This object was sold

Flemish School From The End Of The 17th Century, The Judgment Of Solomon

Flemish School From The End Of The 17th Century, The Judgment Of Solomon
pictures.

Object description :

"Flemish School From The End Of The 17th Century, The Judgment Of Solomon"
Flemish school late 17th - early 18th century
Circle of Peter Paul Rubens (Siegen 1577 - Antwerp 1640)

Solomon's Judgment

Oil on canvas, 51 x 67 cm.
with frame 63 x 78 cm.
Full details:https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/il-giudizio-di-re-salomone

The painting depicts the episode of the Judgment of King Solomon, taken from the Book of Kings, in the Old Testament (I Kings, 3, 16-28).

The work derives from a print by Boetius Adams Bolswert (see details), which reproduces the "Judgment of Solomon" preserved in the Statens Museum for Kunst in Copenhagen (1), made largely by Rubens' workshop with some intervention by the master. According to historical sources, the prototype for the Copenhagen painting originating in Rubens, dated 1616 and now destroyed, was found in the court room of the Brussels City Hall, destroyed by bombing in the late 1600s.

The canvas is the work of a Flemish painter, active towards the end of the seventeenth century, who certainly approaches the manner of Rubens, but who detaches himself from the master for a greater impetuosity of the style, with thick impasto brush strokes, strong contrasts of light and shade and a rather intense coloring. This manner is very reminiscent of that of Flemish Jacob Jordaens, who began his career as Rubens' assistant.

The subject of the painting sees the great king Solomon, known as one of the wisest politicians who have ever existed, called into question by two prostitutes, to establish who among them held the reason: living in the same house and having given birth both in the same period, the two women claimed the maternity of the newborn alive, and accusing each other of having given birth to the other, already dead.
The wisdom and sense of justice of King Solomon led him to order, in order not to wrong either of the two women, that the living child should be divided in two, so that each of the women could have one half of it. This order provoked the reaction of one of his mothers, who refused the verdict begging that rather the son was given alive and whole to the other, saving his life. Thanks to this reaction, Solomon understood which of the two was the real mother.

(1) Inventory no. KMSsp185: See https://collection.smk.dk/#/en/detail/KMSsp185

Excellent state of conservation.

View more from this dealer

View more - religious paintings

Contact Dealer
Subscribe to newsletter

Antichità Castelbarco
Old paintings, furniture and works of art

Flemish School From The End Of The 17th Century, The Judgment Of Solomon
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Ecole Flamande De La Fin Du XVIIe Siècle, Le Jugement De Salomon flag

Ecole Flamande De La Fin Du XVIIe Siècle, Le Jugement De Salomon
Agrandir les 12 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Ecole Flamande De La Fin Du XVIIe Siècle, Le Jugement De Salomon"
Ecole flamande fin 17e - début 18e siècle
Cercle de Peter Paul Rubens (Siegen 1577 - Anvers 1640)

Jugement de Salomon

Huile sur toile, 51 x 67 cm.
avec cadre 63 x 78 cm.
Détails complets:lien

Le tableau représente l'épisode du Jugement du roi Salomon, tiré du Livre des Rois, dans l'Ancien Testament (I Rois, 3, 16-28).

L'œuvre découle d'une estampe de Boetius Adams Bolswert (voir détails), qui reproduit le "Jugement de Salomon" conservé au Statens Museum for Kunst de Copenhague (1), réalisée en grande partie par l'atelier de Rubens avec une intervention du maître. Selon des sources historiques, le prototype du tableau de Copenhague originaire de Rubens, daté de 1616 et aujourd'hui détruit, a été retrouvé dans la salle d'audience de l'hôtel de ville de Bruxelles, détruit par un bombardement à la fin des années 1600.

La toile est l'œuvre d'un peintre flamand, actif vers la fin du XVIIe siècle, qui se rapproche certes de la manière de Rubens, mais qui se détache du maître pour une plus grande impétuosité du style, avec d'épais coups de pinceau d'impasto, de forts contrastes de lumière et ombre et une coloration assez intense. Cette manière rappelle beaucoup celle du Flamand Jacob Jordaens, qui a commencé sa carrière comme assistant de Rubens.

Le sujet de la peinture voit le grand roi Salomon, connu comme l'un des politiciens les plus sages qui ait jamais existé, remis en question par deux prostituées, pour établir qui d'entre elles détenait la raison: vivre dans la même maison et avoir accouché toutes les deux à la même période, les deux femmes ont revendiqué la maternité du nouveau-né vivant, et s'accusant mutuellement d'avoir donné naissance à l'autre, déjà morte.
La sagesse et le sens de la justice du roi Salomon l'ont amené à ordonner, afin de ne pas faire de tort à aucune des deux femmes, que l'enfant vivant soit divisé en deux, afin que chacune des femmes puisse en avoir la moitié. Cet ordre a provoqué la réaction d'une de ses mères, qui a refusé le verdict en suppliant que le fils soit plutôt donné vivant et entier à l'autre, lui sauvant la vie. Grâce à cette réaction, Salomon a compris laquelle des deux était la vraie mère.

(1) Inventaire no. KMSsp185: voir https://collection.smk.dk/#/en/detail/KMSsp185

Excellent état de conservation.
Prix : 7800 €
Artiste : Cercle De Peter Paul Rubens (siegen 1577 - Anvers 1640)
Epoque : 17ème siècle
Style : Louis XV - Transition
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Huile sur toile
Largeur : encadré 78 cm.
Hauteur : encadré 63 cm.
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"Antichità Castelbarco" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Tableaux Religieux, Louis XV - Transition"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
Antichità Castelbarco
Tableaux anciens, meubles et objets d'art
Ecole Flamande De La Fin Du XVIIe Siècle, Le Jugement De Salomon
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form