Fantastic View On A Mediterranean Port, Horace Grevenbroeck (rome 1670 - Paris 1743) flag

Fantastic View On A Mediterranean Port, Horace Grevenbroeck (rome 1670 - Paris 1743)
Click to enlarge the 11 pictures.

Object description :

"Fantastic View On A Mediterranean Port, Horace Grevenbroeck (rome 1670 - Paris 1743)"
Painter active in Naples between the 17th and 18th centuries
School of Horace Grevenbroeck (Rome 1670 - Paris 1743)

Fantastic view of a Mediterranean port
oil on canvas, (cm): 64 x 92
with frame 96 x 124

Link:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/veduta-fantastica-di-un-porto-mediterraneo
The beautiful painting proposed, depicting a fantasy coastal view, shows a fascinating port city, dotted with numerous buildings, stylistically reminiscent of Venetian Gothic, from which stand tall towers. On the right, close to the mooring of the boats, the author has inserted the colonnade of a classical temple. Overall, the work, which enunciates stylistic features of Flemish matrix tempered by elements drawn from Italian landscape painting, therefore suggests its authorship to a North European artist active in Italy between the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.

The canvas, which reports an old attribution to Adriaen van der Kabel, in our opinion would instead have very strong stylistic-compositional affinities with the Dutch landscape painter Orazio Grevenbroeck, a little-known figure and still largely to be investigated, like almost all the members of this family divided between Holland, France and Italy.
Originating from a family of artists of Dutch origin, already active since the mid-seventeenth century in Italy, Horace was born in Rome, where he began his pictorial training. He moved to Naples soon, inaugurating, with Gaspar Butler and Tommaso Ruiz, the Neapolitan landscape painting: his works present a brightly colored rococo flavor and a light touch, which recognizes the Nordic ancestry of the formation.
Although it may have been inspired by the coast of Naples, the composition is undoubtedly the result of a fantasy work by the author, who delighted in freely associating divergent and uneven architectural elements in the same space, in order to create a landscape ideal and courtly, of great charm.

Grevenbroeck was a great interpreter of these idealized scenarios: widely known for his coastal landscapes, in which classical architecture or ancient ruins dominate, in contrast with the small human figures that emphasize the majesty of the surrounding scenography.

The painting is in fairly good condition, and is completed by a beautiful gilded wooden frame.

The painting, like all our objects, is sold with a certificate of authenticity.

We take care of and organize the transport of the purchased works, both for Italy and abroad, through professional and insured carriers.
Price : 6500 €
Artist : Horace Grevenbroeck (rome 1670 - Paris 1743)
Period:18th century
Style:Louis 15th, Transition
Condition : Très bon état

Material : Huile sur toile
Width : encadré 124 cm.
Height : encadré 96 cm.

Reference : 594085
Contact Dealer
wait...
Go to the dealer's gallery
Print

"Antichità Castelbarco" see more objects from this dealer

"Marine Painting, Louis 15th, Transition"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
Antichità Castelbarco
Old paintings, furniture and works of art
Fantastic View On A Mediterranean Port, Horace Grevenbroeck (rome 1670 - Paris 1743)
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Vue Fantastique Sur Un Port Méditerranéen, Horace Grevenbroeck (rome 1670 - Paris 1743) flag

Vue Fantastique Sur Un Port Méditerranéen, Horace Grevenbroeck (rome 1670 - Paris 1743)
Agrandir les 11 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Vue Fantastique Sur Un Port Méditerranéen, Horace Grevenbroeck (rome 1670 - Paris 1743) "
Peintre actif à Naples entre les 17e et 18e siècles
Ecole de
Horace Grevenbroeck (Rome 1670 - Paris 1743)

Vue fantastique sur un port méditerranéen
huile sur toile, (cm): 64 x 92, avec cadre 96 x 124

Détails des travaux surhttps://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/veduta-fantastica-di-un-porto-mediterraneo
La belle peinture proposée, représentant une vue côtière fantastique, montre une ville portuaire fascinante, parsemée de nombreux bâtiments, rappelant le style gothique vénitien, d'où s'élèvent de hautes tours. A droite, près de l'amarrage des bateaux, l'auteur a inséré la colonnade d'un temple classique. Dans l'ensemble, l'œuvre, qui énonce des traits stylistiques de la matrice flamande tempérée par des éléments tirés de la peinture de paysage italienne, suggère donc sa paternité à un artiste nord-européen actif en Italie entre le XVIIe et le XVIIIe siècle.
La toile, qui rapporte une ancienne attribution à Adriaen van der Kabel, aurait à notre avis plutôt des affinités stylistiques-compositionnelles très fortes avec le peintre paysagiste néerlandais Orazio Grevenbroeck, personnage peu connu et encore largement à étudier, comme presque tous les membres de cette famille. divisé entre la Hollande, la France et l'Italie.
Issu d'une famille d'artistes d'origine hollandaise, déjà active depuis le milieu du XVIIe siècle en Italie, Horace est né à Rome, où il a commencé sa formation picturale. Il s'installe bientôt à Naples, inaugurant, avec Gaspar Butler et Tommaso Ruiz, la peinture de paysage napolitaine: ses œuvres présentent une saveur rococo aux couleurs vives et une touche légère, qui reconnaît l'ascendance nordique de la formation.
Bien qu'elle ait pu s'inspirer de la côte de Naples, la composition est sans aucun doute le résultat d'un travail fantastique de l'auteur, qui s'est réjoui d'associer librement des éléments architecturaux divergents et inégaux dans le même espace, afin de créer un paysage idéal et courtois, de grand charme.
Grevenbroeck était un grand interprète de ces scénarios idéalisés: largement connu pour ses paysages côtiers, dans lesquels l'architecture classique ou les ruines antiques dominent, en contraste avec les petites figures humaines qui soulignent la majesté de la scénographie environnante.

La peinture est en assez bon état, et est complétée par un beau cadre en bois doré.

Le tableau, comme tous nos objets, est vendu avec un certificat d'authenticité.

Nous prenons en charge et organisons le transport des œuvres achetées, aussi bien en Italie qu'à l'étranger, par le biais de transporteurs professionnels et assurés.
Prix : 7500 €
Artiste : Horace Grevenbroeck (rome 1670 - Paris 1743)
Epoque : 18ème siècle
Style : Louis XV - Transition
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Huile sur toile
Largeur : encadré 124 cm.
Hauteur : encadré 96 cm.
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"Antichità Castelbarco" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Tableaux Marine, Louis XV - Transition"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
Antichità Castelbarco
Tableaux anciens, meubles et objets d'art
Vue Fantastique Sur Un Port Méditerranéen, Horace Grevenbroeck (rome 1670 - Paris 1743)
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form