Orpheus Charming Animals, Flemish School XVIth Century (workshop Of Frans Pourbus The Elder) flag

Orpheus Charming Animals, Flemish School XVIth Century (workshop Of Frans Pourbus The Elder)
Click to enlarge the 12 pictures.

Object description :

"Orpheus Charming Animals, Flemish School XVIth Century (workshop Of Frans Pourbus The Elder)"
Painting depicting the mythological scene in which "Orpheus enchants animals to the sound of his violin"
Flemish school of ​​the 16th century
Workshop of Frans POURBUS the Elder (Bruges, 1545/1546 - Anvers, 1581)
oil on panel, 77 x 100 cm, framed 90 x 113
All the photographic details (link):https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/-orfeo-incanta-gli-animali-con-la-musica

The painting in question, which draws literary foundation from Ovid's Metamorphoses (book XI, vv. 1-2), constitutes one of the rarest and most appreciated mythological representations of the legend of Orpheus who, with the enchanting power of his violin, placates animals that they listen to him, enraptured by his mastery.

The classic theme of the mythical Orpheus capable of enchanting fairs with his music was widely spread in the Flemish context, offering the starting point for the representation of paradisiacal landscapes populated by the most diverse species of animals.

One of the frequent interpreters of this subject was Jan Bruegel the Elder, from whom our work seems to draw on numerous elements. Among the artists who must have taken inspiration from the great master, we find the Flemish Frans Pourbus the Elder (Bruges, 1545 - Antwerp, 1581) to whom we feel we can approach his work.
Together with his son, Frans Pourbus the Younger (Antwerp 1569 - Paris 1622), he started a fruitful shop specializing in high quality portraiture, a genre that made them famous already in the 16th century in Antwerp.

His production of works with a religious or mythological subject, such as the one proposed, although less known, is very pleasant. It can easily be compared to two Pourbus tables with the same subject, one in the Pitchal collection, Paris (https://rkd.nl/nl/explore/images/record?filters%5Bkunstenaar%5D=Pourbus%2C+Frans+% 28I% 29 & query = & start = 15), and the other kept at Palazzo Pitti in Florence.

During the Renaissance there are many representations of Orpheus who, transfixed by the pain of the loss of his beloved Eurydice, transforms his suffering into celestial music, capable of enchanting animals and gathering around him, in a peaceful coexistence, predators and preys.

The Orphic allegories represent the power of harmony to elevate creation, from its condition of imperfection, to make it strive for perfection in the universe of the celestial spheres. Orpheus' music is a symbol of man's ability to strive for improvement, and the possibility of creating the cosmic order from earthly imperfection.

Needless to say, it is a subject of great charm, which would lend itself to a thematic study.

The table, which is in excellent condition.
Price : 11800 €
Artist : Atelier De Frans Pourbus L'ancien (bruges, 1545/1546 - Anvers, 1581)
Period:16th century
Style:Renaissance, Louis 13th
Condition : Très bon état

Material : Huile sur panneau
Width : encadré 113 cm.
Height : encadré 90 cm.

Reference : 610850
Contact Dealer
wait...
Go to the dealer's gallery
Print

"Antichità Castelbarco" see more objects from this dealer

"Painting Of Other Style, Renaissance, Louis 13th"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
Antichità Castelbarco
Old paintings, furniture and works of art
Orpheus Charming Animals, Flemish School XVIth Century (workshop Of Frans Pourbus The Elder)
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Orphée Charmant Les Animaux, Ecole Flamande XVIe Siècle (atelier De Frans Pourbus l'Ancien) flag

Orphée Charmant Les Animaux, Ecole Flamande XVIe Siècle (atelier De Frans Pourbus l'Ancien)
Agrandir les 12 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Orphée Charmant Les Animaux, Ecole Flamande XVIe Siècle (atelier De Frans Pourbus l'Ancien)"
Tableau représentant la scène mythologique dans laquelle "Orphée enchante les animaux au son de son violon"
Ecole flamande du XVIe siècle
Atelier de Frans POURBUS l'Ancien (Bruges, 1545/1546 - Anvers, 1581)
huile sur panneau, 77 x 100 cm, encadrée 90 x 113 cm.
Tous les détails photographiques (lien):https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/-orfeo-incanta-gli-animali-con-la-musica

La peinture en question, qui tire les bases littéraires des Métamorphoses d'Ovide (livre XI, v. 1-2), constitue l'une des représentations mythologiques les plus rares et les plus appréciées de la légende d'Orphée qui, avec la puissance enchanteresse de son violon, apaise les animaux qui ils l'écoutent, ravis de sa maîtrise.

Le thème classique du mythique Orphée capable d'enchanter les foires avec sa musique s'est largement répandu dans le contexte flamand, offrant le point de départ pour la représentation de paysages paradisiaques peuplés des espèces animales les plus diverses.

Un des interprètes fréquents de ce sujet était Jan Bruegel l'Ancien, dont notre travail semble s'inspirer de nombreux éléments. Parmi les artistes qui ont dû s'inspirer du grand maître, on retrouve le Flamand Frans Pourbus l'Ancien (Bruges, 1545 - Anvers, 1581) auquel nous sentons que nous approchons de son œuvre.
Avec son fils, Frans Pourbus le Jeune (Anvers 1569 - Paris 1622), il a ouvert une boutique fructueuse spécialisée dans le portrait de haute qualité, un genre qui les a déjà rendus célèbres au 16e siècle à Anvers.

Sa production d'œuvres à thème religieux ou mythologique, tel que celui proposé, bien que moins connu, est très agréable. Il peut facilement être comparé à deux tables Pourbus avec le même sujet, une dans la collection Pitchal, Paris (https://rkd.nl/nl/explore/images/record?filters%5Bkunstenaar%5D=Pourbus%2C+Frans+% 28I% 29 & query = & start = 15), et l'autre conservé au Palazzo Pitti à Florence.

Au cours de la Renaissance, il existe de nombreuses représentations d'Orphée qui, transpercé par la douleur de la perte de son bien-aimé Eurydice, transforme sa souffrance en musique céleste, capable d'enchanter les animaux et de se rassembler autour de lui, dans une coexistence pacifique, prédateurs et proies.

Les allégories orphiques représentent le pouvoir de l'harmonie pour élever la création, de sa condition d'imperfection, pour la faire viser la perfection dans l'univers des sphères célestes. La musique d'Orphée est un symbole de la capacité de l'homme à rechercher l'amélioration et de la possibilité de créer l'ordre cosmique à partir de l'imperfection terrestre.

Il va sans dire que c'est un sujet de grand charme qui se prêterait à une étude thématique.

La table, qui est en excellent état.
Prix : 11800 €
Artiste : Atelier De Frans Pourbus L'ancien (bruges, 1545/1546 - Anvers, 1581)
Epoque : 16ème siècle
Style : Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Huile sur panneau
Largeur : encadré 113 cm.
Hauteur : encadré 90 cm.

Référence (ID) : 610850
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"Antichità Castelbarco" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Tableaux Autre Genre, Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
Antichità Castelbarco
Tableaux anciens, meubles et objets d'art
Orphée Charmant Les Animaux, Ecole Flamande XVIe Siècle (atelier De Frans Pourbus l'Ancien)
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form