This object was sold

Portrait Of A Girl As An Allegory Of Painting, Seventeenth-century Neapolitan School

Portrait Of A Girl As An Allegory Of Painting, Seventeenth-century Neapolitan School
pictures.

Object description :

"Portrait Of A Girl As An Allegory Of Painting, Seventeenth-century Neapolitan School"
Portrait of a girl with a palette and brushes, as an Allegory of Painting
Neapolitan school of the first half of the seventeenth century, circle of Bernardo Cavallino (Naples 1616 - 1656)
Oil on octagonal canvas, 75x 60 cm

Complete photographic details: https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/portrait-of-fanciulla-as-allegoria-della-pittura

This splendid oil painting on canvas, distinguished by a warm and lively color scheme, shows us a fascinating and intense female figure, a young woman emerging from the background shadow, identifiable as the allegory of the Art of Painting.

His gaze is lost, turned upwards, and the physiognomic features are enhanced by the light that softly highlights the delicate complexion, the soft pink of the cheeks, the red and fleshy lips, half-open to express a thought that we can only imagine, giving them, together with the yellow and blue drapery that surrounds the body, an air of suspended and seductive charm.

The young woman holds in her hands a bunch of brushes, a pencil blade and a palette, all symbols that allude to her role of personification of the noble pictorial art.

The painting, clearly attributable to the Neapolitan school of the first half of the seventeenth century, illustrates a pictorial sentiment that approaches the models of Andrea Vaccaro, and more specifically the works of Bernardo Cavallino (Naples 1616 - 1656), who was also a pupil of Vaccaro. Attention to the warm light, which invests the figure, and the accentuated sensuality of female beauty are elements that particularly characterize her youthful activity.

The intense gaze, but distinguished by a languid sweetness, that echoes the minds of the figures of the Virgins or Maddalene portrayed by Cavallino (http://catalogo.fondazionezeri.unibo.it/scheda/opera/55222/Cavallino%20Bernardo%2C% 20I Immacolata% 20Co ...), transmits to the observer an unusual emotion, which merges between the secular aspect of the allegory and the sacral.

Lively in the colors, the same ones that we see on the palette, the clothes of the figure reveal the debt of our artist towards Massimo Stanzione (also master of the Cavallino), but also (and precisely in the elegant position of the hands) of the models left in Naples by Simon Vouet and Artemisia Gentileschi: however relived with the discreet grace and the tender sensuality that were the distinctive feature of the Cavallino style and that made his painting so special and inimitable.

View more from this dealer

View more - painting of other style

Contact Dealer
Subscribe to newsletter

Antichità Castelbarco
Old paintings, furniture and works of art

Portrait Of A Girl As An Allegory Of Painting, Seventeenth-century Neapolitan School
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Portrait d'Une Jeune Fille Comme Allégorie De La Peinture, école Napolitaine Du XVIIe Siècle flag

Portrait d'Une Jeune Fille Comme Allégorie De La Peinture, école Napolitaine Du XVIIe Siècle
Agrandir les 12 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Portrait d'Une Jeune Fille Comme Allégorie De La Peinture, école Napolitaine Du XVIIe Siècle"
Portrait d'une jeune fille avec une palette et des pinceaux, comme une allégorie de la peinture
Ecole napolitaine de la première moitié du XVIIe siècle, cercle de Bernardo Cavallino (Naples 1616 - 1656)
Huile sur toile octogonale, 75 x 60 cm

Détails photographiques complets: https://www.antichitacastelbarco.it/it/prodotto/portrait-of-fanciulla-as-allegoria-della-pittura

Cette splendide peinture à l'huile sur toile, caractérisée par une palette de couleurs chaleureuse et vivante, nous montre une figure féminine fascinante et intense, une jeune femme émergeant de l'ombre du fond, identifiable comme l'allégorie de l'art de la peinture.

Son regard est perdu, tourné vers le haut, et les traits physionomiques sont rehaussés par la lumière qui met doucement en valeur le teint délicat, le rose tendre des joues, les lèvres rouges et charnues, entrouvertes pour exprimer une pensée que l'on ne peut qu'imaginer, leur donnant, avec la draperie jaune et bleue qui entoure le corps, un air de charme suspendu et séduisant.

La jeune femme tient dans ses mains un tas de pinceaux, une lame de crayon et une palette, autant de symboles qui font allusion à son rôle de personnification du noble art pictural.

La peinture, clairement attribuable à l'école napolitaine de la première moitié du XVIIe siècle, illustre un sentiment pictural qui se rapproche des modèles d'Andrea Vaccaro, et plus particulièrement des œuvres de Bernardo Cavallino (Naples 1616-1656), qui était également un élève de Vaccaro. L'attention à la lumière chaude qui investit la silhouette et la sensualité accentuée de la beauté féminine sont des éléments qui caractérisent particulièrement son activité juvénile.

Le regard intense, mais distingué par une douceur langoureuse, qui fait écho à l'esprit des figures des Vierges ou de Maddalene représentées par Cavallino (http://catalogo.fondazionezeri.unibo.it/scheda/opera/55222/Cavallino%20Bernardo%2C% 20I Immacolata% 20Co ...), transmet à l'observateur une émotion inhabituelle, qui se confond entre l'aspect séculier de l'allégorie et le sacré.

Vifs dans les couleurs, les mêmes que celles que nous voyons sur la palette, les vêtements de la figure révèlent la dette de notre artiste envers Massimo Stanzione (également maître du Cavallino), mais aussi (et précisément dans la position élégante des mains) des modèles laissé à Naples par Simon Vouet et Artemisia Gentileschi: cependant revécu avec la grâce discrète et la tendre sensualité qui caractérisaient le style Cavallino et qui rendaient sa peinture si spéciale et inimitable.
Prix : 4800 €
Artiste : Bernardo Cavallino (naples 1616 - 1656), Circle De
Epoque : 17ème siècle
Style : Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Huile sur toile
Largeur : 60 cm.
Hauteur : 75 cm.
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"Antichità Castelbarco" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Tableaux Autre Genre, Haute époque-Renaissance-Louis XIII"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
Antichità Castelbarco
Tableaux anciens, meubles et objets d'art
Portrait d'Une Jeune Fille Comme Allégorie De La Peinture, école Napolitaine Du XVIIe Siècle
+39 349 4296409
+39 333 2679466 (EN)


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form