This object was sold

Plate, Silver, Coats Of Arms Of The Marquis De La Croix De Castries, 1749 (montpellier)

Plate, Silver,  Coats Of Arms Of The Marquis De La Croix De Castries, 1749 (montpellier)
pictures.

Object description :

"Plate, Silver, Coats Of Arms Of The Marquis De La Croix De Castries, 1749 (montpellier)"
  • Circular dish
  • Silver
  • Montpellier, Silversmith : Jean-Joseph Dartis, 1748-1749
  • Large cicular silverdish with five edgeswith a filleted molding. On the edge the coat of arms of the Marquis de la Croix de Castries. On the back, inventory marks "G" & "8", as well as the weight engraved on the edge according to the measures of old regime "4 m - 5 ons" (4 marks 5 ounces)
  • Good condition, micro scratches in the bassin
  • Coat of arms: crest engraved on the marli of the dish, azure a cross of gold, flanked by two unicorns, surmounted by a marquis crown, for Charles Eugène Gabriel de la Croix, Marquis de Castries (1727-1801)
  • Punches: Under the wing of the dish: Master: fleur de lys crowned, two grains of remedy, IID for Jean-Joseph Dartis. Common house: X surmounting crowned MLP, for Montpellier, 1748 to 1749; Brand: Charge: a lily flowers surmounted by two stars for the silver works of Montpellier, 1744 to 1750; on the edge of the dish, discharge: an ermine crowned & surrounded by two points of cure from 1744 to 1750.
  • Jean-Joseph Dartis (mo of 1744-1807) is the eldest son of the goldsmith Joseph Dartis (1681-1744), silversmith of a long line of goldsmiths from Montpellier. He was apprenticed by his father in 1732 for a period of 8 years. At the death of his father, Jean-Joseph continues the apprenticeship of his brother Pierre V started in 1736 while taking over the paternal workshop. He will be guard of the goldsmith community of Montpellier from 1749 to 1751, from 1760 to 1762, from 1767 to 1769 and from 1778 to 1780. His death certificate is drawn up on April 10, 1807.
  • The number "8" carried on the back of the dish suggests that this dish belonged to an important series allowing to present the dishes as the protocol defined it. We know by the descriptions of the feasts of Monsieur, brother of the King, at the dinner of Saint-Cloud in honor of the king in 1678 the whole disposition of the platerie and other pyramids that later followed the high aristocracy. To get an idea of the number of dishes and the disposition of these, In the collection of Vincent la Chapelle in 1742 in The modern cook, we find two pairs of dishes called "big entrances" close to the typology of our dish , described in Plate VII of this receuil. The different inventories of the crown and the Orleans, show us this diversity of the forms and sizes of the dishes, not to mention their number; these dishes could have different uses depending on the meal and the desired decoration.
  • Ref: The Chapel, Vincent: "Le cuisinier moderne", Paris, 1742 ; Helft Jacques : "Le poinçon des provinces françaises", Ed. de Nobele, 1985 ;Thuile, Jacques : "L’orfèvrerie du Languedoc du XIIe au XVIIIe siècle, généralités de Montpellier et de Toulouse", 2 Tomes, Ed. Causse & Cie, Montpellier, 1966
  • View more from this dealer

    View more - Table services

    Contact Dealer
    Subscribe to newsletter

    Galerie Verrier
    Objets d'Art et de Curiosités

    Plate, Silver, Coats Of Arms Of The Marquis De La Croix De Castries, 1749 (montpellier)
    06 61 34 71 40


    *We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

    Thank you! Your submission has been received!

    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

objet vendu

Plat Demi-creux, Argent, Aux Armes Du Marquis De La Croix De Castries, 1749 (montpellier)

Plat Demi-creux, Argent, Aux Armes Du Marquis De La Croix De Castries, 1749 (montpellier)
photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Plat Demi-creux, Argent, Aux Armes Du Marquis De La Croix De Castries, 1749 (montpellier)"
  • Plat circulaire demi-creux
  • Argent
  • Montpellier, 1748-1749
  • Grand plat rond demi-creux en argent à cinq contours bordés d’une moulure à filets. Sur le marli les armoiries du marquis de la Croix de Castries. Au dos, des marques d’inventaire « G » & « 8 », ainsi que le poids gravé en bordure selon les mesures d’ancien régime « 4 m – 5 ons » (4 marcs 5 onces)
  • Bon état, micro rayures dans le bassin
  • Armoiries: blason gravé sur le marli du plat, d’azur à une croix d’or, flanqué de deux licornes, surmonté d’une couronne de marquis, pour Charles Eugène Gabriel de la Croix, Marquis de Castries (1727-1801)
  • Poinçons :Sous l'aile duplat: Maitre : fleur de lys couronnée, deux grains de remède, I I D pour Jean-Joseph Dartis. Maison commune : X surmontant MLP couronné, pour Montpellier, 1748 à 1749 ; Marque : Charge : une fleurs de lys surmontée de deux étoiles pour les ouvrages d’argent de Montpellier, 1744 à 1750 ; sur le bord du plat, décharge : une hermine couronnée & entourée de deux points de remède de 1744 à 1750.
  • Jean-Joseph Dartis (mo de 1744-1807) est le fils ainé de l’orfèvre Joseph Dartis (1681-1744), orfèvre d’une longue lignée d’orfèvres montpelliérains. Il est pris en apprentissage par son père en 1732 pour une durée de 8 ans. A la mort de son père, Jean-Joseph poursuit l’apprentissage de son frère Pierre V commencé en 1736 tout en reprenant l’atelier paternel. Il sera garde de la communauté des orfèvres de Montpellier de 1749 à 1751, de 1760 à 1762, de 1767 à 1769 et de 1778 à 1780. Son acte décès est dressé le 10 avril 1807.
  • Le nombre « 8 » porté au dos du plat nous laisse supposer que ce plat appartenait à une série importante permettant de présenter les mets tels que le protocole le définissait. Nous connaissons par les descriptions des fêtes de Monsieur, frère du Roi, lors du souper de Saint-Cloud en l’honneur du roi en 1678 l’ensemble de la disposition de la platerie et autres pyramides que suivirent par la suite la haute aristocratie. Pour avoir une idée du nombre de plats et de la disposition de ceux-ci, Dans le recueil de Vincent la Chapelle en 1742 dans Le cuisinier Moderne,nous retrouvons deux paires de plats dites des "grosses entrées" proches de la typologie de notre plat, décrits dans la planche VII de ce receuil. Les différents inventairesde la couronne et des Orléans, nous montre cette diversité des formes et des tailles des plats, sans parler de leur nombre ;ces plats pouvaient avoir différentes utilisations selon les repas et la décoration voulue.
  • Ref :La Chapelle, Vincent : Le cuisinier moderne, Paris, 1742 ; Helft Jacques : Le poinçon des provinces françaises, Ed. de Nobele, 1985 ;Thuile, Jacques : L’orfèvrerie du Languedoc du XIIe au XVIIIe siècle, généralités de Montpellier et de Toulouse, 2 Tomes, Ed. Causse & Cie, Montpellier, 1966
  • Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

    Antiquités - Services de table

    CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
    Recevez notre newsletter

    Galerie Verrier
    Objets d'Art et de Curiosités

    Plat Demi-creux, Argent, Aux Armes Du Marquis De La Croix De Castries, 1749 (montpellier)
    06 61 34 71 40


    *Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

    Thank you! Your submission has been received!

    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form