Ovoid Chinese Jars In The White And Blue Style With Dragons flag

Ovoid Chinese Jars In The White And Blue Style With Dragons
Click to enlarge the 10 pictures.

Object description :

"Ovoid Chinese Jars In The White And Blue Style With Dragons"
Ovoid faience jars in the white and blue style, with a spout and four handles.
Decoration of blue dragons with four claws.
These two Chinese jars were probably used for the preservation of oils.

A beneficial animal and an auspicious sign in China, the dragon can cross the sky and bring the fertilizing rain to the earth; it is therefore often associated with clouds or rivers. It is one of the four celestial animals of ancient China, with the phoenix, the qilin and the turtle. It is associated with the East, wood, spring and the colour green in the five Chinese elements. It is also the fifth sign of the Chinese zodiac.

The Song Dynasty (960-1279) is a landmark in the development of the iconography of the dragon: its body, before represented as that of a beast with a distinct tail, became serpetin and this evolution continued under the Yuan, Ming and Qingdynasties. Extremely rich and diverse, the iconography of the dragon has different characteristics under each dynasty and has declined in multiple variants and patterns, including regional ones. This is the case in these two jars coming from the south of China: the iconography of the Chinese dragon approaches the Vietnamese iconography with dragons possessing long combs in defined "waves".

In the 13th century a very strict rule was introduced: the dragon was chosen to represent the state and was extended to all the imperial furniture and the wardrobe. In the Ming and Qing, the four-clawed dragons are devolved to the princes (the five-clawed dragons are reserved for the emperor and those with three claws to the nobles and scholars).

c.25.5x20cm
Price:600 €
Period:19th century
Style:Asian art
Condition : Très bon état

Material : Faïence
Width : 20
Height : 25.5
Contact Dealer
wait...
Go to the dealer's gallery
Print

"Honoré des Arts" see more objects from this dealer

"Other Ceramics, Asian art"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
Honoré des Arts
Tableaux et objets d'art
Ovoid Chinese Jars In The White And Blue Style With Dragons
0601303038


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Jarres ovoïdes Chinoises blanc et bleu à motifs de Dragons flag

Jarres ovoïdes Chinoises blanc et bleu à motifs de Dragons
Agrandir les 10 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Jarres ovoïdes Chinoises blanc et bleu à motifs de Dragons"
Jarres ovoïdes en faïence dans le style blanc et bleu, comportant un bec verseur et quatre anses.
Décor de dragons bleus à quatre griffes.
Ces deux jarres chinoises servaient probablement pour la conservation d'huiles.

Animal bénéfique, icône du bien et signe de bon augure en Chine, le dragon peut traverser le ciel et faire venir sur terre la pluie fertilisante ; il est donc souvent associé aux nuages ou au cours d’eau. C’est l’un des quatre animaux célestes de la Chine ancienne, avec le phénix, leqilinet la tortue. Il est associé à l’Est, au bois, au printemps et au vert dans les cinq éléments chinois. C’est aussi le cinquième signe du zodiaque chinois.

La dynastie Song(960-1279) constitue un repère dans le développement de l’iconographie du dragon : son corps, avant représenté comme celui d’une bête avec une queue distincte, devint serpetin et cette évolution se poursuivit sous les dynasties Yuan, Ming et Qing. Extrêmement riche et diversifiée, l’iconographie du dragon présente des caractéristiques différentes sous chaque dynastie et s’est déclinée en de multiples variantes et motifs, notamment régionaux. C'est notamment le cas de ces deux jarres qui viennent du sud de la Chine : l'iconographie du dragon chinois s'y rapproche de l'iconographie vietnamienne avec des dragons aux longues crètes en "vagues" marquées.

Au XIIIesiècle se met en place une étiquette très stricte : le dragon fut choisi pour représenter l’état et fut étendu à la totalité du mobilier impérial et à la garde-robe. Sous les Ming et les Qing, les dragons à quatre griffes sont dévolus aux princes (les dragons à cinq griffes étant réservés à l’empereur et ceux à trois griffes, aux nobles et aux lettrés).

c.25.5x20cm

Oeuvres visibles à la galerie Honoré des Arts, 6 rue de la Grange Batelière, 75009 Paris.
Prix : 600 €
Epoque : 19ème siècle
Style : Art d'Asie
Etat : Très bon état

Matière : Faïence
Largeur : 20
Hauteur : 25.5
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"Honoré des Arts" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Céramiques Diverses, Art d'Asie"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
Honoré des Arts
Tableaux et objets d'art
Jarres ovoïdes Chinoises blanc et bleu à motifs de Dragons
0601303038


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form