Camille Niogret (1910-2009) - Noctural flag

Camille Niogret (1910-2009) - Noctural
Click to enlarge the 4 pictures.

Object description :

"Camille Niogret (1910-2009) - Noctural"
Camille Niogret (1910-2009)
Noctural
Oil on panel (isorel)
Signed lower right
Dimensions of the work : 54 x 65 cm
Original frame dimensions: 67 x 78 cm
Small traces of wear on the original frame

Camille Niogret studied at the École des Beaux-Arts in Lyon from 1926, then continued her training at the École supérieure de peinture in Brussels. Back in Lyon, he began his career as a draughtsman (dessinandier) of fabrics for canuts.

His work, too little recognized, leads him to join the Témoignage group (1936-1943) run by the Lyon gallery owner Marcel Michaud. There he rubbed shoulders with sculptors Étienne Martin and François Stahly, painters Jean le Moal, Jean Manessier, Jean Bertholle and René Burlet. This group of artists is on a spiritual quest, they seek to give a deep meaning to their plastic productions. The contributions of the second half of the 19th century and the first half of the 20th century, impressionist, cubist and surrealist, led them to move away from easel painting. The search for a certain verticality that lifts the human gaze and soul is at the centre of their thinking. It is in this sense that they invest the architecture, the wall, by working on the stained glass, the fresco, the tapestry.

Camille Niogret will go even further in this approach by founding the Groupe d'Art monumental which aims to bring a form of rebirth of art forms within architecture. One of the productions of this movement is the stained-glass window of the Guichard metro station in Lyon that he created in collaboration with René Burlet.

The work we present here illustrates Camille Niogret's desire to rehabilitate the spiritual values of art. The composition is marked by a verticality counterbalanced by a dark palette, illuminated by a few cleverly arranged points of light. The effect produced, rather mysterious, exudes a certain serenity.


Main exhibition
Lyon Sacré, Lyon, Chapelle de la basilique Notre-Dame de Fourvière, Musée du diocèse de Lyon, 1991

Bibliography
Alain Vollerin, Lyon Sacré, Catalogue d’exposition, Lyon, Chapelle de la basilique Notre-Dame de Fourvière, Musée du diocèse de Lyon, 1991
René Deroudille, Camille Niogret : tradition et progrès, Lyon Pharmaceutique, mars 1981, n° 32, p. 83
Price : 800 €
Artist : Camille Niogret (1910-2009)
Period:20th Century
Style:Modern Art
Condition : Bon état - petites traces d'usure au cadre en bois

Material : Huile sur panneau (isorel)

Reference : 594144
Contact Dealer
wait...
Go to the dealer's gallery
Print

"AB/AC marchand d'art" see more objects from this dealer

"Abstract Paintings, Modern Art"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
AB/AC marchand d'art
Drawings - Paintings - Sculptures - Photographs
Camille Niogret (1910-2009) - Noctural
+33 7 89 43 79 03
+33 6 98 15 37 90


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Camille Niogret (1910-2009) - Nocturne flag

Camille Niogret (1910-2009) - Nocturne
Agrandir les 4 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Camille Niogret (1910-2009) - Nocturne"

Camille Niogret (1910-2009)
Nocturne

Huile sur isorel
Signé en bas à droite
Dimensions de l’oeuvre : 54 x 65 cm
Dimensions du cadre d’origine : 67 x 78 cm
Petites traces d’usure au cadre d’origine


Camille Niogret étudie à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Lyon dès 1926 puis poursuit sa formation à l’École supérieure de peinture de Bruxelles. De retour à Lyon, il début sa carrière comme dessinateur (dessinandier) de tissus pour les canuts.

Son travail, trop peu reconnu, le mène à intégrer le groupe Témoignage (1936-1943) animé par le galeriste lyonnais Marcel Michaud. Il y côtoie notamment les sculpteurs Étienne Martin et François Stahly, les peintres Jean le Moal, Jean Manessier, Jean Bertholle et René Burlet. Ce groupe d’artistes mène une quête spirituelle, ils cherchent à donner un sens profond à leurs productions plastiques. Les apports de la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle et de la première moitié du XXe siècle, impressionnistes, cubistes et surréalistes, les conduisent à s’écarter de la peinture de chevalet. La recherche d’une certaine verticalité qui élève le regard et l’âme humaine est au centre de leur réflexion. C’est en ce sens qu’ils investissent l’architecture, le mur, en travaillant sur le vitrail, la fresque, la tapisserie.

Camille Niogret ira plus loin encore dans cette démarche en fondant le Groupe d’Art monumental qui vise à apporter une forme de renaissance des formes de l’art au sein de l’architecture. L’une des productions de ce mouvement est le vitrail de la station de métro Guichard à Lyon qu’il réalise en collaboration avec René Burlet.

L’oeuvre que nous présentons ici illustre la volonté de Camille Niogret de réhabiliter les valeurs spirituelles de l’art. La composition est marquée par une verticalité contrebalancée par une palette sombre, illuminée par quelques points de lumière savamment disposés. De l’effet produit, assez mystérieux, se dégage une certaine sérénité.


Espace public
Lyon, vitrail de la station de métro Guichard

Principale exposition
Lyon Sacré, Lyon, Chapelle de la basilique Notre-Dame de Fourvière, Musée du diocèse de Lyon, 1991

Bibliographie choisie
Alain Vollerin, Lyon Sacré, Catalogue d’exposition, Lyon, Chapelle de la basilique Notre-Dame de Fourvière, Musée du diocèse de Lyon, 1991
René Deroudille, Camille Niogret : tradition et progrès, Lyon Pharmaceutique, mars 1981, n° 32, p. 83
Prix : 800 €
Artiste : Camille Niogret (1910-2009)
Epoque : 20ème siècle
Style : Art moderne
Etat : Bon état - petites traces d'usure au cadre en bois

Matière : Huile sur panneau (isorel)

Référence (ID) : 594144
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"AB/AC marchand d'art" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Tableaux Peintures Abstraites, Art moderne"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
AB/AC marchand d'art
Dessin - Peinture - Sculpture - Photographie
Camille Niogret (1910-2009) - Nocturne
+33 7 89 43 79 03
+33 6 98 15 37 90


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form