This object was sold

Candlestick Hand, Silver, Marseille, 1758

Candlestick Hand, Silver, Marseille, 1758
pictures.

Object description :

"Candlestick Hand, Silver, Marseille, 1758"
  • Silver candlestick
  • Marseille, 1758
  • Silversmith: Jean Clement from 1726 to 1767
  • Marks: under the plate: Charge: '' head of eagle crowned 'for 1756-1762, Jurande de Marseille from 1758 (coats of arms of the city), mo: IC with a fleur-de-lys, crowned with a crowned star.On the handle: English punch, drying (?), Lily flowers
  • Very good condition, no restoration, repolishing likely
  • Weight: 233g
  • Candlestick, with tray on board scalloped with gadroon stripes and threaded molding resting on a circular whipstock, supporting a flush and molded baluster binet The beveled handle attached to the tray by a long, ribbed sheet ends with a stem A little volute under the handle
  • Jean Clément: goldsmith at Marseille, started under apprenticeship in 1704 at Etienne Gonnin and François Gonnin until 1712. Master in 1726, he holds shop until 1767. He died in 1775. A of its leitmotivs decoratifs is the use of the godron lined with nets. We find this decoration on all the listed pieces: candlesticks from the Jourdan-Barry collection ([4] n ° 209 from 1746, former David-Weill collection), from those of the exhibition of the civil goldsmith's shop in Provence (pp .178-181), a pair of mouchettes and a dish presented in this same exhibition [1]. The long ribbed leaf is also a common decorative element on the handmade candle holder in the south of France (Avignon, Montpellier, Marseille [2] LXXXIV)
  • Ref: [1] "Orfèvrerie civile enProvence", Museums of Marseille, exhibition of 2005; [2] J. Helft: "Lespoinçons des provinces françaises", deNobele, 1968; [3] J. Kugel: "French silversmith, The Jourdan-Barry collection", 2005; [4] Sale of June 4, 1971, "D. David Weill Collection, goldsmith, France 17th and 18th centuries"
  • View more from this dealer

    View more - silver objects

    Contact Dealer
    Subscribe to newsletter

    Galerie Verrier
    Objets d'Art et de Curiosités

    Candlestick Hand, Silver, Marseille, 1758
    06 61 34 71 40


    *We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

    Thank you! Your submission has been received!

    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

objet vendu

Bougeoir à Main, Argent, Marseille, 1758

Bougeoir à Main, Argent, Marseille, 1758
photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Bougeoir à Main, Argent, Marseille, 1758"
  • Bougeoir à main
  • Argent
  • Marseille, 1758
  • M-o : Jean Clément de 1726 à 1767
  • Poinçons : sous le plateau : charge :''tête d'aigle couronnée" pour 1756-1762, Jurande de Marseille de 1758 (armes de la ville), m-o : IC supportées par une fleurs de lys, sommées d'une étoile couronnée. Sur le manche : poinçon anglais &fleurs de lys : décharge (?)
  • Très bon état, aucune restauration, repolissage probable
  • Poids : 233g
  • Bougeoir à main, avec plateau à bord chantourné, ornéd'un galon de godrons et d'une moulure à filets, repose sur une bâte à doucine circulaire. Il soutient un binet balustreà base renflée et moulurée. Le manche biseauté rattaché auplateau par une longue feuille nervuréese termine par un bouton à godrons, Une petite volute sous le manche.
  • Jean Clément : orfèvre marseillais, débute sous apprentissage en 1704 chez Etienne Gonnin, puisFrançois Gonnin jusqu'en 1712. Maître en 1726, il tient boutique jusqu'en 1767. Il meurt en 1775. Un deses leitmotivs décoratifs est l'utilisation du godron doublé de filets. Nous retrouvons ce décor sur toutes les pièces répertoriées : bougeoirs de la collection Jourdan-Barry ([4] n°209 de 1746, ex coll. David-Weill), de ceux de l'exposition de l'orfèvrerie civile en Provence (pp.178-181), d'une paire de mouchettes et d'un plat présentés dans cette même exposition [1]. La longue feuille nervurée est aussi un élément décoratif courant sur les bougeoirs à main produits dans le sud de la France (Avignon, Montpellier, Marseille [2] pl. LXXXIV)
  • Ref : [1] "L'orfèvrerie civile en Provence", Musées de Marseille, exposition de 2005 ; [2]J. Helft : "Le poinçon des provinces fraçaises", de Nobele, 1968 ; [3] J. Kugel : "Orfèvrerie française, La collection Jourdan-Barry", 2005 ; [4] Vente du 4 juin 1971, "Collection D. David Weill, orfèvrerie, France XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles"
  • Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

    Antiquités - pièces de forme

    CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
    Recevez notre newsletter

    Galerie Verrier
    Objets d'Art et de Curiosités

    Bougeoir à Main, Argent, Marseille, 1758
    06 61 34 71 40


    *Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

    Thank you! Your submission has been received!

    Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form