b ...)

The painting is in excellent condition, accompanied by a pleasant golden frame.

The work, like all our objects, is sold accompanied by a certificate of photographic authenticity in accordance with the law.

For any information, do not hesitate to contact us.

View more from this dealer

View more - painting landscape

Contact Dealer
Subscribe to newsletter

Antichità Castelbarco
Old paintings, furniture and works of art

Wooded Landscape With The Myth Of Callisto, Gaspard Dughet (rome 1615-1675) Attributable
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

objet vendu

Paysage Boisé Avec Le Mythe De Callisto, Gaspard Dughet (Rome 1615-1675) Attribuable

Paysage Boisé Avec Le Mythe De Callisto, Gaspard Dughet (Rome 1615-1675) Attribuable
photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Paysage Boisé Avec Le Mythe De Callisto, Gaspard Dughet (Rome 1615-1675) Attribuable"
Paysage boisé de la campagne romaine avec le mythe de Jupiter, Callisto et Diana
Gaspard Dughet, dit Gaspard Poussin (Rome 1615-1675)
attribuable à


peinture à l'huile sur toile
seconde moitié du 17e siècle

(cm.) 114 x 138
avec cadre 131 x 156

Détails supplémentaires du travail:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/paesaggio-boschivo-con-mito-callisto-dughet

La peinture présente clairement des éléments liés à la culture romaine du XVIIe siècle et, en particulier, aux œuvres de Gaspard Dughet, un auteur qui a pu obtenir des résultats surprenants en décrivant la campagne du Latium avec une grâce et une sensibilité uniques.

Beau-frère de Nicolas Poussin, dont il était l'élève, Dughet doit être considéré comme le plus grand peintre paysagiste du baroque romain, très recherché et célébré par l'aristocratie, un modèle de référence pour les artistes de la génération suivante, tels que Crescenzo Onofri, Jan Frans van Bloemen, Andrea Locatelli. Son activité indépendante a commencé au cours de la quatrième décennie, lorsque l'artiste, à la suite de Claude Lorrain et Nicolas Poussin, a cherché son inspiration en explorant la campagne romaine (il a longtemps vécu entre Tivoli et Grottaferrata), en étudiant les vues les plus suggestives, les effets de lumière et de végétation luxuriante.

La peinture en question, d'un grand impact scénique, est un exemple fascinant de son art: une vue réelle mais idéalisée de la campagne romaine, interprétée avec une sensibilité arcadienne, où le regard peut pénétrer profondément en suivant une séquence de perspective rigoureuse et la cadence des scènes arbre.

Le paysage sert également de scène au Mythe de Callisto (Métamorphose d'Ovide), avec l'épisode dans lequel Callisto, l'une des nymphes les plus dévouées à Diane, tout en se reposant seule dans les bois est vue par Jupiter, qui a été frappé par la beauté . Il décida donc de la séduire, prenant l'apparence de la déesse Diane, la seule à laquelle la nymphe se serait accordée. Du nuage à leur droite, pour clarifier sa véritable identité, l'aigle apparaît, un oiseau sacré pour Jupiter.

Les taches ressemblant à des arbres réalisées avec un coup de pinceau libre et rapide, les couleurs chaudes et brunies, le rendu atmosphérique des tas de nuages ​​qui montent, le tout dans une composition bien équilibrée de ses paysages pastoraux arcadiens, sont les éléments les plus importants de sa peinture. , tous bien reproduits également dans notre toile.

Certaines de ses œuvres sont exposées à la London National Gallery (lien: https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/artists/gaspard-dughet) et au Mudeo del Prado (lien: https: //www.museodelprado.es/aprende / encyclopédie / voz / Dughet-gaspard-Pussino / b142fd98-8d95-4a93-876b ...)

Le tableau est en excellent état, accompagné d'un agréable cadre doré.

L'œuvre, comme tous nos objets, est vendue avec un certificat d'authenticité photographique conformément à la loi.

Pour toute information, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

Antiquités - Tableaux paysages

CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
Recevez notre newsletter

Antichità Castelbarco
Tableaux anciens, meubles et objets d'art

Paysage Boisé Avec Le Mythe De Callisto, Gaspard Dughet (Rome 1615-1675) Attribuable
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form