Pair Of Satsuma Vases With Polychrome And Gold Enamel Decoration, Japan, Meiji Era flag

Pair Of Satsuma Vases With Polychrome And Gold Enamel Decoration, Japan, Meiji Era
Click to enlarge the 12 pictures.

Object description :

"Pair Of Satsuma Vases With Polychrome And Gold Enamel Decoration, Japan, Meiji Era"
Charming pair of gourd vases decorated with birds, flowers and a rotating landscape.
Fine earthenware, polychrome and gold enamel decoration.
Japan, Meiji era (1868-1912).
Drilled at the bottom.
H: 36 cm.

Satsuma earthenware appeared in the 16th century in Japan on the territory of Satsuma. This type of ceramic is characterized by a great diversity of forms of objects which evolves according to the eras and the ovens used. There are two types of Satsuma: Satsumas with a white background and those with a black background, more widely used for the tea ceremony or to store certain liquids, such as alcohol. The potters of Satsuma developed around 1800 a technique of polychrome enamels of orange-red color and quickly integrated gold highlights, which lead to the most famous production of Satsuma, the "Brocade of gold" technique, which has been be largely produced for export during the Meiji period (1868-1912).

The decorative repertoire of these pieces is both inspired by the Kano school of painting in the representation of plants, animals and the human figure, and by fairly abstract geometric patterns. The composition of the pieces is often very dense, leaving little free space and playing on the accumulation of polychrome enamels and golden highlights to bring a certain character of richness to the artwork.

Japanese pieces were exhibited for the first time in scale in the West during the Universal Exhibition in 1867. In the 1878, the success of Satsuma ceramics was evident as they were in very high demand. Satsuma ceramics are still produced today, respecting the tradition and quality that have made Satsuma one of the major references of Japanese ceramics.
Price:1200 €
Period:19th century
Style:Asian art
Condition : Bon état

Material : Faïence
Height : 36 cm
Contact Dealer
wait...
Go to the dealer's gallery
Print

"Honoré des Arts" see more objects from this dealer

"Decoration And Objects Of Faience, Asian art"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
Honoré des Arts
Tableaux et objets d'art
Pair Of Satsuma Vases With Polychrome And Gold Enamel Decoration, Japan, Meiji Era
0601303038


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Paire de vases Satsuma en faïence fine à décor émaillé polychrome et or, Japon, ère Meiji flag

Paire de vases Satsuma en faïence fine à décor émaillé polychrome et or, Japon, ère Meiji
Agrandir les 12 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Paire de vases Satsuma en faïence fine à décor émaillé polychrome et or, Japon, ère Meiji"
Charmante paire de vases gourdes à décor d'oiseaux, de fleurs et d'un paysage tournant.
Faïence fine,décor émaillé polychrome et or.
Japon, ère Meiji (1868-1912).
Percés au fond.
H: 36 cm.

Lafaïence de Satsumaapparaît au XVIème siècle au Japon sur le territoire de Satsuma. Ce type de céramique se caractérise par une grande diversité de formes d’objets qui évolue selon les époques et les fours utilisés. Il existe deux types de Satsuma: les Satsumas à fond blanc et ceux à fond noir, plus largement utilisés pour la cérémonie du thé ou pour conserver certains liquides, comme de l’alcool. Les potiers de Satsuma développent vers 1800 la technique des émaux polychromes de couleur rouge orangée et rapidement intègrent des rehauts d’or, ce qui donne lieu à la plus célèbre production de Satsuma dit «Brocart d’or» qui sera largement produite pour l’export durant la période Meiji (1868-1912).

Le répertoire décoratif de ces pièces est à la fois inspiré de l’école de peinture Kano dans la représentation des végétaux, animaux et de la figure humaine, tout en étant additionné à des motifs géométriques assez abstraits. La composition des pièces est souvent très chargée, laissant peu d’espace libre et jouant l’accumulation des émaux polychromes et des rehauts dorés pour apporter un certain caractère de richesse à la pièce.

Les pièces japonaises s’exposent pour la première fois avec envergure en Occident lors de l’Exposition Universelle en 1867 et le succès des céramiques de Satsuma ne fait plus aucun doute lors de l’édition de 1878 tant elles sont omniprésentes.Les céramiques de Satsuma sont encore produites de nos jours, dans le respect de la tradition et de la qualitéqui ont fait de Satsuma l’une des références majeures de la céramique japonaise.
Prix : 1200 €
Epoque : 19ème siècle
Style : Art d'Asie
Etat : Bon état

Matière : Faïence
Hauteur : 36 cm
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"Honoré des Arts" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Objets Décoratifs ,vases En Faïence Ancienne, Art d'Asie"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
Honoré des Arts
Tableaux et objets d'art
Paire de vases Satsuma en faïence fine à décor émaillé polychrome et or, Japon, ère Meiji
0601303038


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form