Antonio Balestra (attrib.): Adam And Eve After Leaving Paradise flag

Antonio Balestra (attrib.): Adam And Eve After Leaving Paradise
Click to enlarge the 5 pictures.

Object description :

"Antonio Balestra (attrib.): Adam And Eve After Leaving Paradise"
Antonio Balestra (Verona, 1666 - Verona, 1740): Italian painter trained in Venice with Antonio Bellucci before working in Rome in Carlo Maratta's studio. Balestra will paint religious and profane commissions between Venice and Verona where he will have many students after his definitive installation in 1726.
Our painting depicts Adam and Eve after their expulsion from Paradise. According to the iconographic tradition (for example, Bloemaert's print) and the biblical text, Adam is represented working "by the sweat of his forehead". Abel, the youngest son of the couple, is breastfed by Eve while Cain is in the background. Although religious, the scene can also be considered as a genre scene.
On the châssis, an old note (in French) attributes the work to Balestra. Indeed, we can find characteristic elements of the artist such as faces with their small pointed nose or bright contrasts. Anyway, the work is Venetian and dates from the first half of the XVIII. We will notice the earthy range used at the same time in Venice by Giovanni Battista Piazzetta.
Price:2400 €
Artist : Antonio Balestra (1666-1740) (attribué à)
Period:18th century
Style:Louis 14th, Regency
Condition : Bon état

Material : Huile sur toile
Width : c.70 cm
Height : c.50 cm
Contact Dealer
wait...
Go to the dealer's gallery
Print

"De Beukelaer Fine Arts" see more objects from this dealer

"Religious Paintings, Louis 14th, Regency"

more objects on Proantic.com
Subscribe to newsletter
De Beukelaer Fine Arts
Vente de tableaux des XVII au XXe
Antonio Balestra (attrib.): Adam And Eve After Leaving Paradise
+32 (0)475 43 18 12


*We will send you a confirmation email from info@proantic.com Please check your messages, including the spam folder.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Antonio Balestra (attrib.): Adam et Ève après leur départ du Paradis flag

Antonio Balestra (attrib.): Adam et Ève après leur départ du Paradis
Agrandir les 5 photo(s) supplémentaires.

Description de l'antiquité :

"Antonio Balestra (attrib.): Adam et Ève après leur départ du Paradis"
Antonio Balestra (Vérone, 1666 - Vérone, 1740): peintre italien formé à Venise auprès d'Antonio Bellucci avant de travailler à Rome dans l'atelier de Carlo Maratta. Balestra peindra des commandes religieuses et profanes entre Venise et Vérone où il aura de nombreux élèves après son installation définitive en 1726.
Notre tableau représente Adam et Eve après leur expulsion du Paradis. Selon la tradition iconographique (par exemple, l'estampe de Bloemaert) et le texte biblique, Adam est représenté travaillant "à la sueur de son front". Abel, le plus jeune fils du couple, est allaité par Eve tandis que Cain est au second plan. Bien que religieuse, la scène peut aussi être considéré comme une scène de genre.
Sur le châssis, une note ancienne (en français) attribue l'oeuvre à Balestra. On peut en effet y retrouver des éléments caractéristiques de l'artiste comme les visages avec leur petit nez pointu ou les contrastes lumineux marqués. Quoi qu'il en soit, l'oeuvre est Vénitienne et date de la première moitié du XVIII. On remarquera la gamme terreuse utilisée à la même époque à Venise par Giovanni Battista Piazzetta.
Prix : 2400 €
Artiste : Antonio Balestra (1666-1740) (attribué à)
Epoque : 18ème siècle
Style : Louis XIV - Régence
Etat : Bon état

Matière : Huile sur toile
Largeur : c.70 cm
Hauteur : c.50 cm
CONTACTER L'ANTIQUAIRE
wait...
Voir la galerie de cet antiquaire
Imprimer fiche

"De Beukelaer Fine Arts" Voir plus d'objets de cet antiquaire

"Tableaux Religieux, Louis XIV - Régence"

Antiquités similaires sur Proantic.com
Recevez notre newsletter
De Beukelaer Fine Arts
Vente de tableaux des XVII au XXe
Antonio Balestra (attrib.): Adam et Ève après leur départ du Paradis
+32 (0)475 43 18 12


*Un message de confirmation vous sera envoyé par info@proantic.com Vérifiez votre messagerie y compris le "Courrrier Indésirable"

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form